Chili's Employee Reviews for Line Cook

Found 267 reviews matching the search See all 7,702 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work place
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCJuly 12, 2019
It's a very fast pace easy to learn though,they was very friendly and didn't mind teaching the things I didn't know. Managers was friendly and easy to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prepared dishes for customers with a group of team members
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MIJuly 4, 2019
I started off in flat-top, learning all the recipes for that area, and once I was proficient I moved on to the next area, deep-fry, and once I was proficient with that, I moved on to the next area. I got a raise when I learned different areas of the kitchen, so management is reasonable to negotiate with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easily the worst job I've ever worked.
Line Cook/Preparer (Former Employee) –  Flower Mound, TXJune 25, 2019
A typical day at work was coming in early and leaving late. I learned stress. Management was terrible. Workplace culture sucked. Hardest part was stress. Enjoyable part was cheap food.
Pros
Food Discounts
Cons
No breaks, Constantly stayed late or was sent home early, terrible management, back -stabbing coworkers, terrible work environment, literally saw a line cook throw a plate at someone and not get i trouble
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people I worked with there made it worth while
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Hanford, CAJune 23, 2019
The managers aren’t the best, but the atmosphere there was awesome. The people were more like a family than a company. Work might not be the best but if you have great people around it’s not so bad
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short/no breaks. Managers didn’t always seem to care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced, efficient, stressful
line cook (Former Employee) –  Butler, NJJune 7, 2019
There was never any downtime. Every shift had employees working hard. Efficient, but caused burnout very quick. Not a great career, but a valuable job for learning teamwork, speed, and high stress work management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money is the only benefit
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Leesville, LAMay 24, 2019
The chilis I'm at pays quite a bit more than local minimum wage, but the job duties and expectations are a bit ridiculous. Breaks are absolutely not guaranteed unless it slows down, and even then there's something that needs to be done, and at one of the top 10 chilis by sales volume and service in the country, where I am now, it generally never slows down. The managers are always quick to tell you if you step outside even for two minutes to breathe that you're wasting time and they can be quite rude about it. Multitasking to the extreme, and customers can get extremely unrealistic. Managers tend to come down hard on even simple things, and most people I know are looking for elsewhere to work, due to the fact that there is very little time off to take care of family and personal matters. Coworkers can be toxic and it just leads to more general chaos.
Pros
Good pay, decent benefits
Cons
No guaranteed breaks, over the top multitasking, extremely high service standards, no work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work if u need a job.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Manchester, CTMay 20, 2019
Its wack to work here. Your quality of life/family suffers for the back of the house. Look for a better job if u have a family. Like most jobe they make false promises. They make it seem like they're helping u out...when in reality its the other way around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable
Heart of House line Cook (Former Employee) –  Chico, CAMay 10, 2019
this is a fun place to work at. however everyone in managment seems to be a lett less advanced then employees. good benifits and wonderful employees to work with
Pros
fun, and easy
Cons
lazy managment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent working environment
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Sheboygan Falls, WIMay 6, 2019
every day you learn something and excellent work team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool summer job or second job
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Palm Beach Gardens, FLApril 26, 2019
Perfect for teens and young adults looking to make extra money. Fast paced, easy and simple. Back of house is the heart of the house. Treat your cooks respectfully and you'll get the same in return
Pros
Free lunch, easy closing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Tracy, CAApril 22, 2019
this is a fun, fast paced place to work. lots of hours avaliable but are usually given to those with senority. not much room for error at chilis, management could he a little more professional
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unkown
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 21, 2019
Been many years since ive worked there. Unsure what all has changed. My early experience... Good work environment with solid corporate structure. Enjoyed the experience overall
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun evironment
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Sioux Falls, SDApril 5, 2019
great staff that motivates you .......i really woke up looking forward to going to work even though the going got tough sometimes but i still managed to leave with a smile on my face
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay for cooks, but zero potential for raises beyond that.
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Owasso, OKMarch 22, 2019
If you apply here, ask for as much money as you can, because thats all you're gonna get. To their credit, they do give a yearly bonus of $250. No raises, no potential for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work envinroment
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Merrillville, INMarch 17, 2019
If the management was better it would be a pretty good work experience. The GM there drains the moral of the workers. There’s a high turnover rate because of him
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad at all
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Athens, GAMarch 13, 2019
I enjoyed my time at the chili's of Athens. I cooked, I washed dishes, I made too many jokes and all in all the company is very welcoming to those that are willing to work hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy which meant that we always had to be prepared and be able to communicate with each other
Line Chef (Former Employee) –  Lodi, CAMarch 6, 2019
Very fast-paced and always busy which meant no down time. Always had to be prepping and make sure everything was perfect. Very physically demanding and taught me a lot of good qualities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast-paced environment
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Odessa, TXMarch 6, 2019
I've had some good experiences and bad experiences working at Chili's but overall a great place to work. A nice clean environment you get 50% off of your food if you're an employee
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Chili's
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAFebruary 25, 2019
A day at Chili's wouldn't be right if everything went smoothly. Everyday there was a new challenge, from conflicted scheduling to customer satisfactory. Working in this environment has told me how to adapt quickly to unexpected events. The employees are what makes the environment great, great opportunity for workplace diversity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
BOH- Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CAFebruary 25, 2019
The environment at this specific job was very welcoming. My co-workers had great team work ethic, everyone also had great communications skills with positive attitudes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chili's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 7,702 reviews
52.5K
42.5K
31.7K
2524
1451

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

1.5Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss