Chief Industries Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management creates a terrible work environment out on the factory floor.
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Kearney, NENovember 27, 2017
The tension and amount of unhappy employees at the Kearney plant is staggering. There were fellow employees who became good friends however. Again, management acts as if its employees are cattle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A work place that lacks leadership
Production Operation Technician (Former Employee) –  Kearney, NESeptember 11, 2017
While working at Chief I did learn more about manufacturing and what is involved to get a item designed and out the door to the customer. The hardest part of the job was doing the exact same thing every day with no recognition of the hard work I was doing.
Pros
Benefit packages
Cons
Lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Admin (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEAugust 16, 2017
Chief Industries is a great company to be a part of. There are multiple divisions within Chief that I would highly recommend anyone to become a part of the Chief family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, decent benefits, and good people
HR (Current Employee) –  Grand Island, NEAugust 8, 2017
Good company to work for. Benefits are standard to what others offer in the area. I have met some of the best people while working for Chief and am happy to call them my coworkers. I like the diversity of my job and feel like I have the opportunity to increase my depth of knowledge.
Pros
Good working environment, great coworkers, decent benefits
Cons
Less vacation days then I would like
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Kearney, NEJuly 15, 2017
good place to work with good benefits but you never know when they will do layoffs. they ask for loyalty to the company and give you family picnics, then lay you off afterwards to "downsize"
Pros
good Benifits
Cons
Layoffs, very little in raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Product Paint Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kearney, NEJune 29, 2017
it was a clean and safe environment tot work in, but the supervisor always smelled like alcohol and he had a poor attitude. people had been working the same positions for many years. job advancement seemed unlikely.
Pros
i had a good job
Cons
inflexible schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Paint Tank Technician (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEJanuary 10, 2017
I worked in the buidings division. Overall it was a good place to work. I enjoyed getting to know many of my co-workers. The hardest part would be putting up with the management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
V.P. of Sales (Current Employee) –  Kearney, NENovember 8, 2016
Strong Company, excellent CEO., Several divisions, developing good processes and merging systems. Creativity encouraged and growing into more technology.
Pros
Flexible, creative and growing with diversity.
Cons
Location, slow to change at division level.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional, fun, high quality product, great safety program
Welder/Fitter (Current Employee) –  Rensselaer, INOctober 19, 2016
Great place to be, steady work, all bosses are wonderful with the employee's you can tell they really care about you. Provide training, high quality expectations, hardest part is when it gets hot in the summer
Pros
they provide training and really want to see you do well, great benefits, good pay, coworkers are great people to be around and its a very safe and clean place
Cons
really warm in the summer.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this work and people i worked with
Millwright Foreman (Former Employee) –  South Dakota , Nebraska, Iowa, WisconsinSeptember 30, 2016
Typical day would start at 6:30 ,clean tool trailer, and gather tools for the days posted tasks. Safety meeting and then everyone would proceed to daily assignments. I learned alot about welding with various metals and structures.and safety procedures with electrical lockouts and heights.
Pros
Pay was definetly accomadating and the work was productive.
Cons
The owner shut down the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good working environment
Set up welder (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEMarch 21, 2016
I learned how to better my welding skills and was able to apply my knowledge and time into this position. I was able to learn more about the welding tools and how everything was put together.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced Industrial Manufacturing Setting
Line Electrician / Line Plumber (Former Employee) –  Aurora, NEJune 2, 2015
- Installed faucets and drains and also wired panel boxes and outlets in an industrial factory setting.
- Improved the functioning between the plumbing and electrical teams.
- Maintained active simultaneous roles within both electric and plumbing teams.
- Incorporated improved manufacturing techniques to speed up production.
- Maintained detailed tool and shop order inventories.
Pros
Guaranteed overtime
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of good friendship
painter-shipper-driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEMay 11, 2015
the start of the day was doing stretches-and talking to each other about what we did on weekends-then It was decided who was going where and what was happening.my last 3 weeks I was doing customer delivers with the truck-which was very enjoyable getting out of the plant-but I also looked forward to coming back to load the next one and see everyone-I have developed some friendship that will last well after my job is over-with my co workers-supervisors and plant managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor working conditions
Electrition (Former Employee) –  NebraskaFebruary 12, 2015
Enjoyed learning new skills and some of the mental challenges that my position required. Not always a very safe work environment. Management not truly concerned about health concerns.
Pros
Learned new skills, Yearly picnic, other employees enjoyable to work with
Cons
Not accomodating to disabilities, Management not willing or able to answer questions, Compinsation not worth the challenges
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace busy environment
Shipping Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Grand Island, NENovember 11, 2013
A busy production environment with a excellent crew. Fast paced with plenty of overtime.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 18Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work just lack of comunication
Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Island, NEAugust 16, 2012
it was a good company to work for however managment did not answer questions very well.
Pros
time off when needed
Cons
get lied to about certain things did not get answers from anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chief Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 17 reviews
53
44
37
21
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.2Culture

Chief Industries Reviews by Location