CHRISTIAN HORIZONS Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 26 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place!
Prefer not to answer (Former Employee) –  Washington, ILJuly 10, 2018
Management favors people big time, you go to HR to talk about issues and they say they will do something and nothing is done , housekeeping gets paid more then cnas and half of them just stand around , including one who is the "head housekeeper" who literally does a whole lot of nothing. And one housekeeper is related to the administrator so we know she won't get in trouble. There's no teamwork at all! Just a pathetic place to work!! Stay away from Washington Christian in Washington IL!
Pros
None
Cons
Management horrible! Rude people.. stay away!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense atmosphere, stressful environment, used to be much better
Employee (Current Employee) –  Herrin, ILJuly 4, 2018
This place used to be an amazing company to work for. But over the last year things have spiralled out of control. The housekeepers that have been there for legitimately 20 years or more have never seen a raise. The administrator only hires immediate family members and close friends. Also plays favoritism and will change her mind in a snap about you, fire you and hire her family to replace you. Only one leader and professional there.. Human Resources Coordinator. Not a good place to work. Not free lunch either.
Pros
Residents
Cons
Management, working conditions, no opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workers and bosses and office ladies really care at Mohe cente
Don’t want to say (Former Employee) –  Washington, ILJune 19, 2018
Their rally nice but everybody is busy all the time. They don’t make you work at the nursing home across the street even though they are same company. The people who work here are nice except the kitchen. The boss/manager is always nice and makes you feel
Loved. The office people are nice too. The residents are really nice. The lunches are free
Pros
Nice workers with you, bosses in the office make you feel liked, everybody is nice
Cons
Always working, everybody works all the time, even the nurses, the Boss is always working, always need people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management cared more for appearances than actual efforts to resolve employee concerns
LPN Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJune 9, 2018
Workplace culture was such that long-term employees were able to enjoy extended lunch breaks but recent hires were not, and had to cover for these long-term employees' breaks. This may or may not have been the case for the day shift.
Pros
friendly residents
Cons
favoritism towards long-term employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy floor mursing
LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) (Current Employee) –  Crown Point, INMarch 14, 2018
I enjoy working with elderly on the rehab floor i currently work in the rehab unit it can be hectic on this unit with admits and discharges one of my worst days was a evening that I got 5 admit in one shift and I completed them in my 8 hour shift this was when nothing was computerized.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crown Point Christian Village is the place to be
Nurse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Crown Point, INFebruary 10, 2018
Great company to work for. I love the cats downstairs. Everyone works together to take care of our residents. It's a fun job and the workload is comparable with other nursing homes I've worked for.
Pros
Relaxed resident first environment
Cons
Aren't there issues anywhere you work?
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to work don't work here, if you want to be part of a clique then apply
Full Time Employee (Former Employee) –  Crown Point, INFebruary 5, 2018
If you want to move up or keep your job then drink the Kool-Aid. I have never worked for a company that has fired so many good employees and the ones in training you must go with the flow or your are gone. You can not be creative or try to improve things with your own ideas you must follow the leader. The good people leave or get fired and the people who don't work retain their jobs - they drink the Kool-Aid. Upper management pawns their job on others. It is like going back to high school. Many employees are relatives of management and many people lack the skills of the jobs they hold.
Pros
Pto
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with Great Team!
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Carmi, ILNovember 10, 2017
I’ve been at the Carmi location for a year now and love I‎t. The supervisor team work together well for what benefit the patients. We truly care for our residents. Our community is blessed with a good Administration who is local and cares for our community and has good direction. Days can get hectic as with every job but I‎t truly is my passion to be able to help elderly and be able to provide them good care. Also have a great Corporate team to be able to turn to.
Pros
Great working environment, great residents, corporate backing.
Cons
High turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is poor.
Prefer not to answer (Former Employee) –  Washington, ILNovember 9, 2017
Needs better management. Lots of gossip! Lots of turnover. I've seen department management be verbally abusive to employees and residents and upper management does nothing to fix the problem. Upper management doesnt hold employees accountable for breaking handbook rules. Understaffed. No team work. It's sad because it could be such a great facility with the right management team. Daytime hours aren't bad. Pay is low when you repeatedly pick up other employees slack. Working with the residents is fun. It's a shame management couldn't be better. This includes corporate not handling problems. They are too worried with filling rooms than fixing a hostile work environment! They don't value you as an employee. You're just a body!
Pros
Paid time off, benefits for full time employees, daytime hours aren't bad, residents are fun.
Cons
Management, low compensation, No team work, some verbal abuse towards employees and residents and no one held accountable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Diatary Aide (Current Employee) –  Washington, ILNovember 8, 2017
Got a new administrator and she's turning things around , things are slowly getting better! Management can be bad sometimes and staff can be lazy and alot of gossip
Pros
Free food
Cons
Too much gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work here
Laundry, housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Council Bluffs, IAOctober 25, 2017
Management don’t help when needed. They treat they’re employees horrible, they play favorites, lazy people and always working short. I will never go back. If you want to get treated poorly then this is the job for you.
Pros
None
Cons
Health insurance, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doesn't live up to it's claim of being a Christian company.
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILOctober 21, 2017
Under staffed so you are over worked. Some of the residents have complained that they are not treated well especially by employee's outside of the nursing staff I.E kitchen staff, housekeepers, laundry employee's.
Pros
None
Cons
Lazy co-workers, lots of call off's, pay, over worked, management is a joke, rules don't apply to all employee's....
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wouldn't wish this job on my worst enemy.
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILOctober 20, 2017
The atmosphere is tense, Management plays favorites and they do not take concerns or issues seriously. The work load is too heavy for the amount of housekeepers to rooms/residents ratio. The pay is terrible for the type of work you are preforming. I can honestly say nothing positive about this company.
Pros
The residents.
Cons
Too many to list.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospice is not for them
RN Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, ILOctober 5, 2017
Work life balance - there is no such thing. On call, no support, management unable to support as they are not clinical. LPN over the RN's. Poor management again, unable to answer questions appropriately. Clients are great, staff is burnt out, not following guidelines for clinicians. Compensation is ok but does not make up for the time away from family.
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
Poor management, long hours, on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a mission to care for the elderly.
Supportive Living Staff (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, ILJuly 17, 2017
This industry is tough in the world of Long Term Care. With that said Christian Horizons is a good company to work for if you want purpose. Caring staff, caring management.
Pros
Mission Based
Cons
Tough Industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
Developmental Service Worker Canada (Former Employee) –  CAJuly 8, 2017
it's all about the money. many clicks and lazy workers.
money you make is good. hope if you choose to work here, you will put the residents first.
this has to stop.
Pros
cccccccc
Cons
ccccccccccccc
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Washington, ILJuly 5, 2017
Helpful staff, management encourages critical thinking and makes you feel like a ream. Healthcare is always changing and that is what makes this facility great. Staffing ratio is excellent compared to other area nursing homes. Management is present and helpful.
Pros
Free meals
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Data Entry Technician (Former Employee) –  Monticello, ILMay 18, 2017
Very stressful place to work at. Management is not exactly the most qualified. Hours of operation are ridiculous for a long term care pharmacy.
I would not wish my worst enemy to work for this company.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful Place to work
Medicare Biller (Current Employee) –  Lincoln, ILMay 18, 2017
I don't even really know what to say about this place at this time. I think they have good intentions but for some reason it doesn't seem to work out that way. A few bad employees make it difficult and stressful for others. Management doesn't seem to correct this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Regional Recruiting Manager (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 27, 2017
Great company to work for with great pay and benefits. I enjoy working with the people and co-workers. Employee and staff members are fair outgoing and work hard for the productivity of the company and residents. There is room for growth and advancement within the organization and opportunities to move around when your areas of interest expand and grow with your career interests.
Pros
wages and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 7Report

See more CHRISTIAN HORIZONS reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CHRISTIAN HORIZONS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 26 reviews
59
43
35
22
17

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.8Culture