City of Arlington Employee Reviews

Showing all 76 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Code compliance officer
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXSeptember 23, 2019
I worked animal services for 20 years and love my job soo much. I started as kennel assistance for 4 half years and I got promoted as code compliance officer and did that for 15 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
IT Manager, Infrastructure Services (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 28, 2019
Great place to work, I recommend the City of Arlington as a desirable place to work. A very professional environment with very service oriented staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun with a pool you can get into
Life Guard (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 27, 2019
A typical day at work is pretty relaxed and not so stress full. If we get into work a bit early e are allowed to get into the water and go off the diving board.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good introduction to public sector work
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 27, 2019
Good environment to work in. Learned to engage the public. Good experience in learning how to deliver public projects and processes for working with contractors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent.
Day Camp Leader (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJune 17, 2019
I liked working there then the manager was trying to micromanage me. Also, my hours were cut back. I was basically wasting time coming for the morning shft.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked kennel
Kennel Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 15, 2019
kennel manager is unprofessional, rude, doesn't care about staff or animals. just a paycheck for her. she plays favoritism, so if you arent on her good side, you do not get days off as asked for, nor promoted. she promoted someone who got there after current part time employees, which was unfair to the ones who put the time in. you get blamed for things others do ( or don't do) she talks down on employees in front of others, is constantly talking about other employees behind their backs, and bullies employees as well as allowing it from other staff.
Pros
get to try and save animals
Cons
everything else!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TMRS is great after 5 years
Para- Transit Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 12, 2019
Worked in two different departments within the city, parks and rec and handitran. Both jobs were 100% secure but both lacked in pay. You did have decent benefits, and flexible hours, but the pay was always on the low side.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Golf course - Poor Managment from city
1st Assistant Golf Professional (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMarch 18, 2019
Working for the City was different
The city did not work as a team
Each city department worked against each other to make their money
Office workers were treated better then - field workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-operative Co-workers and rough work environments
Beginning of Day
Come to work, clock in
Discuss (in office) what the plan is for that day
Stock our trucks up for that day
Get the computer in the truck started up
Fill the truck up with gas
Head out into the field

End of day
(if necessary) fill truck up with gas
Wash truck off with "high pressure" water spray tools
if any time is left drive to the dump, (remove metal water meter lids and throw them in metal lids pile),(remove trash from inside of truck and bed of truck into the dumpster).
Pros
Purpose
Cons
poor flexible schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Worker (Former Employee) –  Arlington, ORJanuary 31, 2019
Working for a City crew just means that you get to help take care of the city you live in. Making the city a better place and helping with the upkeep of everything going on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and Good People To Work With/Horrible Management
Tournament & Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXJanuary 2, 2019
I have been with they City for a total of 6 years. Being a City employee you do received great benefits and dependent upon your position, your pay is usually decent. I have received three promotions during my tenure with the City and have advanced quickly. The main and major issue I have is with the horrible supervisor I have. This person is has been verbally abusive, non-supportive, lack of care in work relationship, and a poor leader. This is the main reason I am considering another position or career change. This person has made my work environment and day to day an extremely unwelcoming place to be. I would work anywhere else in the City, but no longer will I work in the Golf Division for the City.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend
SEDATION TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXDecember 31, 2018
Very Tense Workplace, The culture does not allow for advancement. Questionable business practices. If you can make it work its a sweet gig but it is unsustainable.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
water dept at City Of Arlingtonhad a varity of jobs avaiable
Hand (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXOctober 9, 2018
I found the city of Arlington much lower than other cities like when I went to work for Keller. Although I took on many additional responsibilities in the water Department I enjoyed , the compensation for doing so was very limited
Pros
Diversified work
Cons
Poor raises and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Library Courier (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 26, 2018
It was a good job, with good people and benefits. It was a job that required physical work, so it kept me in shape. The management was kind and understanding.
Pros
Part-time
Cons
Not full-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Soccer Referee (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 9, 2018
Great place to work. The management is amazing. The most important thing that i learned from this experience was how to make anything work. the objective was to get something done and you had to figure out a way for it to happen.
Pros
Amazing work enviornment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun good workplace
Landscape Technician (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJuly 13, 2018
This job is dirty and strict. It can be fun at times but does include alot of stress. They will make you feel important, but not recommended as a long term career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great environment for IT
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 29, 2018
Way too much time is wasted entertaining the CIOs non-technical and limited knowledge of IT. There is too much fear of the CIO loosing his temper when he has no clear understanding of how technology works. Wasted money, wasted time. No one in the cities environment has any respect for the CIO however, no one will stand up to him for fear of retribution by withholding funds or equipment for IT projects. Some have been fired trying to take a stand.
Pros
Pay and vacation
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet but fast-paced job.
Action Center Agent (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXMay 23, 2018
Heavy phone use. You need to be able to speak in a clear and courteous tone to whoever is on the other end of the phone line. Can be a little hectic at times, but overall a pleasure working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first photography job
photographer / Videographer (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 27, 2018
on call for the Mayors Office
ran video camera for Live cable show. Council meetings
learned a lot
great people
supportive atmosphere
could make the job what you wanted
hard work rewarded
Pros
great people, met and photographed Bob Dole and Nolan Ryan
Cons
pay, lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Code Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  Arlington, TXApril 10, 2018
I enjoy working for the City of Arlington since it allows you to invest in the 401k program as well as they also have a 457 program that you can invest in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Arlington. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 76 reviews
530
430
39
24
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

City of Arlington Reviews by Location