Chicago Transit Authority Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 454 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5166
4117
399
241
131
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 452 reviews matching the search See all 454 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 14, 2018
no life unsafe locations no respect for employees good luck to anyone who applies its not what you think the union is not worth a penny and you on your own part time pays into a hc trust that will never benefit them consider other employment first
Pros
none
Cons
every thing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable environment.
Analyst, Procurement Match (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2018
great work experience!nice jump start to my career, learn the dos and the donts! ..... management varies from department but you will enjoy the little pow wows!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cta
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 7, 2018
you experience alot working with the public teaches how to handle alot of situations and stay calm use good customer service skills and obtain the driving experience as well it offer advancement within the company all around its stressful at times but thats part of the job.
Pros
pay, benefits
Cons
hometime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, interesting work
Manager, Constuction Oversight (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 3, 2018
Provided me with diverse and interesting work with consistent opportunities to learn. Was able to move to different area which presented me with an overall understanding of the operation of the Authority
Pros
diverse operations
Cons
political
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work for
Human Resource Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 26, 2018
Easy to move up if you know somebody. What i found out about CTA is not what you know you know its who you know. There is a lot of opportunities at CTA
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Switchman/Rail Operator/Flagman (Former Employee) –  Forest Park, ILApril 24, 2018
work too many hours not enough pay because they have so many deductions coming out of your check so the hourly pay rate is really half of what it says
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no quailty of life
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 18, 2018
no quality of life, ok benefits, safety issues, split shifts that you are not compensated for, unexplained deductions from pay, unworthy union, minimal training, etc
Pros
steady pay, benefits available
Cons
split shifts, safety, unexplained deductions
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Bus Operator/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 17, 2018
Fast pace environment, stressful, demanding and you are always on the go. Defensive driving is key. Customer care service is also key. Having patience and keeping your cool is a huge factor.
Pros
Greetings and meeting new people
Cons
Interacting with bad people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 15, 2018
walk the the platform every hour check for safety, clean station area, check turnstiles and ventra fare machine give direction to customers heip customers with fares.
Pros
N/a
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good paying job.
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 31, 2018
1.Started quiet and gradually intensified especially during rush hour.
2. How to better deal with the public and stressful situations.
3.Managemnent is top heavy.
4.I like a debriefing and sharing a day experience with co-workers.
5.You didn't feel supported by management during incidents and stressful times.
6.I being able to help someone in the public or co-woker.
Pros
Good pay and great co-workers
Cons
Not compensated for mental stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cta
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 24, 2018
This job can be stressful if you let it, management makes your life harder then it needs to be. But the job does teach you how to become a good defensive driver. This would be a number 1 company if you were treated with respect. That’s why it is called a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere to work.
Servicer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60661March 12, 2018
In my past 19yrs, i have to say that working with this company was a very good learning experience for me. Help me to develop and master more responsibilities and goals in doing a good job and or a job well done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job with good benefits
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  paulina brown lineMarch 12, 2018
once you put the time and training in. it is not a bad job. it gets easier as time passes. i monitor the machines, help with customers boarding the train. i work with internal and external customers. management is not usually there. they do come by once in a while. it is very diverse and fast paced job with some down time. dealing with the public can be very challenging. the nice people that i encounter.
Pros
meet a lot of interesting people
Cons
24 hour operation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
rail Jantior (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2018
Great place to work and I love working with the public, also working with the employee's , great managers ,supervisors, clerks ,love the place of freedom
Pros
great lunch
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work is expected of the employees
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL.March 9, 2018
Professional attitudes and expectations of the employees were daily part of the bus operators job. While employed there I was made aware of safety standards for the regular passenger as well as the handicapped. I checked in with management daily and occasionally the instruction department. The employees were predominantly African American. Being of a different cultural background was workable but difficult at times. The driving of passengers to their desired stops was most enjoyable for me.
Pros
vacations days and selected special days off
Cons
driving conditions and traffic was sometimes difficult
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No family time.
Bus Operator (Full Time) (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 5, 2018
Company only supports the worker when its beneficial for the company. Less time at home. Lots of payroll deductions that no one can fully explain. Pretty good starting wage.
Pros
Free Public Transportation
Cons
Crazy hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast placed
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 15, 2018
When working for Chicago Transit Authority, you can expect to always have a new experience. Working for CTA taught me to always pay attention. My problem solving skills were enhanced daily.
Pros
working with the public, benefits, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Transit Driver (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 11, 2018
CTA is a good place to work it a company that pays well you advance in the company they have good health insurance,401k plans is match by the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only job I ever loved.
Bus operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 7, 2018
Worked for Cta for 5 yrs as a bus operator, loved my job so much with Cta, enjoyed my coworkers and all staff, sometimes the passengers can get to you, but best way to over come them is kill them with kindness once in a while it will not work but there is always one bad apple that falls from the tree. You must love to deal with people and have a great control of your mind and feelings. Never take anything personal. Always know your place and carry yourself as a professional. Be kind and polite and helpful and I promise you you will love to work as a bus operator and you will enjoy the perks of the job, specially now there are very little jobs out there that will give you a full retirement pension with medical, dental, vision covered and for your Immediate family members. When I see people write bad things about being a bus operator for Cta it’s because clearly that job is not for them! Being a bus operator is not for everyone, but I tell you one thing if you learn that it’s for you the job itself will give you a great life if you take advantage of what Cta has to offer, you can build a future for your family. Along with great full pay at $33+ an hour and work as much over time as you can. You will be able to provide for your family and when you get old Cta pays you back by giving you a lifetime pension for the years you serve them. I mean seriously. The American dream is still alive.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing, unless you are lazy and irresponsible
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some days are better then others
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 6, 2018
you has to have an open mid working for this company. you have to be very patient and have good customers service. You have to be able to be good with time management and able to comprehend CTA SOP's.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chicago Transit Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Chicago Transit Authority Reviews by Location