City of Cleveland Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 21 reviews
Ratings breakdown
58
44
37
21
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 21 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place toe work
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 10, 2018
I like working here. Plan to continue to work here. Good benefits. Work hours good. Good Insurance. Pay us good. Good coworkers stays busy. Good training.
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Trucks break down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strongly enforce training classes
Activities Therapist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 6, 2018
Cheerful, friendly and helplful at the local level.
Good inter working with students as well with the teachers.
The manager was helpful and friendly to work with the students and teachers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love the city of Cleveland, TN
Animal Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TNMay 21, 2018
Its been a long time but I love my job working for the city of Cleveland. In the past and during my time, employees were taken very good care of. Great retirement plan. Enjoyed my years there.
Pros
Great benefits and retirement
Cons
Great amount of personl discipline is required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Highland Hills, OHFebruary 10, 2018
A typical day a work is consists on greeting people in the morning. Looking forward to getting my work done in a timely matter and going home on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Seasonal supervisor cutting grass (Former Employee) –  PLATT DIVISION 68 QUINICYNovember 20, 2017
Nice place to work enjoyed being a supervisor the pay wasn t the greatest the bad thing about it was that it was only seasonal and you had a long vaction 7 months
Pros
Drove around in a city truck
Cons
Did not get city benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love Cleveland and everything about it!
Cleveland Police Officer (Former Employee) –  1300 Ontario StreetJuly 11, 2017
Working for the Cleveland Police Department was not only rewarding but I would have done it for free! I loved it that much! Even though I worked in the poorest, most crime ridden area per capita, I met tons of wonderful people! I can't say enough about it!
Cons
Crime rate in Cleveland proper.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice clean ran place
General Labor (Current Employee) –  Cleveland msMay 17, 2017
I love going to work for the city. They have a very good Inc. And if you be there long a good retirement system set for you. The job ain't hard at. You get to see the hole townand see how wonderful your town is
Pros
Hour lunch break
Cons
Cant drive heavy machine
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very dangerous inmates, political nepitism,untrained personel & staff
Correction Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Highland Hills, OHAugust 22, 2016
new career needed retired due to dangerous health environment and departmental ,no officer training or inmate orientation with unexperienced & untrained supervision
Pros
lunchbreak is not guaranteed
Cons
consistent holdovers to rotating shifts, terrible breathing atmosphere, violent inmates no officer training towards inmates & officers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Cleveland Police Department Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, TXFebruary 15, 2016
No chance for advancement. City did below 3.2% COLA last two years and no raises for anybody. Company does not treat all employees the same. There are zero protocols. City does notice employees. Very negative environment.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government jobs are nice but does not provide much career growth opportunities
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  601 lakeside avenueOctober 15, 2015
A typical day would include dispatching repair orders for Street lighting and security light outages.
Following up on lighting installation projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience filled
POLICE OFFICER (Current Employee) –  CITYSeptember 26, 2014
Being a police officer in cleveland is definitely a learning experience. You deal with a wide variety of people and a wide variety of obstacles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy days several times a month
Accounting Clerk, Assistant City Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, MOJune 3, 2014
Water billing once a month. Water cut off once a month.
Log traffic citations
Accounts payable/receivable
Cons
no insurance or sick time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy EMS Location
Paramedic Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TXFebruary 6, 2014
Busy station with many types of calls. A lot of variety depending on weather, time of year, and the culture that would bleed out from the Houston area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Of Cleveland
Water Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TXAugust 7, 2013
Was a great place to work for, I just took an opportunity that paid more money, so I could better support my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job. Rewarding from the community.
School crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, TNJuly 31, 2013
I like being on time to get everything set up properly. I learned to be watchful and carefu l for the safety of the public and for myself. Unfortunantly i work by my self but occassionaly i work at another school with other crossing guards if they need help.The hardest part of my job really is just slowing traffic down and making sure they stop for all pedestrians. This is usually stessful but everything works out good at the end of the day. The most enjoyable part of my job is just making sure people and children are safe and this very rewarding to me. My job is very rewarding because people of the community really appreciate what i do for them. This is a good feeling.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you like to work hard.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Parks Maintenance BuildingsApril 19, 2013
Managed & directed 35 full-time and 100 part-time workers. Completed daily, weekly and monthly reports. Answered complaints from citizens, council and the mayor.
I enjoyed working with people and being able to solve problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Educational
Water Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Cleveland TxOctober 15, 2012
Proper management, and the tools needed to get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government job with many unique tasks
Director Of Information Processing (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 26, 2012
writing many bib orders for various type of computer equipment, desigining computerized systems from scratch, meeting with a lot of vendors, developing project management controls were essential to our success.
Pros
never a dull day
Cons
under appreciated by other departments in city
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very positive people
Accountant III (Former Employee) –  OHJuly 16, 2012
Assist in production financial reports.
lots auditing techniques.
very helpful supervisors.
great people to work with.
no over time.
chance to learn and experience various programming and accounting software.
Pros
good people
Cons
city goverment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work load
Assistant Administrator ( (Current Employee) –  City of Cleveland, 1300 Lakeside AvenJune 19, 2012
I am the claim coordinator for Worker Compensation, hearing officer for pre-disciplinary action and the payroll supervisor
Pros
great benefits
Cons
looking for part time work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Cleveland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.7Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight