Citgo Employee Reviews in Houston, TX

Found 50 reviews matching the search See all 515 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get out of it what you put into it
B2B Strategy Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 29, 2019
If you're a go-getter that doesn't require praise in the form of promotion or money, this is a great place to work. Lots of opportunity to learn/do more if you have the right attitude and work well with the right people.
Pros
nice co-workers
Cons
risk-adverse
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de Trabajo
Legal Advisor E&P (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 4, 2019
El trabajo es excelente, el equipo es diverso. Los gerentes son abiertos, comprensivos
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 15, 2019
It was a great experience and I will definitely recommend this company to anyone looking to work in Logistics. It is competitive and you must learn allot of spanish. I am semi bilingual but not as good as any in this company. I prefer english speaking company.
Pros
Good benefits and great employees
Cons
Too far
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 21, 2019
Citgo was an awesome place to work. Good people and good co-workers. Everyone was a team player and motivated. I loved it there. Would of loved to have stayed there, but unfortunately Citgo contracted a different security company.
Pros
Sometimes free food
Cons
Take others shift when they didn't show up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
TECHNICAL ANALYST NETWORK SECURITY (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 20, 2019
Great group of co-workers. Comfortable work environment and good work assignments. Open communication with management and good visibility because of size of company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 19, 2018
It was an ok job but it didnt help me nor my family as much as i would have wanted it to. I would tell someone without kids to work there because you wouldnt make much!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 15, 2018
The typical work day performed at this particular location was showing up to work on time, following instructions, stocking the coolers, mopping the floors, sweeping the floors, as well as the carpets. Throwing away trash, stomping on the dumpster to make more room for trash. Sweeping the parking lot and satisfying the needs of the store owner.
Pros
Fun positive work environment
Cons
A lot of alcohol
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Financial Systems & Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 12, 2018
Great company to work for, managers and team members are great. I learned other departmental job duties, easy to cross over, great net working environment , pay is good.
Pros
Pay is good
Cons
no company direction
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodocutive and enjoyable office to work
Procurement/Packaging Engineer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 15, 2018
Typical day included follow up meetings, conference calls with suppliers, working through prior days activities. Determine how much was left open and how much will need to be updated/followed up. Met with management to determine direction of open projects and direction of Lubricants organization. The most enjoyable part of my job is the autonomy I have to make decisions for the organization. I was hired for a specific reason and I was allowed to work at that everyday. My creativity was often requested and had a fair percentage of acceptance.
Pros
Flexible hours, gym, cafeteria, travel
Cons
Upward job mobility, age gap between tenured and younger employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you are happy doing the same thing forever
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 9, 2018
If you're not from the parent company the most you will make is a supervisor. Everyone else higher is from the parent company. Company is run only to generate cash flows to the parent. Not much of a long term vision.
Pros
9/80s, cafeteria on site
Cons
No ability to move up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manangment
Insurance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 5, 2018
I would never recommend this company to anyone who is looking to get into the Oilfield. They claim to have an open door policy, but they are all about there management team only.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
IT Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 31, 2018
CITGO offers 9/80s, which is great because you were off every other Friday. Allowed more time with your family. The people were really nice and the company did nice things for their employees.
Pros
Flexible work schedule
Cons
Venezuela influence
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work/Life balance, excellent benefits for employees
Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 31, 2018
Excellent work/life balance. Enthusiastic and highly productive. Refinery operations are very well managed and count on highly committed employees.

Regretfully, the executive level must be aligned with PDVSA (foreign National Oil Company) and might not be 100% aligned with business decisions to compete in the market.
Pros
Refinery Operations is Excellent.
Cons
Executive level does depends on Venezuelan government.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average place
Corporate Auditor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 11, 2017
Venezuela economy is in the dumps so I would never recommend working here. The leader of the audit department is a crook and should not be trusted. I would stay away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very positive workplace and fun to work at
Transportation Compliance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 16, 2017
CITGO is a fun and energetic company, where you can rest assured you can retire from. I enjoyed working on the CITGO in Action committee giving back to the community
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some of the management there was great some not so
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 5, 2017
Working here was a blast. Got to meet many interesting people and learned a lot. The downside is that a few of the managers were deplorable. They treated others with the utmost disrespect. Even commented on others personal life style preference or that they should obey their husbands like a pet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 16, 2017
In the area i was placed to work the over night shift, i must say it was very dangerous. Robberies was happening every other week from the opening til the closing shift at that particular store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to call a set job.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 21, 2017
Overall, it was an okay place but not to call it a set job due to the location and the type of problems it brought with working the area , but i am thankful for having had it.
Pros
Slow
Cons
People were always trying to steal something
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for
Traffic Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 26, 2017
Worked with multiple carriers, scheduling the product for delivery to multiple plants and customer sites. Management was easy to work for and with. The company had fun activities for their employees.
Pros
Morale was good
Cons
Traffic was terrible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
General Labor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 27, 2017
Was a great place to take on whatever task you desired. Would not have left if I didn't move for personal reasons. Think that taking long term strategies into account would be helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport