Christopher & Banks Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work environment
Temporary Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 15, 2018
It was a part-time job. I Greeted customers, ran the cash register, hung up and put merchandise in the correct place, inventory, and created displays.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
No benefits for part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 9, 2018
most customers had been shopping there for a long time and knew what they wanted when they came in
more laid back than most retail stores
lots of coupons and discounts for customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, involvement with people
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Chubbuck IDSeptember 24, 2018
Retail store, sales associate. Assisted customers in finding desired purchases, making recommendations, Inventory and display of merchandise, operating cash register, balancing til at end of day, prepare bank deposits. Rewarding to be able to help someone feel better about themselves.
Pros
interaction with customers, discount, good work environment
Cons
No set hours, low pay, part time, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for
Assistant Store Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 17, 2018
If you enjoy helping friends build wardrobes, this is the job for you. Very challenging and rewarding experience, as clientele ranges include Missy, Petite, and Women.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birch Run, MISeptember 15, 2018
Working at Christopher and Banks was fun for me. I enjoy working with people and found I really enjoyed helping them build their wardrobe. The staff are amazing!
Pros
Extra 10% discount on clothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here....just wish it was not retail...
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  MichiganSeptember 13, 2018
I liked being able to put outfits together for people and help them. Then it came to a point that if you did not make the sales it was an issue. It stopped being fun. Other than that and the fact that I could not work every single weekend anymore, I loved it. There was no room for me to grow because I could not relocate and the people that were in management have been there a long time. While I worked there for ten years there was never a real high turnover in employees. So I went back to school and took care of my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, NESeptember 13, 2018
Good place to work. Daily job was relaxed environment. Work load was not overwhelming. Hours were reasonable and flexible. Restructuring and combining the two stores was good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No promotions guaranteed
Part-Time Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Christiansburg, VASeptember 10, 2018
Friendly environment but doesn't give employees opportunities to grow within the company. Corporate judges you without meeting you or getting to know you. The best part is being able to strengthen my leadership and customer service skills.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
No internal promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, fast-paced environment
Part-time associate (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, WASeptember 1, 2018
On average, the store has bursts of activities as customers come in, but there is always work to be done. With new merchandise coming in almost daily and sales always going on, there's never a shortage of work. It's a good place to learn time management and customer service while brushing up on social skills as you build rapport with the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very energetic place to work
Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Vienna, WVSeptember 1, 2018
The company was a very pleasant place to work very family oriented.
Always busy nice customers and we had a great team.
I enjoyed working here with my team and enjoyed learning about merchandising and doing inventory.
Pros
Scheduling was awesome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Temp (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, MNAugust 29, 2018
We’ll have to work by 6 am. Sign in a sheet and then start to work and different areas. They some machines to work with boxes or we can around the clothes. So it’ll be folding or putting it in plastic and seal it l.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Short term break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace culture
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Saratoga Springs, NYAugust 21, 2018
I enjoy the customer base at Christopher and Banks. Always something to work on. Often have contests and an opportunity to earn bonus. Promo changes are frequent always encouraging
the customers to come in shopping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail sales was a fun experience, meet new people everyday.
Part Time Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, WVAugust 13, 2018
Meet new people every day. Never boring. Enjoyed working in retail sales. Discounts were given to employees. Flexible schedule. Salary was comparable for a part time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There CARE PROGRAM mad our staff feel like a family.
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Lake Saint Louis, MOAugust 10, 2018
This company and job changed my life for the better I learned how much I like working with people but also taught me management skills. I loved my time I. Training, marketing, and fashion shows that I put on
Pros
Having a bond with your coworkers
Cons
Sometimes we all spend to much time together
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn the retail business
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, WIAugust 9, 2018
Enjoyed my time there, had fun and learned a lot about retail sales. Received discounts on merchandise, great & dedicated CJ customers. Opening and closing store part of responsibilities along with drawer count and bank deposits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher managment
Seasonal Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calhoun, GAAugust 9, 2018
The company itself is awesome and the people they have working in the stores are amazing. The district managers just require a lot from the employees and don't allow new comers to show that they are able to do the job.
Pros
nice people to work with
Cons
strict higher managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is not competitive with other retail stores
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 5, 2018
Low pay, poor management ,no room for advancement, dm shows a lot of favoritism , corporate does not give individual stores enough hours to provide store coverage, no raises given in the last 3 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Redding, CAAugust 1, 2018
Christopher and Banks is a great place to work. they have great managers and friendly staff. an overall great work environment. Not many hours given to part time associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was glad I learned what I did there.
Sales-Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Montgomeryville, PAJuly 30, 2018
I liked helping the customers and learning about clothing outfits. It was good the company had sales for the customers. The clothing was unique. They periodically had events for customers.
Pros
Fun experiences for customers
Cons
Not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old lady fest
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILJuly 23, 2018
Definitely an easy job unless you’re like me and hate standing on your feet for 5 plus hours. Other than that, it really was an easy job. Not very fun because the clientele is 40+years older than me but hey.
Pros
Easy, 60% discount
Cons
Ugly clothes, 5 hour shift only 15 minute break or 5+ 30 minute unpaid break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Christopher & Banks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 349 reviews
5125
4127
367
217
113

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

2.4Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight