Christopher & Banks Employee Reviews

Found 363 reviews matching the search See all 364 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part-time job as a college student
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAMarch 19, 2019
I only worked during my seasonal breaks during my college years, but was pleased with the work I was able to do and was not disappointed by my lack of ability for advancement because I only considered it to be a temporary position.
Pros
friendly co-workers/managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace.. very productive
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Saginaw, MIMarch 14, 2019
Easy going day.. everyone is friendly and works together to get the job done.. Manager is very understandable when it comes time for important days off .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Eugene, ORMarch 11, 2019
Sometimes customers can be challenging
Lots of standing all day
Short breaks
Hours can fluctuate making it difficult to accommodate team.
But....
Fun workplace
Team commodity
Good leadership
Pros
Great employee discounts
Cons
Sore Feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic environment; chronically understaffed
Asst. Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesMarch 11, 2019
From what I've heard, this used to be an awesome place to work. Unfortunately, the payroll across the company has been cut so far back that no one has a clue what's going on at any given time, because everyone is trying to catch up with what they didn't get done the day before. The customers and co-workers are awesome; there simply is not enough people to even come close to covering the workload in the stores.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean environment
SecondAssistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Ithaca, NYMarch 4, 2019
Working with other colleagues was a pleasant experience. Though retail required weekend and holidays.we made the best of it. The store closed and I relocated from NY to FL
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work environment
Asst. Manager (Current Employee) –  Paducah, KYFebruary 10, 2019
Nice place to work. Friendly and helpful associates. Customer oriented. Workplace culture is positive. Most enjoyable part of the job is working with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Sterling Heights, MIJanuary 31, 2019
The best part of my day was assisting customers.
To do that we would help customers find suitable outfits, find the appropriate sizing and ringing in the customer's purchases.

A typical day was spent assisting customers, organizing and putting new merchandise on the floor and in the back room for easy access.

Each day when we clocked in, we met with our supervisor. They would give us a short version of that day's sales and what the expectations were on that given day.
Pros
Enjoyed my fellow workers and customers.
Cons
Standing was sometimes tiresome on my feet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with customers
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Hutchinson, KSJanuary 17, 2019
We would prepare the sales floor, help the customers with any needs, keep the store clean, put out new merchandise when it arrived. Did floor moves once a month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fremont, INJanuary 16, 2019
I loved it here! We were a team and a family. I really did enjoy it when I worked here. The atmosphere was amazing. overall just the best job I have ever had.
Pros
Family/ Team
Cons
I left for a different job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day @ Christopher and Banks
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Robinson, PADecember 4, 2018
I always approached my staff with a positive attitude to get the daily work done to meet our goals. Retail hours are long and everyday of the week. I went to banking for better hours and a better work-life balance.
Pros
Working with customers
Cons
Retail hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The customers are nice
Part - Time Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Duluth, MNNovember 27, 2018
Starting the day normally have to read the emails and all the promotions that are set so I can understand what is going on for sales. Help the customers with finding what they are looking for, for themselves or for a gift. Management is stressful trying to get everything fixed when things are breaking down all around us. It is fun to work with everyone at the store at times when we are not having an event or if we have a really big day for sales.
Cons
short breaks, no lactating rooms for new moms
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Albert Lea, MN 56007November 5, 2018
Nice place to work. Weekly changes through out the store to keep it fresh looking and inviting. Fun interacting with customers and helping them pick out outfits. Good interaction with upper management
Pros
Working with customers
Cons
Sometimes the sore could be slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall climate
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNOctober 30, 2018
I enjoyed working at C&B, however at times, the district MNGR placed unrealistic goals on the store. My main focus was taking care of customers and promoting the store brand, while the DMs main focus was credit cards Ultimately, the store was closed due to lack of sales.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jonesboro, AROctober 21, 2018
One of the best companies I have ever worked for and would love the opportunity to work for them again one day maybe in the future. Great company, great store, great products and I still shop there. Very friendly staff who take the time to know their customers personally, very warm environment.
Pros
Very warm environment
Cons
wish I still worked there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Wyoming Valley Mall, Wilkes Barre PAOctober 15, 2018
Store is no longer open in my former area. But, I did enjoy working with the employees and had a great learning experience in managing a store. It improved my opinion of store managing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work environment
Temporary Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 15, 2018
It was a part-time job. I Greeted customers, ran the cash register, hung up and put merchandise in the correct place, inventory, and created displays.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
No benefits for part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COOctober 9, 2018
most customers had been shopping there for a long time and knew what they wanted when they came in
more laid back than most retail stores
lots of coupons and discounts for customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, involvement with people
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Chubbuck IDSeptember 24, 2018
Retail store, sales associate. Assisted customers in finding desired purchases, making recommendations, Inventory and display of merchandise, operating cash register, balancing til at end of day, prepare bank deposits. Rewarding to be able to help someone feel better about themselves.
Pros
interaction with customers, discount, good work environment
Cons
No set hours, low pay, part time, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work for
Assistant Store Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 17, 2018
If you enjoy helping friends build wardrobes, this is the job for you. Very challenging and rewarding experience, as clientele ranges include Missy, Petite, and Women.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birch Run, MISeptember 15, 2018
Working at Christopher and Banks was fun for me. I enjoy working with people and found I really enjoyed helping them build their wardrobe. The staff are amazing!
Pros
Extra 10% discount on clothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Christopher & Banks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 364 reviews
5128
4132
373
218
113

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.6Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight