Children's Discovery Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unprofessional
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, SCJune 5, 2018
Loved working with the children, but the teachers and administrators made it very hard to do your job. Lots of drama especially with the director. Extremely difficult to get days off for family, and Dr appointments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Coordinator/Teacher (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHApril 22, 2018
Provided uniforms and tools required to do the job. Tons of training and certifications. Very clean. Happy / fun staff. Would recommend for sure to families with young children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
CLASSROOM TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Stevens Point, WIApril 6, 2018
You know that a place really cares about you when they put in the effort to train you. You start out with multiple days of training before starting in the classroom. Children's Discovery Center is a place that you enjoy going to work. You get to know your co-workers and the parents really well. They offer many benefits, including PTO, paid holidays, health insurance and 401K's along with many others. The way things are done can be a little confusing at first, but the other staff members are always willing to help out as needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly managed and understaffed
Teacher's Aide (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAApril 4, 2018
Working there was stressful and employees were not compensated well for the amount of work that they put into a typical day. Extremely understaffed which, for a daycare, is not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Play outside all day
STAFF DIRECTOR, TEACHER (Former Employee) –  South Austin, TXMarch 7, 2018
This place is great for teachers and children who love being outside. The children have access to playing outside throughout the day. The outdoors is used as another "teacher" and the staff get to set up open-ended activities. This school hosts parent and teacher training's, and enrolls their staff in early childhood certifications.
Pros
Fun environment and unique philosophy
Cons
No health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful to work for them
YOUNG TWOS TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 6, 2018
I have worked for this company for 4+ years and have gained new insights in working for a daycare. They are friendly and care about their employees. This a family friendly business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is satisfying knowing you provided the best care and structure to a child
Lead Teacher (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VA 24019February 11, 2018
it is a fast paced environment as the children are demanding in needing the care and attention and watching over them to ensure they are not hurt and listening to the parents for what they want for their child. You have to be flexible with constant changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible managment
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  OmahaJanuary 8, 2018
Worst place ever dont ever work for them. Horrible people. They are so rude. And also so mean and not understanding at all. So disrespectful to everyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Intelligent, Caring and Supportive Staff
Camp Director (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLDecember 10, 2017
A fabulous place to work! Caring, compassionate, supportive and cooperative staff with very flexible hours. However, there were not continuous growth opportunities or room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Assistant teacher (Former Employee) –  Toledo ohioNovember 25, 2017
Promised to move up in the company and then when you do, they take it away. No help from management and no back up either when a problem arises. Not fully training staff on what needs to be done and then when you don’t do what they want you get in trouble. There isn’t enough time in the day for everything they want you to do. When there are behavior issues, there is no support on handling them. You are pretty much at a fend for yourself and hope you don’t get in trouble.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the children management unprofessional
Teacher (Current Employee) –  South CarolinaOctober 24, 2017
Unprofessional management team and petty co workers. Love the children but the management and teachers made it dfficult to come to work. No support could barely get time off would out finding a sub first
Pros
Children and parents
Cons
Unprofessional management and co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee) –  Perrysburg, OHOctober 22, 2017
We spent a lot of time trying to teach the kids something new everyday. I always wanted to make sure each kid was happy about learning, if they weren't happy they didn't want to listen and cooperate. Each day was filled with something new, I learned so much about have patience with kids and that each child is special in their own way. Hardest part of the job was dealing with the children who had rough times at home and they had to come in, they were usually the most aggressive. The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the smiles on all the kids faces everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i worked at fun places. i always liked where i worked
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VASeptember 21, 2017
it was a fun place to work being around babies and little kids. it was enjoyable to work for. i enjoyed working in the office. I also did a lot of retail part time and full time. i work very good with the public. I've always worked with public. i'm very out going with the customers and people. I also can do paperwork like reports to district manager and my boss. can do payroll, accounts payable and accounts receivable.
Pros
discounts and free food in offices
Cons
healthcare and paid vacations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have fun working with children
Head Techer (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHSeptember 7, 2017
it was a fun place to work and working with children. it had it ups and downs. learn a lot about children and working with them. coworkers we fun too.
Pros
like working with children
Cons
no insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHSeptember 6, 2017
When I worked there, it was a fun workplace. The teachers really cared about the children, and the owner took the time to get to know all of her staff at 5 locations.
Pros
Benifits from 90 days
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NIce atmosphere
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 1, 2017
Its a good place to put your kids there and work. Nice people, no nonsense with b/s. Lesson planning, play with kids, get dirty, change (diapers and clothes) when needed).
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Like Environment
Floater Teacher (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 15, 2017
I enjoy working with the children and the parents show great appreciation to the teachers who are caring for their children. Also, it seems like everyone works as a team instead of compete with each other.
Pros
Kids, staff
Cons
Need more pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Lead Teacher (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJuly 11, 2017
High turn over rate mainly due to the pay being so low. Also they were bringing new employees in paying more an hour than some of the lead teachers that had been there for a while.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Children's Discovery Center
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAJune 1, 2017
Really nice co workers. Loved the children and a lot of the parents. hours were 7 to when ever the needed you to work till with an hour lunch. your were able to do lesson plans during nap time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lead Teacher, Preschool (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMay 5, 2017
I have been at Children's Discovery for over 3 years. I have formed many life long relationships and I am grateful to have learned all that I have learned while working here.
Pros
everything
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Children's Discovery Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 43 reviews
513
414
37
25
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture