CITY OF DECATUR Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job!
Children's and Youth Services (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAJune 12, 2018
I love my job! It's an amazing environment. Chill and relaxed. If you do not like kids then this is not the job for you! Only thing is you're standing pretty much for hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Counselor (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAApril 27, 2018
if you like working with kids on a day to day basics this is surly the job for you. The program is full of joyful kids ready to be active and follow your lead.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall enjoyed the time there
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILApril 6, 2018
good place to work.


enjoyed the comradery. all for one, one for all.

overall experience was good. some ups and downs over 30 years

is this enough typing
Pros
pay and benefits good
Cons
some incompetency in management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  DeKalb County, GAMarch 15, 2018
Not coordinated properly. Never accurate communication.no confidential conversations.Personal information not kept confidential. Only one person allowed to have opinion.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Not respected . lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and competitive environment.
Decatur (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAMarch 14, 2018
City Of Decatur is one of the most competent municipalities/government I have ever worked for. Their loyalty not only to employees but contractors as well and the city's ability to be progressive in technology makes them top choice of entity I want to work.
Pros
Great environmental and staff. Competitive compensation
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced government job
Building Inspector (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALMarch 6, 2018
It's a decent place to work. Not much of a chance of advancement. It's a government job and I was told to take it easy, find a girlfriend or something to kill some time. That has been many years ago; hopefully, that mindset has changed.
Pros
Full benefits
Cons
government bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILFebruary 21, 2018
This was a high level stress job, and it was common place for people to be moody. I think because people were under so much stress, the trust level was very low. I stayed for 16 years, it paid the bills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what it should be
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAJanuary 31, 2018
Hire people with bachelors degrees for low wage job as baby sitter and disguise it with the name counselor. Only allowed to take 3 days off for the school year but then when you want to they get upset. Gossiping is constant, management is disrespectful to counselors. Have to wear ugly city of Decatur shirts. Kids are outside most of the time so if it's freezing you have to be outside and if its scorching hot. Throw counselor appreciation parties and then give us gifts like book bags that break in a month. They thought they were helping us by giving us a 1 dollar raise. Hires mostly african american staff because they think black people can't get a better job but upper management is white.
Pros
free snacks
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and rewarding
Crossing guard (Current Employee) –  Decatur, GAJanuary 15, 2018
I really enjoy my job but wish their were more hours. it make me feel good to know I'm making sure these kids get to school safely in the morning and evening
Pros
pay
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management,
Equipment Operator II (Former Employee) –  1802 central pky sw 35601January 13, 2018
Benefits are good, employees are great people to work with, good equipment to work with,great work schedule, very stressful place to work, management is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Utility Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ILNovember 30, 2017
good pay, fast pace, very busy, have to learn quickly, enjoyable place to work, good people to work with, union job, with good benefits, good retirement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being a temporary at the city is hard
Grounds Worker (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILOctober 19, 2017
Lots of hard work for little pay there's constant talk behind people backs and people get hurt all the time i've don't have any other opinions so I just keep going in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Correctional Officer (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALSeptember 13, 2017
The City of Decatur was great to work for. They have great benefits and there is a lot of room for advancement. They also give you an opportunity to change departments if you want to do that as well.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILAugust 28, 2017
Professionalism takes a back seat to employment security. There is a lack of desire to advance technology and development for the benefit of the taxpayers and the people that we served.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
service
Officer (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALJuly 12, 2017
enforcing the law helping citizens,knowing how people live.daily meetings to update service,the hardest part about the job not enough hours to help. helping a community has its rewards.
Pros
meeting good people
Cons
finding away to get them the best way to live
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I absolutely loved this job!
Communication Specialist (Former Employee) –  Decatur, TXMay 23, 2017
The environment was like being around family. Everyone was so friendly and helped each other when needed. There were awesome benefits. Everyone knew they were appreciated. The job could be very stressful at times, but it was worth it.
Pros
benefits and the people
Cons
having to takes all breaks at your desk, stress of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Finance Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Decatur, ALNovember 27, 2016
Quality benefits, time off, hours are okay. The employees of the genuinely love what they do and have the best interest of the City as their number one priority.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
The continual change of who is in charge
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Decatur, INJuly 19, 2016
I was just there for seasonal summer help. It was fun to work and always got to do something else. If you didn't get your task done it was no big deal you could finish it the next day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was not very fun
Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILMay 23, 2016
it was not very fun and there are alot on men that were perverts and even the foreman was one so i only for to work there for 4 months cause they said that i was not cut out for the position and i know it was because i didnt do or say stupid perveted things t
like they did i was quiet and i stayed to nyself
Pros
good money
Cons
people suck
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Revenue Officer (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAApril 18, 2016
Work all the time. Fast paced.
Learned and trained all the time.
Co workers were nice and helped me a lot. I had a fun time being there and was able to learn and talk to other people
Pros
lunch was not too far
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CITY OF DECATUR. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 33 reviews
59
411
39
24
10

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture