Chevy's Fresh Mex Employee Reviews

Showing all 164 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management great people
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDOctober 20, 2018
The kitchen staff is great. Management was pathetic. The people were nice, but communication was an issue, and in a fast pace kitchen that makes everything worse
Pros
Decent workers
Cons
No communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this place
Full Time Server/Lead/Management (Former Employee) –  Redding, CAOctober 20, 2018
I worked at Chevys for a very long time started out as a server then became a lead server to lead hourly which was a shift manager i truly love everything about this place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summers are busy...
Server (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAOctober 16, 2018
...but winters are very slow. Hard to make profit during the slow season. Definitely a seasonal place to work. Spanish speaking is a plus if you know it.
Pros
25% off dinning for employees
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this restaurant is no longer there
Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 14, 2018
Chevys was a great place to work at one time. It helped me learn the management role in a high volume location. Food was prepared fresh and it was a fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Busser (Current Employee) –  O'Fallon, ILSeptember 27, 2018
This job is a really good job if you want to be kept on your toes and constantly working with small breaks, or sometimes none at all. The tips are competitive, so the harder you work, the better pay.
Pros
Discount on food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place sucks
Server/Hostess (Current Employee) –  Emeryville, CASeptember 17, 2018
Run as fast as you can do not get hired here this place does not care about his employees at all they run you into the ground it’s disorganized management is all over the place this place is horrible find something better this place does not care about the workers and it’s ridiculously out-of-control not worth the headache ! EMERYVILLE CHEVYS SUCKS BIG TIME!!!!! They say their family oriented place while they make us work Christmas New Year’s and Thanksgiving so we are not allowed to be with our family but their family oriented it’s a crock of boo boo
Pros
There is zero pros
Cons
And all cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to make money if your willing to work super hard
Host, Busser, Expediter, Waiter (Current Employee) –  richmond,californiaSeptember 16, 2018
Dont know if your going to have a stressfull day.
Dont know if your going to have the right materials.
Dont know if everyone who is scheduled showed up.
Pros
tips
Cons
stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to eat
Server (Former Employee) –  O'Fallon, IL 62269September 9, 2018
Goodluck its a job. I wouldnt work there ever again. The food sucks and the building smells like feet. Im just typing this because im being forcrd to type 150 characters
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First is was Great then went Left
Server (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAAugust 30, 2018
Location was good, customers were fine, the staff has been there so long that they know how to work the system and judge customers as soon as they walked threw the door and decide that they're not taking a table preferably "black people". I didn't really like that. Store manager didn't really care about anything and didn't care to help. She was sweet at first until you knew the real her.
Pros
Tips
Cons
Racist Employees, Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Server/Waiter (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 17, 2018
The management has always worked with me on my schedule and needs. They’re fair and the atmosphere is nice. Chevys is a good concept and people return to eat there year after year.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really on your own
Server (Former Employee) –  Union City, CAAugust 16, 2018
No one helps you, you make alot of side trips, no one restocks, and very blamey managers. Everything is broken, running out of things constantly. Don't waste your time unless you like going back to exboyfriends.
Cons
Hard work no money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Elk Grove, CAAugust 10, 2018
I advise any young college students or anyone Young to apply with Chevys tips are great and your checks are right. In a good fun family place to eat good day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going downhill fast
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CAAugust 6, 2018
This company does not care about their employees and will be going extinct sooner or later. Low pay, minimum benefits, outrageous rules, high turnover rate with management and FOH/BOH
Pros
Great coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced work.
Bartender/Food Server (Current Employee) –  Burbank, CAJuly 27, 2018
I enjoyed my time working with Chevy's. The staff was great and the management were professional. Unfortunately due to business decisions the restaurant had to shut down.
Pros
Great money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dirty but good team work
Hostess (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 26, 2018
The restaurant was disgusting but they has a good work plan for the waiters. They made me clean the bathroom should have maintenance for that. I just did my job until the temporary time was up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun job with opportunity for advancement
Bartender, Lead Server (Former Employee) –  Anaheim Hills, CAJuly 25, 2018
I very much enjoyed working there, and went back after a family tragedy of which all management was both supportive and understanding of. Was sad to hear that location shut down when I returned to the area.
Pros
Great management fun environment
Cons
Inconsistent tips at my location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Server (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 8, 2018
Working there was a really good experience and they have really good food the people that work there are very professional and very welcoming and they have a good customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced.
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Richmond, CA 94806July 6, 2018
Food service industry.
Customer service driven.
Providing a good atmosphere for patrons to enjoy a well cooked meal and the company of others. Very diverse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment fun.
Bartender and Server (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MDJuly 3, 2018
Busy Mexican restaurant. Located in Arundel mills mall. Well managed. Lots of mall traffic creates plenty of customers. Friendly experienced staff. Lots of prep work behind the bar. Repeat business based on quality of service and food.
Pros
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and fun
Server/Trainer (Former Employee) –  O'Fallon, ILJune 22, 2018
i get along with everyone so i usually never have to many issues on a job. safety is #1 and the guest are as equal as safety..... #1.......................................
Pros
meet really great people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chevy's Fresh Mex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 164 reviews
552
437
351
211
113

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture