CHICKEN OF THE SEA Employee Reviews

3.5
Overall rating
Based on 44 reviews
Ratings breakdown
59
416
310
27
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 44 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and focused workplace
Production Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAApril 9, 2018
Production facility with a diverse range of jobs. Fun and energetic coworkers. Fast paced and goal focused. Great leadership. The company gave back to employees on an annual basis. (Company picnics, raffles, prizes, etc.)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy place to work once you get used to it.
Pallet Builder (Former Employee) –  Vidalia, GAMarch 26, 2018
I dont know exactly what it was, but it was like my body was fighting against me there. My allergies flared along with many personal issues. I really wish i cpuld have stayed because the pay was good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAMarch 20, 2018
workplace culture was amazing. Its easy to advance into a different position. Great open door policy. I learned different job titles until i was advanced to line lead.
Pros
advancement
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Supply Chain Consultant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 3, 2018
Great leadership team, collaborative and fun working environment, amazing products, excellence mindset with focus on processes, systems and people, great values
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and competitive
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAJanuary 9, 2018
I liked my job at this company unfortunately I hired on at a bad time. There was a multi million dollar recall and I believe I took the fall for this because I'm the only one who was let go during this time
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a okay job
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Vidalia, GANovember 2, 2017
I feel like they should pay more then 8.25. My job was very easy, I was a packer. Packer take the tuna out the bags then spread it in the belt then it gets canned .
Pros
Good hours and not work on Friday
Cons
Need to pay more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of workplace
Weight control (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAOctober 19, 2017
- The job had very long hours with awful pay.
- Lack of communication
- I learned how to keep the company quality and desires as active.
- Most of all the most competitive thing was, keeping production line moving at all times along with employees on the line.
Pros
Sometimes we had a hr lunch if we where on down time
Cons
Only two breaks within 12 hr shift or more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Label Inspector (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GA 30436September 5, 2017
A typical day at work was boring and long. I learned how to be productive. I didn't really like the management too much. I really didn't have too much of a problem with the management.
Pros
its a job
Cons
terrible place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace but underpaid for the amount of work
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GaAugust 29, 2017
Chicken of the Sea is a very good place to work if you are looking for temporary work. I do not feel it is a job that someone woyld want long term
The work is hard and the pay should be more. A lot of collaboration
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
back up line leader (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAAugust 10, 2017
one of the best places i have worked a lot a nice and friendly people good job advancement i learned a lot from there and if i ever moved backed back i would work there again
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is ok just need better opportunities
Feeder/Packer (Current Employee) –  Lyons, GAAugust 9, 2017
I love my job and the people I work with but I'm looking for better in my life and I know there's a lot out there for me so I'm very interested to see how my future end I'm only 26 with no kids.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canning
Canning (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAAugust 7, 2017
Your on your feet all day picking bad cans from the good ones. Heavy lifting and sometimes gross cans. Never had a stable temperature, it would always change.
Pros
Coukd talk while working
Cons
Was never paid good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, Exhausting work
Recut (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAAugust 4, 2017
No room for advancement, or getting hired on as a permanent employee. Shady food processing and corrupted supervisors. Work full time no benefits and fired if you call out one time.
Pros
40 hours a week.
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing company
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAAugust 1, 2017
The Chicken of The Sea is a fast growing company with a fast pace working enviroment. The fast pace working enviroment is not to overwhelming that an individual would not be able to accomplish task. I would have to say that lifting and pushing the 700 to 1000 lbs crates of canned tuna is the hardest and most enjoyablepart of the job.
Pros
nice culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAJuly 18, 2017
Maybe it was just a bad time for the company when i started but i wouldnt work there again. Bad line leaders and supervisors. Didn't know if I was gonna work on the weekend until the weekend
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Quality Assurance Inspector (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAJuly 12, 2017
Overall the work environment is ok except they have allot of younger people with more pull than the management out there they talk to the right person and your gone
Pros
They have giveaways for people with good attendance
Cons
They don't train you for long
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very quite
Deductions Representative (Accounts Receivable) (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 26, 2017
Nice work place- Manager, supervisor very nice- Work as a team.
Bad part is they are moving the company to LA. Have a set off friends to have lunch and chat.
Pros
Summer casual
Cons
Relocating
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too bad they are relocating
Deductions Representative (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 5, 2017
Chicken of the Sea is a good company to work for. Unfortunately, the corporate office will be moving to Los Angeles in late 2017. I would love to work and retire with this company.
Pros
benefits
Cons
company relocating in late 2017
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work place
Tray pack/ Bundler operator (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAMarch 16, 2017
This is a very hard company to work for. If you are one minute late from break or anything for that matter you will be wrote up. Although they have insurance its very expressive and doesn't carry much coverage. The supervisor there are some what mean. They think they can talk to any way they want to including threatening to fire you for someone else's mistake or failure to work
Pros
None
Cons
Everything about the jobs there are cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Lyons, GAMarch 15, 2017
Make sure you greet customers as they enter once you have collected the order(s) thank them and give them time in which their food would received (ready) after all clean up.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport