Chrysalis Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Assistant Counselor (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 16, 2019
In a typical day in my last position I fulfilled management tasks of opening and closing the facility, as well as overseeing a staff of seven individuals. Throughout the day I completed various administrative duties as well, including answering phones, drafting documents and emails, assisting clients with daily duties. I also provided strong customer service and resolved client issues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run do not just walk away from applying here!
Direct Support Staff (DSS) (Former Employee) –  Ogden UtahMay 3, 2019
This is the worst company I ever worked for. The manager gossips about all her employees which made for a bad work environment, If you went to the manager with any kind of problem or reason why you needed time off she would gossip to other employees what was said in confidence. The clients would curse at you on a daily basis, some staff even got beat up to the point of going to the hospital. They also tell the brown nose staff that work there to post FAKE positive reviews on here .If you don't fit into one of the many "clicks" then you have no chance at all to make it in this company truly a bunch of fake two faced people..Just a horrible place to work!!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced, and way too many hours for too few people
House Manager/Caregiver (Current Employee) –  UtahApril 22, 2019
Many variables come together to determine the job quality at Chrysalis. When it comes down to it, there is almost constant shortage of staff. That means instead of a nice 30-40 hour week with time off, you may instead work 70-80 hrs and not have a day off for weeks at a time.

If you want to maintain a social life, free time, and enjoy activities outside of work, then I would not recommend Chrysalis.

Apart from that, you basically get paid to sit on the couch, supervise clients, and chill (just remember to complete your paperwork and to clean)
Pros
Usually easy, indoors, benefits after a year
Cons
Slow, hours, pay, no life outside work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive jobsite
Maitenance Technician (lead ) (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 13, 2018
my typical work day starts with cleaning all trash on the perimeter of the building also pressure washing and weed eating and the use of the blower.supervising a 6 man crew etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chrysalis is just good for a person whom want to work there is a position for every one and work comfortable
Street Sweeper (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 6, 2018
It is exciting a very nice group of staff and supervisor and koworkers.The work is easy and the trainning was fun.The job iwas flexible hours and shift.The positions wrere flexible with different sites.It is a happy place to work.It is really fun to upgrade the position.The company require to job search while working with them since it is a 1 year seasonal potion and you may reapply after 1 year has went by.There are very many positions to apply to.
Pros
The lunches were good.
Cons
the personal care for koworker were resonable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a wonderful work place
Street Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 30, 2018
I am very thankful for chrysalis enterprises they are so careing and helpful and they take the time out to help you prepare for interviews for other jobs that are outside of chrysalis i really loved working for them they are a great company to work for and they also give you other resources for houseing and help obtain getting your birth certificate state identification and more i really love it and the staff at chrysalis i recommend chrysalis to a friend or to anyone that is looking for a job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and supportive work environment
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 5, 2016
Productive and supportive work environment, really makes efforts to meet the needs of the community. Agency should make more efforts to be mindful of social justice and equity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chrysalis
Employment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 2, 2016
Chrysalis is a fun and exciting place to work. The benefits are great and the atmosphere is welcoming and inviting. My co workers are open and nice. The management team looks out for your best interest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 9Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good at telling client story, low execution of assisting client to self-sufficiency
Strategic Program Advisor (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMarch 19, 2016
Assisted the project team with identifying areas of improvement, learned that small organizations have strong politics with addressing poor performance, management is routine, co-workers were exhausted and frustrated with leadership and lack of change/improvement - they were dedicated staff with limited authority to improve their work, the hardest part of my job was having to move in the direction of the leadership team which was in the opposite direction of the recommendations I provided - based on surveys, data and consumer feedback, the most enjoyable part of my job was witnessing a client successfully completing services.
Pros
Within walking distance to my home, met life long friends
Cons
Lack of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great peers and excellent management
Janitor/Custodian (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 19, 2015
- Signed in
- Signed for keys and equipment
- Washed windows
- Removed graffiti off walls
- Passed out care packages to the homeless
- Swept th sidewalks and curbs
- Emptied trash cans
Pros
Holiday bonuses
Cons
Distance and time spent away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A successful non-profit committed to their goals and mission statement
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 14, 2014
Productive professional experience, working environment and management team. The most challenging, yet enjoyable part of the job, was working with those of mental and physical disabilities. The task, duties and expectations, were those I look forward to exceeding while holding this title as a career.
Pros
Philanthropy, Employment Placement and Mission Statement
Cons
Permanent Employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 18Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Inspiring
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 11, 2013
The motto at Chrysalis is Changing Lives and everyday that is what we did. Working right along skid-row the number one homeless population in America, we specialized in giving people second chances. Working along side those with criminal backgrounds, substance abuse issues, mental health issue and people who were homeless living on the streets. We helped them stabilize their situations and worked with each individual one on one and helped them find work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 14Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they teach you many different skills on the job
sweeper (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 3, 2013
this is suppose to be a temporary transitional job so they focus on getting you in and out
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work great oppurtunities
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 17, 2013
great place .Services Volunteer)/ Employment Specialist; Case Manager Asst.
Provide holistic and comprehensive case management services to all clients including: intake assessment, benefit
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no pay volunteer work for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chrysalis is great!
Employment Consultant (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 26, 2012
Chrysalis is a great place to work. Incredible people and great management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Chrysalis. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 16 reviews
58
43
32
22
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight