City of Columbia, SC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So glad I left!
Officer (Former Employee) –  scApril 7, 2018
I did not enjoy being there for the most part I was in the same position for years it did not have an opportunity to advance even though I've been on countless interviews nothing fell through
Pros
Over time
Cons
No opportunity for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work because we believe in servicing the public.
Columbia (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCFebruary 21, 2018
I work in property management so it is a pleasure to help people get affordable housing. A lot of people don't know that Columbia offer affordable housing.
Pros
You get to help people.
Cons
We should get paid more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
TRAINING COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCFebruary 5, 2018
Overall the City of Columbia is a great place to be employed. Especially if you are looking for long term goals as far as retirement. I am currently looking for something new in my career field and/or within a new state.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace workplace
911 Telecommunicator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 19, 2018
As a employee for 911 communications it is a demanding job and it's not built for anyone. This job takes dedication and determination as well. You have to stay strong minded to get through any type of call you may receive. You never know what you have to deal with when you answer the phone or if you are dispatching to the appropriate agency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 18, 2018
It's a nice place of employment. Friendly employees and supervisor. Been working here for 7 plus years very organized placed to work with alot of smiling faces
Pros
Christmas parties
Cons
Short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but has slow days
Bid Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 3, 2018
The work can be productive at times. Not too challenging but the people are fun to work with. My supervisor is more laid back than most but some them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Kennel Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 22, 2017
Animal Services is full of drama and poor management. When you have 4 bosses and they all disagree with eachother. Even making expletive comments about eachother to employees...Everyone is overworked and underpaid. Management does not treat employees fairly and does not listen. Unfair and unjust treatment full of drama. Run away!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Customer Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 14, 2017
Wonderful Place to work
Wonderful place to work
Wonderful customer service
Excellent benefits
Would Recommend to everyone
Wonderful place for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are good to work with
Water Distribution Operator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 4, 2017
Go to work find out were to go and what you will be doing. The storys everyone tels, trying not to rip out cables or gas or swaste water lines.operating dump truck and back hoes and mimi excervaters.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the only thing that i can really educate myself to learn from
City Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCNovember 30, 2017
well its alot of good details that i had to get used to and i just want the best out of things so far as trying to work here i want to manage to have more skills while having this type of job and i hope that yall can accept me of working here and i agree on alot of things yall have set up its understandable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Finance/Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 28, 2017
I liked working there. I would recommend it to others. My supervisor was amazing. She really looks after her employees and wants you to be the best. My coworkers were a great help and made you feel like you were apart of the City of Columbia family.
Pros
Management
Cons
Time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Help Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCOctober 1, 2017
Management lets system admins with no people skills run the help desk.

The pay is below standard.

the hours are really good and there is a lit of flexibility with time management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very challenging work place
Water Meter Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCSeptember 28, 2017
My experience working with the City of Columbia has been and still is great. I really enjoy the people I work for and with. The job is kind of dangerous and a lot can happen, but the City of Columbia is big on safety. In closing I would recommend working at the City of Columbia to anyone.
Pros
Working by myself
Cons
Political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work area
Telecommunicator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 29, 2017
I feel as though being the position that I am in that there should be more of recognize for what the 911 dispatchers do. We operate on a 12 hour period which can be stressful and dominating at some times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace with ping pong table & pool table
Summer Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 28, 2017
I learned that kids will be kids regardless and patience is key in working in any job but especially in this one. It was fun, it was challenging, but I enjoyed my job.
Pros
Great People, Went to Pool Every Friday
Cons
On Feet All Day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Accounting Manager (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 21, 2017
Working for the City is great! The city has excellent benefits and generally takes care of it's employees. There are plenty of opportunities if you take advantage of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Workplace
Laborer (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 16, 2017
The City of Columbia is a great company to work for. This is a good company for learning. Its an equal opportunity employer. The only drawback is some workers are very uneducated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commercial Loan Officer
Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 15, 2017
My work days are great. I enjoy helping new business get loans and achieve their goals. Its a blessing to help minority businesses in the City of Columbia.
Pros
Meeting new people
Cons
Prefer a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
WCS (Former Employee) –  Columbia SCAugust 13, 2017
Working at the City used to be a good dependable job that rewarded hard work. You are not compensated for the amount of work that you do and the good buddy system is in effect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Vehicle Mechanic 2 (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCAugust 8, 2017
i like the city of columbia is a great place to work at i have been there for 5yr. They have great management and great team work. the city columbia offer good benefits but the pay doesnt change there are no raises.
Pros
Great establishments
Cons
theres no pay raise not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Columbia, SC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 63 reviews
522
416
316
25
14

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

City of Columbia, SC Reviews by Location