City Line Distributors Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just work
Selector (Former Employee) –  West have ctApril 3, 2019
Ok job to work , slow paced , safe environment . The pay is piece work so you have to hustle . Benefits is ok . Dental medical life insurance included
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible meaneger
Forklift Operator/Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTAugust 14, 2018
need new manager very disrespectful and rude.worplace is a revolving door 5 ten guys every other week. need a lot of patience for this workplace dangerous ....
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a family orientent place felt welcome
General Labor (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTJuly 25, 2018
city line is a good company to work for ive learned a lot of things like drive the forklift cherry picker and pallet jack also work with produce and pickin orders from customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved this job
Maintenance/ Produce Stocker (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTJune 12, 2018
I love the co workers, the management, the work, the fact that you can grow in the company. I would love to work there again if the pay and hours were the same or better
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you like hard work
Truck Loader/Unloader (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTJanuary 12, 2018
Its a 3rd shift job that starts at 8pm unroll whenever your work is done. And that's the part I didnt like, theres no set time for when you go home. The managers expect you to not have one error.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City line
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutNovember 22, 2017
Work time was good
I learned be smart about things
ok management
Chilled environment, kinda relaxed, laughs, cool people
Hardest part of the job was getting through the last couple hours
food breaks and going home
Pros
pay kinda good, good breaks areas, cool people
Cons
break time, being careful of forklift and pallet jacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTSeptember 6, 2017
When began working here I was anxious to work and provide. Once I began to work for awhile my pay I was receiving was great, but once a couple months go by u are put on a program called peices and that program is going to determine how much u receive at the end of the week. So basically I went from getting pay a lot to having to work extra extra hard and more hours just to receive the same pay I was getting,so even though it was temporary I never desired to return
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Forklift Operator/Selector (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTDecember 27, 2016
I work here for 3 years i started as a selector and finished as a supervisor in my 3 years i learned every job function there is always room to grow there
Pros
Money
Cons
Loaders that lie
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to work for
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTOctober 18, 2016
Sucks, horrible place to work for, no advancement, a lot of favortism. Long hours and expected to do multiple jobs including other people's work, noses are very lazy and do not manage anything. Very disorganized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTOctober 13, 2016
carrying out duties to an established route daily
good communication with staff
safe work inviroment
good pay
good benefits
consistent work
vacation time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced
Selector (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTMarch 24, 2016
Co workers were a fun group. Actual job is very fast paced and non stop. I learned how to ride an electric pallet jack. We used those to carry the pallets to stack the order for which we have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTOctober 11, 2015
One for the job is to check what you have to drop to fill the location for the selectors use your forklift to move pallets around make sure that your co-workers have merchandise and make sure that everyone is safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food delivery
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTSeptember 3, 2015
deliver food
learned to drive a commercial drivers license
hardest part of the job driving in in climate weather
most enjoyable was long haul driving
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the Most Tech Savvy Companies I've worked for.
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTJuly 24, 2015
City Line Foods is one of the most up to date on tech companies I have worked for. WMS for receiving and Put-Away, VoiceTalk for the selectors, and Scan guns on all the forklifts and receivers.

BUT, it still didn't stop me from plugging several inventory shortfalls, one requiring a software change by BFC.

Crew knows their responsibilities and they get the job done quickly, to the point of burying the loaders in product, forcing the supervisors to step up and meet the flow to get their nightly pallet audits done.

Every effort is made to prevent shipping pick errors. If there are 3 a week, its a bad week.

Seven day operation, optimizing time management to control costs and streamline profits.
Pros
Employees can make purchases at the plant (last I was there).
Cons
Loading dock get very congested
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hard working warehouse
wrae house selector/ dock loader-unloader (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTMarch 27, 2015
while employed for city line I was an excellent hard working employee who always strived to do his best preforming his work duties at work, display great safety skills while using forklift to assure my peers wellbeing
Pros
great management
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTJanuary 10, 2014
We would arrive at work and clean the docks then prepare for the trucks to come for us to unload. We would unload the trucks and place them in the selected slots.
Pros
Learned how to use the forklifts, powerjacks, and crown machines.
Cons
Not much room for advancement, the pay wasn't competitive compared to other warehouses
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loud and dangerous
MACHINE OPERATOR/SHIPPING AND RECEIVING (Former Employee) –  WEST HAVENJuly 21, 2013
Not good place to work,rushed evryday not time for a breather,always watched over.No. Respect,no trust
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You must have no problem with consistently working hard from the time you punch-in to the time you punch-out
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTOctober 3, 2012
A typical day at City Line Distributors goes by very quickly because it's so busy and constant movement especiallly in-season. What I've learned their is as long as we work as a team you can get done so much more faster and efficiently. And the management their is really helpful and has no problem assisting you with any problem you may encounter, co-workers as well. The hardest part of working at City Line is the long hours and heavy lifting, so you will know pretty quickly if you can handled the job. The most enjoyable thing at City Line is everyone gets along really great.
Pros
job security
Cons
not for everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City Line Distributors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 19 reviews
56
43
35
24
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.1Culture

City Line Distributors Reviews by Location