City of Cleveland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
greta job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHOctober 5, 2018
it was a greta experience working for the city of cleveland i was a seasonal working wouldnt work as a seasonal again would have to be more perm....some of the supervisors are nice though i guess like any other job i would like to see more woman being hired in by the city of cleveland
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is interesting working with residents and agencies in the community.
Asian Liaison (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 29, 2018
There are no two days alike with this job, which is one of the main reasons why I enjoy the work because I am constantly learning, creating, problem solving and adjusting to the needs of the residents and local stakeholders. Being challenged on a constant basis, builds not only one's ability, but also one's true character.
Pros
Able to initiate projects that benefits area residents.
Cons
Lack of support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud of the City
Business Process Analyst, (Current Employee) –  Public Utilities/IT/Project ManagementAugust 21, 2018
I am proud to work for the City of Cleveland. Serving others is what I enjoy most about my job. I have and continue to learn a great deal in my current position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for employment stability
Data Conversion Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHAugust 5, 2018
Hectic work environment. Diverse workforce.
Learned to prioritize. Hardest was working with extremely difficult job demands. Enjoyable was in a small way contributing to the community.
Pros
Challenging
Cons
Unusually stressful daily job requirements and demands
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Assistant Manager/Recreation Instructor/Play (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 30, 2018
If you enjoy working with children and participating in sports programs the City of Cleveland Department of Recreation is where you want to be. Being able to help youth experience n environment were they can develop teamwork is great
Pros
Benefits
Cons
the hours are rough for anyone with a family 11:30 - 800pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lunch Monitor (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 24, 2018
Learned to properly temp food when distributing to large amount of people. The best part of working with summer lunch is because I feel good knowing that I have fed children.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place toe work
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 10, 2018
I like working here. Plan to continue to work here. Good benefits. Work hours good. Good Insurance. Pay us good. Good coworkers stays busy. Good training.
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Trucks break down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strongly enforce training classes
Activities Therapist (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJune 6, 2018
Cheerful, friendly and helplful at the local level.
Good inter working with students as well with the teachers.
The manager was helpful and friendly to work with the students and teachers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love the city of Cleveland, TN
Animal Control Officer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TNMay 21, 2018
Its been a long time but I love my job working for the city of Cleveland. In the past and during my time, employees were taken very good care of. Great retirement plan. Enjoyed my years there.
Pros
Great benefits and retirement
Cons
Great amount of personl discipline is required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  Highland Hills, OHFebruary 10, 2018
A typical day a work is consists on greeting people in the morning. Looking forward to getting my work done in a timely matter and going home on time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Seasonal supervisor cutting grass (Former Employee) –  PLATT DIVISION 68 QUINICYNovember 20, 2017
Nice place to work enjoyed being a supervisor the pay wasn t the greatest the bad thing about it was that it was only seasonal and you had a long vaction 7 months
Pros
Drove around in a city truck
Cons
Did not get city benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love Cleveland and everything about it!
Cleveland Police Officer (Former Employee) –  1300 Ontario StreetJuly 11, 2017
Working for the Cleveland Police Department was not only rewarding but I would have done it for free! I loved it that much! Even though I worked in the poorest, most crime ridden area per capita, I met tons of wonderful people! I can't say enough about it!
Cons
Crime rate in Cleveland proper.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice clean ran place
General Labor (Current Employee) –  Cleveland msMay 17, 2017
I love going to work for the city. They have a very good Inc. And if you be there long a good retirement system set for you. The job ain't hard at. You get to see the hole townand see how wonderful your town is
Pros
Hour lunch break
Cons
Cant drive heavy machine
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very dangerous inmates, political nepitism,untrained personel & staff
Correction Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Highland Hills, OHAugust 22, 2016
new career needed retired due to dangerous health environment and departmental ,no officer training or inmate orientation with unexperienced & untrained supervision
Pros
lunchbreak is not guaranteed
Cons
consistent holdovers to rotating shifts, terrible breathing atmosphere, violent inmates no officer training towards inmates & officers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Cleveland Police Department Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, TXFebruary 15, 2016
No chance for advancement. City did below 3.2% COLA last two years and no raises for anybody. Company does not treat all employees the same. There are zero protocols. City does notice employees. Very negative environment.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government jobs are nice but does not provide much career growth opportunities
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  601 lakeside avenueOctober 15, 2015
A typical day would include dispatching repair orders for Street lighting and security light outages.
Following up on lighting installation projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience filled
POLICE OFFICER (Current Employee) –  CITYSeptember 26, 2014
Being a police officer in cleveland is definitely a learning experience. You deal with a wide variety of people and a wide variety of obstacles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy days several times a month
Accounting Clerk, Assistant City Clerk (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, MOJune 3, 2014
Water billing once a month. Water cut off once a month.
Log traffic citations
Accounts payable/receivable
Cons
no insurance or sick time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy EMS Location
Paramedic Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TXFebruary 6, 2014
Busy station with many types of calls. A lot of variety depending on weather, time of year, and the culture that would bleed out from the Houston area.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Of Cleveland
Water Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TXAugust 7, 2013
Was a great place to work for, I just took an opportunity that paid more money, so I could better support my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Cleveland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 27 reviews
512
44
37
21
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.0

1.7Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

1.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight