Chiquita Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold over work , underpaid
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  Morrow, GANovember 18, 2016
Long cold shifts for little money. Good for young single people who don't have to pay bills. If your looking for an overnight job for a little extra money. Than its good for you. Not to used as a primary source of income for a family with children and multiple expenses.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Culture
Network Planning and Account Management (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAApril 15, 2016
Chiquita was just ok. I spent too much of my time battling other departments because their goals were the opposite of my departments' goals. When it comes down to it, Chiquita's company-wide goal is all about $$ with too little focus on the customer. I will say that they are very particular about the quality of their products.
If you end up with a great direct supervisor or a good 'ol boy connection, you can get paid well. Otherwise, pay is average and bonuses are non-existent (even at high levels within the company). There is no work/life balance. This place generally consumes you, and I got burnt out - most do. I stuck around so long because I really enjoyed the people that I worked closely with.
They are good about hiring from within, but otherwise the feeling as an employee here is that the company really doesn't value you very much, and you can be sent packing at a moment's notice.
Pros
Cool coworkers, great pay is possible
Cons
High stress, feeling that the company doesn't care about much but their $$
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company with family culture
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 24, 2016
Chiquita was a great experience. Awesome people to work with. Management trusted my expertise. Great promotion opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Quality Assurance Technician (Current Employee) –  Morrow, GAMay 10, 2015
The management is alright. The company is alright. Basically were all waiting to see what changes the new owners make. You could do worse for a company though.
Pros
Decent Benefits
Cons
Bad Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive family oriented business
Treasury Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 4, 2015
I loved working with Chiquita. They are transitioning to Florida and I am not going. They are very flexible and understanding. The pay is outstanding. All around this is a great place and company to work for!
Pros
free lunches once a week
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
PMO (Former Employee) –  Morrow, GADecember 17, 2014
Very cold environment. You don't see management until you are getting wrote up. They have too many requirements for little pay. This is by far the worst place I've ever work. I was so happy when I left.
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
too cold, low pay, no vacation time
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working team builder.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  streamwood ILOctober 25, 2014
I love the work and challenges I am faced with each day at chiquita. However I work to many hours to enjoy my newborn
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Human Resources/ Benefits (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 5, 2014
Read the news. Poorly ran company. Self absorbed upper management. Human Resources non supportive. Just a number not a face in this organization. Very high turnover.
Pros
Free bananas
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Procurement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Streamwood, ILMay 6, 2014
Very fast paced and demanding job. Extremely long hours and on call 24/7.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a decent start for a stepping stone.
Production Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Morrow, GaMarch 12, 2014
Get a schedule of what to run for the shift , read and interpret it , set up machine for operation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 12Report

See more Chiquita reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chiquita. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 16 reviews
55
43
32
23
13

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.0

1.9Personal Development

1.9Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight