City of Charlotte, NC Employee Reviews

Showing all 153 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are a woman in IT, not a good place to work
Strategic Business Solutions Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 16, 2019
I worked at the City of Charlotte for over 10 years in IT.
The Ole Boy Network existed.
Guys got to do whatever they wanted.
Women were not promoted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning environment
Bus Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 2, 2019
The rules are all over the place and there is no effective communication and the Supervisors are leading the managers. This could be an excellent place to work for if there was more consistency and order.
Pros
Benefits and Job Security
Cons
Policy and rules change depending on who yiu are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
STS Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 21, 2019
great pay great benefits a lot of rules and you are responsible for the elderly and the handi cap . also must be able to follow directions but look out for some of the management team they can be dirty
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity if you make it through the algorithm
Elected to Charlotte City Council (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 18, 2019
It is difficult to identify employment opportunities with-in the City of Charlotte as many departments have individual Human Resources
staff oppose to a centralized system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Experience
Chief Procurement Officer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 15, 2019
CATS is a horrible department ran by self-serving racist individuals with no ties to NC other than it being another step in their career. I do not recommend anyone working for CATS.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
N/A (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 6, 2019
Hire better quality of Management with great qualifications. Not just people who want the job title and money and don't do what it takes to have it. Hire professional people not people who thrive off of drama.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Business Systems Specialist (Current Employee) –  NCFebruary 14, 2019
Not what I thought it was going to be, I was told one thing and it ended up being something totally different. Just be honest with your employers that will help
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Boards Clerk (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 30, 2019
I was given responsibility to perform my job in the manner I considered most efficient. Direction was given when needed. Work environment was very pleasant with an excellent supervisor.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at Work
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 27, 2019
I believe there is always room for improvement on any job on all levels. If everyone does their part the company would go smoother. The hardest part of my job is traffic.I do enjoy working with all people of different walks of life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Administrative Officer I (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 7, 2019
this is a great place to work
Work Schedule Monday through Friday
Dependable
The most enjoyable part of my job was my coworkers. team environment.
Care about their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and fast paced place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 30, 2018
The benefits for what I do are great, however the working conditions in my department aren’t the best. There is definite room for improvement! Would recommend only for the pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Project management (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 26, 2018
Excellent flexibility and plenty of opportunity in the City of Charlotte. Great diverse group of people whom have a wealth of experience to learn from and grow with.
Pros
Flex time
Cons
Lower pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shop inviorment
Parts Clerk (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 15, 2018
i loved it and would love to go back or work for the city of charlotte again. Everyone was nice and treated eachother like family. i have eveything to to say about them and nothing bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Survey Technician (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 12, 2018
Great job for work and life. hours are always guarenteed . paid holidays from the first day, and they dont over work you, working for the city is a great opportunity
Pros
work gear
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior OD & Change Management Consultant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 5, 2018
The City of Charlotte is going through a lot of leadership transition due to retirements, resignations, promotions, etc. It still remains a place with with inspirational goals and great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging career.
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 5, 2018
I've been with the city for over 21 years and glad to have started when I did back in the 90's. It's a different world now and thankfully I'm close to retirement.
Pros
benefits
Cons
work hours and dealing with the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to meet new people everyday.
Shuttle Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 22, 2018
I enjoyed meeting people. They airport was really nice too! Upper management in certain departments (shuttle bus) needs work. It's very hard to move up if certain people in upper management does not like you!
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Of Charlotte
NEW ACCOUNT SERVICES (UST) (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 19, 2018
One's opinion working for local government is great, but all depends on which division. In my current role its seem pigeon hole, where a ton of hiring is base off nepotism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Service Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 14, 2018
The city offers great benefits. Within the city there are several divisions/ departments, for example: Police, Fire, Water, Solid Waste, 311, etc...
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No room for growth within Department
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 13, 2018
This job requires a lot of hard work and adapting to the weather , you're required to work rain or shine . at times it's very dirty and nasty , at the tome I worked there the pay was low considering all the responsibilities that I had driving a garbage truck .
Pros
good steady job
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Charlotte, NC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 153 reviews
558
450
332
210
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

City of Charlotte, NC Reviews by Location