Citgo Employee Reviews for Manager

Found 24 reviews matching the search See all 511 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Citgo
Manager (Former Employee) –  Portage, MIMarch 21, 2019
Would not recommend any one work there. No advancement in the company, all General Managers are men. Not a women friendly company. No family time, always getting phone calls after work
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk
Manager (Former Employee) –  Kalamazoo, MIJuly 11, 2018
Working with customers and learning the regulars orders wad fun, stocking the store amd cleaning was easy. Good job if youre in school or need something or a side job
Pros
Customers
Cons
No set schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine before my station was bought by a different company
Manager (Current Employee) –  Newington, CTMay 26, 2018
Customers are horrible, lottery is the worst thing is the world. The job was fine, I suppose, before my station was purchased by Atlantis Management. They ruined anything that was tolerable about the job.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
pay, turn over rate, life/free time not included
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was alright
Manager (Former Employee) –  Mattoon, ILFebruary 20, 2018
Citgo was the gas. It was actually a different petroleum company that owned the stations. It sold out to a Middle Eastern business developer. I was harassed by his brother who took my position as manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great independent business
Manager (Former Employee) –  Hernando County, FLFebruary 15, 2018
I was working there full time and going to school owner let me make my own schedule as long the store ran good and made profit . No issues other than no advancement father down the road .
Pros
Make my own schedule
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loves this job running a gas station was wonderful so were my customers and employees
Manager (Former Employee) –  Pearl, MSFebruary 3, 2018
Very relaxed company to work for never had any problems with upper management. You were your own boss. I did everything from hiring to firing. To making the stores orders to gas orders to paper work to taking bank deposits
Pros
You was your own boss very relaxed placed to work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work/Life balance, excellent benefits for employees
Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 31, 2018
Excellent work/life balance. Enthusiastic and highly productive. Refinery operations are very well managed and count on highly committed employees.

Regretfully, the executive level must be aligned with PDVSA (foreign National Oil Company) and might not be 100% aligned with business decisions to compete in the market.
Pros
Refinery Operations is Excellent.
Cons
Executive level does depends on Venezuelan government.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Manager (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, MIJanuary 21, 2018
Professional work atmosphere. Enjoyable employees and workplace culture. Hardest part of the job included heavy lifting of inventory and products. Enjoyable part of the job included customer interaction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned management skills
Manager (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLNovember 11, 2017
I was able to go in learn management skills running a business sorting and filing paperwork entering Tally's at the end of the night doing end of the end of the shift reports doing safe drops basically running the business.
Pros
I learned a lot of management skills and business marketing
Cons
I did not get the breaks that was required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Manager (Current Employee) –  Salisbury, NCOctober 31, 2017
I worked 30-40 hours a week. Owner did not want to give a raise. Was taken out of work for surgery, owner only allowed 1 week off paid vacation and then made me return to work and caused stitches to bust open.
Pros
had really good customers
Cons
not enough money and too much stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Manager (Former Employee) –  Reedsville, WVSeptember 3, 2017
Loved it started out regular employee worked my way up to manager I love gas station cause it always busy love the customers and u can make descent money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Taking Customers non stop followed by inventory managemnt and stocking.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Seaford, NYJuly 25, 2017
Work starts at 3 pm which is the peak time of the day. I learned alot of buisness and customer relation. The managemnt was not active as the Boss owns alot of other buisnesses so I had to run the place. I had to work by myself in my shift. There was not a hard part of the job for me. Enjoyable time at work was when I had to learn and task managemnt.
Pros
You can eat at discount price and free beverages.
Cons
No break at this job and as a General Manager I had to order, control and manage customer relations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Russellville, ALMay 16, 2017
I work at a family business. I love it. After school i help out my parents by translating english to Punjabi. Its like a part time job. I do not get paid for it, and money isnt a big thing for me. Its all about love, and care.
Pros
with the family at all times.
Cons
too many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Owned
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brandywine, MDApril 18, 2017
It was a family owned business, they were a pleasure to work with. They hired me back as an adult, I previously worked there when I was in my twenties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
making more customers
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLMarch 20, 2017
scheduling and write pay rolls are got to get used too are fun even ran cash register and bank deposits. That's mostly what I did out there wishing I can learn a lot more with other jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace, be careful with owners
Supervisor/Management (Current Employee) –  Battle Creek, MIJanuary 17, 2017
Not a bad place to work, but will be asked to do more then your job title says. If asked to do more, or go to another store, be sure to run. Other then that, a great place with great cuystomers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard difficult environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 13, 2015
I've learned that working at gas stations makes you have more patience and gives you hope to think about your future in a better career. It also taught me how to deal with customers from all types of attitude.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive work place
Manager (Former Employee) –  Seneca fallsFebruary 3, 2015
Meeting and greeting customers was key. The most difficult part of the job was when the customers had issues, however we would do our best to solve the issues. I learned better communication skills because of the amount of interactions I had with the customers.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to develop PR and customer service skills
Manager (Current Employee) –  Appleton, WISeptember 24, 2014
Customer service and cash register
Developed PR and customer service skills
Inventory order and management
Cooperative management
Diversity and flexibility
Hardest part was handling drunk customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sanford, FLSeptember 15, 2014
To start off this job provide me the knowledge I always wanted, it gave me the opportunity to grow as a person and dealing with all kind of personality.
Pros
Free Food
Cons
Too far away from my house
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport