City of Cleveland, OH Employee Reviews

Showing all 151 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hours went by once working started
Labor Worker (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 14, 2018
There was a lot of favoritism and the director of public works and management were cut throat. Overall I love the skills I learned. Seasonal workers worked hard are rarely are given the opportunity to be hired. I liked the comradery I had with my coworkers but not foremans
Pros
Skills that were learned there
Cons
They keep you at seasonal management is cut throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, collaborative yet competitive, fun environment
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHSeptember 23, 2018
A typical day work would involve interaction with children. With this experience I learned to fulfill the needs of others by being selfless. The management was awesome, very understanding. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and interacting with new children every week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of Cleveland ems
Emd (Former Employee) –  ClevelandSeptember 14, 2018
Work likes slaves and treat like dogs. Lie about pay. Rude. The sgt are great but that commissioner is a joke. They say communicate and they will help but when I did I was fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud of City
Assistant Commissioner (Former Employee) –  Finance/ Assessments & LicensesAugust 21, 2018
I am proud to work for the City of Cleveland. Serving others is what I enjoy most about working for the City of Cleveland. I have learned a great deal
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible Management
Lifegaurd (Current Employee) –  OHAugust 15, 2018
Terrible management. They don't inform their workers of the schedule then blame the problem on you. Some regional are just rude and ignorant people. They're a very unorganized company. The only good thing about them is the pay rate.
Pros
Pay rate
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dangerous, and unsanitary work enviroment
Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  13000 ontarioAugust 14, 2018
It took great discipline to work for this company all those years.Working in this type of environment isn't conducive for everyone,because your emotions are consistently being tested.The workplace culture is almost always negative with practically no encouragement for the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
city of cleveland (Former Employee) –  City of Cleveland, OHJuly 24, 2018
got tired of it and being in a cubicle and also stressed out and working multiple shifts like first second and thirdoff and on for 17 years and have to miss my family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Office Aide (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 17, 2018
I loved it so much it was really fun the ppl were great everything was great I would recommend anyone working there to just enjoy it because it’s amazing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 10, 2018
Love my job. Training was good. Coworkers are good to work with.Get good hours. Good health care. Also have a union. Good retirement plan. I get vacation, and sick time
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Truck breaks down often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in Cleveland Housing Court
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cleveland Housing CourtMay 2, 2018
I work in the Cleveland Housing Court. Sometimes you intertwine with different types of people having issues with housing, evictions, etc. At times, it can be very difficult and sometimes the outcome of issues can be resolved.
Pros
breaks, can go outside for lunch
Cons
sometimes stressful days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Project Coordinator/Prevailing Wage Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 2, 2018
I have learned a lot since being employed for the City of Cleveland. My computer skills have improved tremendously. Office parties are the norm here which make working here a treat.
Pros
Fun
Cons
People are afraid to share their knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enviorment was relax and fun
Truck Driver Snow Removal (Former Employee) –  Lorain StationApril 30, 2018
Really enjoyed working for the City of Cleveland, steady work. First shift and second shift supervisor was very fair. I would recommend my friends to apply and work for the city of Cleveland.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work the staff was like family
Corrections Officer/Corporal (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 5, 2018
The House of Corrections was a excellent place to work. The staff was easy to work with we all worked together as a team. I would still be with them if they were not closing.
Pros
good communication skills
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for the City of Cleveland
Redevelopment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 30, 2018
I worked for the City of Cleveland over 30 years. I met a lot of people and was able to advance in my career. I enjoyed the work environment. I had excellent benefits.
Pros
location
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Assistant Commissioner (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 22, 2018
A typical day included planning, project review, work assignments, budgeting, corporate meetings and site visits. Daily interaction with community and social events.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Employment Specialist/Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 19, 2018
Consistent and set according to guidelines set by state learning how to balance various personalities among customers and clients seeking more information regarding employment requirements and needs,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sysytems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 27, 2018
it was 8 hours a day.
taking care of billing data.
we had new billing system Called CC&B.
it was good system.
We had water &Sewer billing and stormwater and as well as garbage pickup system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my work, not so much with management
Budget Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 22, 2018
Lack of organization. Management has change frequently in the last 10 years. Lack of productivity. Love my work, not too happy with management. The hardest part of my job is having work ethic and management having lack of it.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
New management not adhering to in place procedures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Water pipe repairman (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 19, 2018
If you enjoy working to make your city better this is the place for you. Love working outside and interacting with the public. Management puts you in a place to advance and succeed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Waste Collector (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 9, 2018
I like the jib a lot it was a good paying job and it was fun. Nice management and great workers. We got holiday pau and paid vacation. It was a nice overall job and I liked it alot
Pros
Great job
Cons
Great job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Cleveland, OH. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 151 reviews
568
449
321
29
14

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

City of Cleveland, OH Reviews by Location