City of Aurora, CO Employee Reviews

Showing all 72 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colleagues
Source of supply specialists (Current Employee) –  Aurora, CODecember 1, 2018
The people who work for the city make it what it is a great city to work live and play. From walking in the door to working with colleagues getting assignments for the day and leaving with a happy smile that's what you experience on a daily basis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Intercative Enviroment
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aurora, CONovember 20, 2018
Working with Neighborhood programs. Learning in different areas of Departments that make up the City of Aurora. Such as, Fire Department, Police Department, Code Inspectors..etc
Pros
Broading and building on skills learn
Cons
I am an Intern
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun summer job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COOctober 16, 2018
A great first job! Management is friendly. Perks include free boat rentals. Basically spending your summer on the beach and getting paid for it. Pays slightly above minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COSeptember 18, 2018
It was good, most of the time. Things happen and the people above you dont care or dont get it. But it didn't matter too much, you busted your butt for the guys around you. At least our district did.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work!
Paralegal Specialist (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COAugust 27, 2018
Great place to work. All in all provides an good working atmosphere to work in. Provides an efficient and accurate services to the public. I am a proud member of a team of people that truly care about work quality.
Pros
Great work place, like the fact that there are so many different problems to solve.
Cons
It’s something sad and difficult working with victims of domestic violence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Management Assistant to the Director (Former Employee) –  AuroraAugust 7, 2018
Working for the City of Aurora is very special, they treat everyone with importance. The culture is about pride in the city and how best to provide for the community.

The City is great place for entry level through management positions.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great program
Lead Preschool Teacher (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COJuly 29, 2018
Great program. It is the perfect way to introduce school to younger kids. A lot is required for teachers, assessment, developmentally appropriate curriculum, parent teacher conferences etc. part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and very fast paced enviorment
Group leader (Former Employee) –  Aurora ColoradoJuly 2, 2018
I enjoyed working for City of Aurora's after school COMPASS program. I met wonderful kids and built great relationships with staff and their families as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well run municipality
Personnel Manager (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COMay 31, 2018
The City of Aurora is third largest city in Colorado and provides wealth of services to its citizens. Offer opportunities for career advancement and provides a competitive salary and benefits package.
Pros
Progressive organization
Cons
Political desires of council members
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Senior Mail Technician (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COMay 26, 2018
I like working in aurora there is no room for advancement and I would like to find some where closer to home that I can utilize my skills and have room for growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the City of Aurora was a great learning experience
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COMay 14, 2018
Working for them was a great way to get my foot in the door. I was able to lear a lot and get help when I needed it. They had flexible hours that worked well with my schedule.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is Meh
Concession Worker (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COApril 26, 2018
There were plenty of fun times but also some bad times. A lot of the new people are grabby which is why I am leaving. The management is very hectic and do not communicate very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish it wasn't a seasonal position
Seasonal Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COApril 25, 2018
I enjoyed working outdoors and being outside was refreshing. The position was seasonal though, and I was never told who contact if I were interested in working for the city again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good steady employment
Traffic Signal Technician 2 (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COApril 23, 2018
This is a Wonderful position and a reliably strong employer.
I hold an important position which makes my day have purpose. The Safety of the public, my co-workers, the Police/ Fire and myself are what really matters.
Keeping the City and its occupants Mobile, safe and able to take full advantage of Aurora's many Transportation options reliably is what my job is about
Pros
Steady job, Important role, Never a dull moment
Cons
Room for growth in smaller departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management lacked basic ethics
Grants Development Officer (Former Employee) –  Aurora, CoApril 19, 2018
The upper management lacked basic ethics. Poor management and open hostility to elected officials on behalf of my manager and executive staff.I would not recommend working in the Finance Department.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Horrible or lack of ethics
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your Title Determines Your Job
Library Aide (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COApril 4, 2018
As an aide, I recognized objectively how important my work (shelving materials, organizing areas, helping patrons, etc) was to keeping the library running effectively. However, the work was very simple and monotonous. Although everyone was nice, no was particularly enthused about their job unless they were in a higher position of power. Additionally, there is no trust or responsibility given to lower level employees despite ability.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Lead Experience
Lead C.N.A/Activity Assistant (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COMarch 12, 2018
I was a team leader and activity assistant and took care of participants that would come into our program, this was a great team-focused work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  aurora, coMarch 9, 2018
Gained a lot of knowledge from my supervisor.

Worked with a lot of bright and helpful professionals.

The benefits were great, and the environment was productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun summer memories
GUEST SERVICE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COFebruary 20, 2018
While working for the city, I gained a lot of experiences. The people you work with are very fun and knowledgeable, the management isn't the best at times.
Pros
Awesome coworkers
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Aurora
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Aurora, COFebruary 6, 2018
On a typical work day I solve problems for various projects. I learn how to work on a team. My manager is amazing. The workplace environment is excellent.
Pros
Great Benefits & Coworkers
Cons
Lower than Market Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Aurora, CO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 72 reviews
525
422
317
23
15

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

City of Aurora, CO Reviews by Location