Chicago Public Schools Employee Reviews

Found 1,143 reviews matching the search See all 1,144 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none
Health Service Nurse (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 19, 2018
Meet with student for health education, triaged student with injuries,
provided medication in schools. Assesed students for special education services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 18, 2018
I love my position here because you get to work with many different children. You get to see the different changes children tend to go through. This job isn't stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at.
Call Center Interim (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2018
So far I am enjoying my time in the Office of Access and Enrollment. Would love to stay here, but this position will never be permanent, therefore no benefits or raise.
Pros
Nice pay
Cons
No raises or benefits, never going to be permanent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Athletic Director (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 16, 2018
Lack of organizational structure, reduced office employees due to budgetary issues but the amount and level of work remains the same. Have the ability to create sports culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unpleasant to work here.
REASSIGNED COUNSELOR (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2018
Students are out of control, teachers are over worked, teachers are not respected, teaching is not enjoyable any more. There is no job security. Easy for people right out of college to get hired.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most enjoyable part of the job
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2018
As a substitute, you have the freedom to work as needed. The school clerks are wonderful. I love CPS. There is nothing that would make me stop working there.
Pros
Freedom
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pool manager
Pool Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 13, 2018
Manged daily operations as a Pool Manger for the Chicago.
Responsible for opening and closing Lunchroom, food prep, serving meals, ordering food, and managing staff.
Pros
free food, vacation -sick-days
Cons
Off for Summer break no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized Development
K-12 Grades substitute teacher (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 12, 2018
(1) My typ of day at work was always rewarding.
(2) I learend that all students are diffrent.
(3) Classroom managment is verey improtan to teache a class.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Schedules and Good Pay for Certified Teachers but no benefits.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 11, 2018
The hours afre very flexibile and the pay is good for certified teachers. You get to choose the days you work and the schools you want to work at. However, no benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Certified School Nurse (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2018
Great place to work at. Love working with staff , children and parents. Management is great and flexible. hardest part of job is traveling to different school on any given day.
Pros
flexible
Cons
no work space
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Disbursements Analyst (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2018
Sharpened my analytical skills. Management seems to be very aware of hard working employees. Hardest part of the job was promotions from within. For the most part the team efforts were great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many Opportunities Available
Instructional Coach/Educator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 10, 2018
As a career, there are many ways to grow professionally and opportunities for advancement. Rewarding opportunities ot make a difference with students and families.
Pros
Opportunities for Growth
Cons
Lots of time before or after work for preparation and planning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Part
Special Education Classroom Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 9, 2018
The most enjoyable part of my job is when I see a student has excelled and gained knowledge from the efforts you have spent with them. The student has excelled and is moving in a positive behaved manner.
Pros
Off on weekends and holidays.
Cons
If you do not know any upper Chiefs in your corner you cannot advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last resort
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 9, 2018
My job was good, but too much politics within the system does not allow for qualified candidates to gain advancement opportunities. Plenty of time off, and benefits, but because of poor management throughout the system the job becomes very stressful when it shouldn't be.
Pros
Good benefits, Pto, 401k
Cons
Poor management, union, politically motivated managment throughout
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2018
As a teacher you have the opportunity to work with students and shape their lives. However, bureaucracy and questionable leadership hamper that effort.
Pros
Benefits, job security, important work
Cons
minimal breaks, constantly changing leadership, unreasonable expectations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CHICAGO school need a lot of improvement with staff and students behavior problems and learning environment.
Lunchroom Attendant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 5, 2018
Working for this company is very stressful where I have seen people have strokes and heart attacks and development other health issues where the children is very disrespectful and the administration don’t care because is should be rules set in place when you have a disrespectful child but nothing happens to a child it was time for change in my life.
Pros
Free education
Cons
No breaks or lunch food is terrible the kids really don’t eat
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You make it what you want
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 5, 2018
It really depends on the school you are at. You have to find a school where you can be happy and fulfilled. Administration changes a lot so it's hard sometimes when a good admin leaves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace review for cps
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 4, 2018
A typical day of work for me is a fast paced, fun day. There is never a dull moment whether good or bad. Everyday not only do I teach new things to my students but I learn from them as well. The most difficult part of the job is sometime when the goal for the day is not met. The most enjoyable part of the day is when I know that we, myself and my students, have worked very hard and accomplished something meaningful for that day.
Pros
a daily break for teachers to prep
Cons
no prep periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job location
Business Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 4, 2018
I worked in a charter school. Setting was different. The culture was different more family oriented, but I'm sure most cps schools have that smae setting, all my children attended a public school and that is the feeling I received
Pros
Focused on the children
Cons
not enough planning time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and educational
License Practical Nurse (LPN) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 4, 2018
Wonderful experience and a good place to work and grow. I was able to teach the students in my care to become independent, what their medications were and the importance of how to take the them. I was helped parents understand the importance of compliance.
Pros
Gratifying
Cons
Work overload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chicago Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,144 reviews
5402
4342
3287
264
149

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Chicago Public Schools Reviews by Location