Cinemark Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 2,536 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5856
4824
3587
2175
194
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 1,431 reviews matching the search See all 2,535 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment, but management lacks
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHJuly 17, 2018
If you love movies this is definitely the place for you, because you get to enjoy movies for free and can bring one additional guest for free also. The only downside is the management isn't the greatest. They can pick favorites.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool and busy workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJuly 17, 2018
Most enjoyable part of the job is collaborating with customers .
Management is good , they have a good amount of young cool managers, which can be very enjoying
Pros
Watch free movies
Cons
No free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, but management didn't connect with employees
Beaverton - Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Beaverton, ORJuly 16, 2018
Cinemark was a really easy job. There wasn't much to master, and ever the shift lead position was easy to achieve. Management was the only problem, and pay advancement. The top manager only knew a few employees, such as the shift leads and other managers. Employees who've worked there for over a year still feel as though the top manager doesn't even know their name. People who have been loyal employees that managers rely on to help train new employees are receiving the same pay as new employees.
Pros
free movies, discount concessions, easy job
Cons
short breaks, no benefits, distant management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun starter job.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Roseville, CAJuly 16, 2018
I had a lot of fun working for Cinemark. The hours were flexible because the hours of operation were so long. You make friends fairly quickly, though cleaning can be a pain. Overall its a good place to work as an employee.
Pros
Free movies, Free popcorn and soda
Cons
Stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people but stressful work environment
Manager/ trainer (Former Employee) –  Joliet, ILJuly 15, 2018
Loved working and training people there but the pay was not worth it. you did twice the work for such a low paying job. the management was also very poor and never organized.
Pros
free movies and discounts on food
Cons
low pay. stressful work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Usher/Ticket Taker (Current Employee) –  Redwood City, CAJuly 13, 2018
I like working at Cinemark it's a fun place to work and the people there are real cool. I work hard cleaning the theaters and I have a great personality and am friendly with the customers when I work podium.
Pros
free movies and free drinks and popcorn and half off snacks
Cons
the pay could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was chill
Usher/Ticket Taker (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAJuly 12, 2018
It was a chill job. I was an usher so we just cleaned the theaters and lobby. Managers were wack thats why i left. And if yall trying to eat roaches then for sure go to the one at the pike. But enjoy luv
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job!
Concessionist/Usher/Box Office (Current Employee) –  Monroeville, PAJuly 12, 2018
This was the greatest job! Relaxed environment most of the time, cool managers, my co workers became some of my best friends! Was given so many chances to advance and grow within the theater!
Pros
Everything!
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviornment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Redding, CAJuly 10, 2018
A decent place to work. some of the best and worst years depending on the management, but ultimately an experience that was worth it. burnt me out on customer service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Ambassador/Concessionist (Current Employee) –  El Paso, TXJuly 9, 2018
As though Cinemark may be a fun workplace, it is also not a place i see myself working for much longer. Employees are not heard along with not being able to expirience new opinions in the various departments Cinemark provides.
Pros
free movie passes, a 50% discount 30 minutes before and after ones shift
Cons
people are not heard/get ignored, employees don't get paid enough for whats being done for the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company low salary
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Orem, UTJuly 9, 2018
I loved working for cinemark they were great, the people were good and the management was perfect, the reason I decided to leave was because I felt like I wasn’t getting paid good enough to help my family with what they needed
Pros
Good job
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and stressful
Concession Worker / Usher (Former Employee) –  Monroeville, PAJuly 7, 2018
Most of the managers were kind, but the general manager is unfair and quite rude. I was working full time hours on part time pay. However, the co-workers are very friendly and i am still close with a few to this day.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Only two days off per month, unfair treatment, unfair pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
needs new management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJuly 5, 2018
The customers get away with anything the managers let the customers talk to the employees any type of way and there are no consequences also some managers need to be fired
Pros
50% off food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a very fun and flexible place to work at
Usher/Concessions (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 5, 2018
It was a very fun an great place to work at and I was glad I was giving the opportunity to work there for as long as I did and management there is great
Pros
Fun and flexible environment
Cons
Low Hourly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People amazing , job not so much
Manager (Current Employee) –  Carson, CAJuly 5, 2018
Cinemark , breads great culture of people and energy yet the pay is not as rewarding and it can be very demanding as a manager with not much payback for it. But if you can get past the pay the job is very secure and fun.
Pros
People
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Concession Worker (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 3, 2018
Loved everybody I worked with. Loved working and helping customers. It was actually so much fun working there. The pay wasn't all great but i definitely learned alot and had a great experience working at cinemark
Pros
Free popcorn and drinks
Cons
Short breaks, The pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Usher/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 2, 2018
Worst company ever. During busy times when big movies come out they expect you to work 60 hours a week but don't pay overtime. They don't even offer benefits to full time employees and they didn't acknowledge my work until I put in my two weeks for a higher paying job.
Pros
Free movie tickets
Cons
No benefits, no overtime, low pay, short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , fast paced environment
Usher/Ticket Taker (Former Employee) –  Eagle Pass, TXJuly 2, 2018
Cinemark is a great company to start if you are a teen looking to get a taste in the workforce and it is a great way to acquire income as you go to school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cinemark
Server (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 1, 2018
Laid back work environment, employees are friendly, pays minimum wage, great employee perks, stay busy and you will make it on the job, great place for a second job
Pros
employee perks
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, but it can feel like a big high school sometimes
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Federal Way, WAJune 29, 2018
Cinemark is a great place to work with amazing co-workers and managers, but with such a large amount of young people it often feels like a gossip pit.
Pros
Free movies
Cons
Short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report