City of Cleveland, OH Employee Reviews

Showing all 144 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
city of cleveland (Former Employee) –  City of Cleveland, OHJuly 24, 2018
got tired of it and being in a cubicle and also stressed out and working multiple shifts like first second and thirdoff and on for 17 years and have to miss my family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 10, 2018
Love my job. Training was good. Coworkers are good to work with.Get good hours. Good health care. Also have a union. Good retirement plan. I get vacation, and sick time
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Truck breaks down often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day in Cleveland Housing Court
Administrative Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cleveland Housing CourtMay 2, 2018
I work in the Cleveland Housing Court. Sometimes you intertwine with different types of people having issues with housing, evictions, etc. At times, it can be very difficult and sometimes the outcome of issues can be resolved.
Pros
breaks, can go outside for lunch
Cons
sometimes stressful days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Project Coordinator/Prevailing Wage Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 2, 2018
I have learned a lot since being employed for the City of Cleveland. My computer skills have improved tremendously. Office parties are the norm here which make working here a treat.
Pros
Fun
Cons
People are afraid to share their knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enviorment was relax and fun
Truck Driver Snow Removal (Former Employee) –  Lorain StationApril 30, 2018
Really enjoyed working for the City of Cleveland, steady work. First shift and second shift supervisor was very fair. I would recommend my friends to apply and work for the city of Cleveland.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work the staff was like family
Corrections Officer/Corporal (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHApril 5, 2018
The House of Corrections was a excellent place to work. The staff was easy to work with we all worked together as a team. I would still be with them if they were not closing.
Pros
good communication skills
Cons
overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for the City of Cleveland
Redevelopment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 30, 2018
I worked for the City of Cleveland over 30 years. I met a lot of people and was able to advance in my career. I enjoyed the work environment. I had excellent benefits.
Pros
location
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting place to work
Assistant Commissioner (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 22, 2018
A typical day included planning, project review, work assignments, budgeting, corporate meetings and site visits. Daily interaction with community and social events.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Employment Specialist/Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMarch 19, 2018
Consistent and set according to guidelines set by state learning how to balance various personalities among customers and clients seeking more information regarding employment requirements and needs,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sysytems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 27, 2018
it was 8 hours a day.
taking care of billing data.
we had new billing system Called CC&B.
it was good system.
We had water &Sewer billing and stormwater and as well as garbage pickup system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my work, not so much with management
Budget Analyst (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 22, 2018
Lack of organization. Management has change frequently in the last 10 years. Lack of productivity. Love my work, not too happy with management. The hardest part of my job is having work ethic and management having lack of it.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
New management not adhering to in place procedures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Water pipe repairman (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 19, 2018
If you enjoy working to make your city better this is the place for you. Love working outside and interacting with the public. Management puts you in a place to advance and succeed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Waste Collector (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 9, 2018
I like the jib a lot it was a good paying job and it was fun. Nice management and great workers. We got holiday pau and paid vacation. It was a nice overall job and I liked it alot
Pros
Great job
Cons
Great job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Financial Counselor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 21, 2018
Typical work day stressful.
No support from management.
Workplace culture lacks responsibility and accountability
Hardest part of the job, working to full potential with minimal training and resources.
The most enjoyable part of the job was decompressing on my ride home.
Pros
Health benefits
Cons
Lack of support from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Assistant Administrator Prevailing Wages (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 11, 2018
The City of Cleveland offers terrific medical benefits. the City of Cleveland is an government entity located and serves the greater Cleveland area. I work 40 hours a week and my primary duties include prevailing wage activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice to work for the city of cleveland.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 8, 2018
A typical day is when I'm cleaning my building and a Superviser comes to my building and ask me if i can go to another building and clean it to. What I learned from working for the City of Cleveland is a person can make their job need them. Yes, the City of Cleveland has work place culture, you can learn from others ,which has made me a better person. The hardest part of my job was watching men and women serve the City of Cleveland and not be appreciated. Management worked the hardest due to so many employees retireing. The hardest part of the job was trying to do everything perfect. But I enjoyed it.The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to create a clean enviroment for the men and women in blue.
Pros
Feeling safe and long breaks
Cons
sometime it would be to cold inside due to the airconditio
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Special Place to Work
Deputy Budget Administrator (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJanuary 5, 2018
You must have thick skin and be able to work well with others in a diverse environment. You may have to work in the elements or work with the community. Overall I love my coworkers and what I do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enough work to fill the day
City Operattions (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 22, 2017
Getting to interact with many different people during the day.

Working with interesting people.

Hardest part of the job in OPS was animal control, not my favorite

job when it came to skunk removal.
Pros
Meeting interesting people
Cons
Occasional long work days (double shifts)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive
Lifeguard - Cudell Recreation Center (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 17, 2017
Summers as a lifeguard are enjoyable. You get to watch over people and meet new people all the time. You get to talk, be interactive and most importantly make sure people are safe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for the City Of Cleveland
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHDecember 7, 2017
Enjoyed being seasonal supervisor, we were outside daily going to different areas on the west side of Cleveland cleaning and picking up debris from the parks cul-de-sac and vacant lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Cleveland, OH. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 146 reviews
565
448
321
29
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

City of Cleveland, OH Reviews by Location