City of Dover Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 11 reviews
Ratings breakdown
53
44
34
20
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 11 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
NH Building Inspector (Former Employee) –  Dover, NHDecember 14, 2017
Great place to work. Once the new upper management has a better understanding of management and Human Resources they will be a great team. The staff is really great to work with. It is a little hard to work in the same department as the Fire and rescue
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great little city to work for
Clerk Typist (Former Employee) –  Dover, NHAugust 19, 2017
Excellent management, lots of opportunity for advancement, great staff, very progressive city and a fun place to work. Everyone always seemed to enjoy their jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Building Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Dover, DE 19901June 13, 2017
Management is great and I enjoy working with the youth!! I am able to work closely with the youth and mentor them in various sports. The most enjoyable part is putting together the various activities and then watching the participants enjoy what we've put together. The workplace environment is great. All workers get along with one another and everyone is down to earth.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work very safe and hard
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Dover DelawareMay 13, 2017
Get to work on time work very hard a happy person that's understandable can com permission have a very big heart very strong beautiful heart a blessed man
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and loved working within the community
City Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Dover, KYFebruary 22, 2015
I worked well with all my co-workers. The hardest part of the day was when others wouldn't do there job. The most enjoyable part would be to interact with the community and see how happy everyone is with the results.
Pros
Had a job.
Cons
Not enough hours, no benifits offered
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and enviroment
Maintenance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dover, NHFebruary 9, 2015
Great place to work with good employees. Hard workers and detail oriented management makes for a very productive work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A demanding job with which i am faced with new challenges everyday
Utility maintenance mechanic 1 (Current Employee) –  Dover, DEMay 6, 2013
My days are usually filled with routine maintenance of equipment,i have learned very useful skills from my co workers as well as my supervisor whom are very knowledgable and helpful.There are really no hard parts to my job and the most enjoyable part would be the satisfaction of accomplishments achieved at the end of the day.
Pros
The hours, benefits and co workers
Cons
Being on call
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work
Transportation Driver (Current Employee) –  Dover, IDJune 21, 2012
One of the perks is you get to meet a lot of differant people while driving a fixed bus route.
Pros
work days are only six/seven hrs long
Cons
needs better between management and drivers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Store Manager
Clerk Typist II (Former Employee) –  Dover, NHMay 25, 2012
If you have an excellent staff, and work ethic, this a great group to join.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The city provides excellent services to its citizens.
Dover, DE (Current Employee) –  Community Development ManagerNovember 9, 2011
The City of Dover in the past has been a wonderful place to work where the majority of the employees would come to work for the city and make it their final career choice and retire due to the relaxed working environment and excellent benefits. In recent months there has been a transition in personnel that has imposed a negative impact on its employees regarding their employment and benefit status.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Dover. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

City of Dover Reviews by Location