City of Colorado Springs, CO Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well definned work space and responsibilities
Assistant ADA Title II Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJune 19, 2018
I enjoyed my year with the risk management department of Colorado Springs. my position was a Intern through the Federal work study. if given the opportunity, I would gladly return.
Pros
30 minute lunch
Cons
flexibility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colo spgs
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJune 18, 2018
Good city very high amount of cyber and defense contracting work. Not a lot of room to explore without a DOD clearance or military background. Overall good city and jobs are there just a little harder to find.
Pros
401k, benefits
Cons
worklife balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun way to put a smile on the communities face
Mission Possible Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJune 11, 2018
Since this was a Mission Trip it was a lot of hard work but all-in-all it came out as a beneficial experience. We did so many activities that really helped us reach out to the community and truly rethink our lives as individuals and how fortunate we are. I have done this mission trip for 3 years now and I learn something new and helpful every time.
Pros
Free lunch, Fun experience, Great Workers
Cons
Sleeping in a church basement during the trip
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security.
Account Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMay 17, 2018
once your in with the city you can move around to all different career opportunities. Lots of information on to move up in career. Opportunities available if you seek them.
Pros
perfect hours.
Cons
layoffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there until division was outsorced
Field mechanic (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMay 11, 2018
Learned to work on heavy equipment had lots of training both for the work and for life.Learned about new machines that were coming out
when a new unit came in there was lots of training so we were ready
when we had to diagnose problems pay was good and loved to come
to work every day.
Pros
Good pay Good work enviroment
Cons
7/24 call out.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family owned mfg of wood windows and doors
Personnel Director (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COApril 29, 2018
Interfaced with employees and management to maintain an effective employee relations program.

Developed a Safety Program.

Administered personnel functions at off-site locations.

Seasonal business that layed off employees in December

Enjoyed opportunity to Direct HR Department
Pros
Enjoyed professional opportunity
Cons
Got layed off after busy season
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tourist advocate for the city of colorado springs,co.
Tourist Guide (Former Employee) –  COLORADO SPRINGS, COApril 1, 2018
Letting the customers know all about The Pikes Peak region, places to go,visit and giving them the guides and booklets, maps to help enjoy and relish the region........
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Service Writer (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMarch 20, 2018
fun awesome work place
everyone gets along and has a great time doing the jobs they are there for.
would certainly work here again.
great guys and everything all around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air Force
Cyber Systems Operator (Former Employee) –  Peterson AFB, COMarch 8, 2018
It was an excellent experience. The United States Air Force taught me a lot about integrity, excellence, and to put my service before myself. I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to have served.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping citizens and the community
Senior Economic Development Analyst (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 21, 2018
Working for the city is a great honor. Though resources are often thin, everyone works very hard and cares about their level of work and detail. Having a great Mayor helps too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Struggling Company
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 21, 2018
rewarding work with low benefits and pay, this is not actually about Colorado Springs, that is a place and not a company, I hope someone reviews and catches this error.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Programmer Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 13, 2018
Was there on a temporary assignment.
We had a very small team. My mentor from my previous job had retired and worked there as a consultant and invited me to come work with her,
It was a great few years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Team Lead, Conduent (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 12, 2018
This is a good company to work for, if you are a beginner in customer service, the company is currently under new mangement so its alot diffrent now..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment
System Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 8, 2018
* Work on daily assigned tasks
* Field survey with GPS systems
* Co workers were great and eager to help
* Management was always present and working on projects as well
Pros
relaxed environment
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COS was a great place to work.
SPORTS OFFICE ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 7, 2018
liked working in the sports office, everyone was great people. I loved that it was something different every single day and new faces to see as parents came in to register their children for sports.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to work
Sales Representative/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COFebruary 1, 2018
really nice place to work . loce the environment and the people that work there. nice pay with great benefits but the cooperate office is really bad about giving your over time pay and holiday pay on the next paycheck like they are supposed ot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physical job
PT Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJanuary 22, 2018
At this job you have to be someone who can work with their hands and that's what I loved about it because you are outside doing manual labor and its a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Experience for Interns
GIS INTERNSHIP (Current Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJanuary 9, 2018
The atmosphere of working at the city is cheerful and optimistic, they provide lots of opportunity for learning and experiencing different facets of an office-dweller's life. The hardest part of the job would be the waiting time between assignments, but it's very fulfilling when you receive praise from other departments because of the work you've completed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Systems Administrator II (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COJanuary 6, 2018
DOD-centric poor management. The management has no clue how to implement projects in a timely fashion, keep projects under budget or how to even cost out a project.

Favoritism, nepotism and cronyism are at every turn you see.
Pros
Management is never there because they do not work a full day.
Cons
Bad managment which creates a very toxic work environment and a high turn-over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Colorado
Senior Quality Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Carson, CONovember 22, 2017
Colorado is a great place to live and work. The economy is growing and the state supports it's self with depending on the military. This is a place where alot of military retire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Colorado Springs, CO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 105 reviews
547
431
319
24
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture