City of Durham, NC Employee Reviews

Found 97 reviews matching the search See all 101 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCDecember 9, 2018
NCWorks was a excellent place to work for. Helped guide a lot of people and was resourceful. Wasn’t just a building for job searching, they also helped built resumes, set up on the spot interviews, and etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Senior Utilities Specialist (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCNovember 1, 2018
Drove all day long by myself, I learned nothing except how to drive routes with using a tablet and GPS. Management was not very helpful or even interested in helping employees with personal issues. Everyone is all about themselves it's not a team effort. The hardest part of the job was not giving employees opportunities for advancement or complete mandatory training. Best part about the job is that I was alone by myself all day long.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Attendant, Cashier, Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 31, 2018
i learned CPR First Aid And how to use a AED machine. i also learned skills to save a life in case of a swimming pool accident. you will have benefits and life long skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I recommend working at the city of Durham
Utility Specialist (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 4, 2018
The city of Durham tends to be a very slow environment to work in, then all of a sudden you get plenty of work and you might work a 65 hour week. Great benefits and decent pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
faced paced customer service
Front Desk Attendant/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCOctober 3, 2018
I am the first point of contact as you enter the facility. I check customers into the facility by entering their information into the system. Answer questions regarding he facility programs over the phone and in person. Handle cash drawer making sure all paperwork is equal to drawer. I am also responsible for closing and locking up facility at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Customer Account Representative (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 24, 2018
Policies and procedures could be much better// systems and technology are mediocre

Management and employee relations are horrible
The cons of working for the city of durham : money// work life balance
The pros of working for the city of durham :: hire internally// benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learming experience
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 21, 2018
Great job to learn a particular trade. Howeverit takes year for career advancement. one needs to work multiple jobs to make ends meet after taxes, however , great place for young operators
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Water Treatment Technician (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 19, 2018
It was really nice working for the city of Durham I really was very motivated to come to work everyday and it really was nice ....the workers there were very kind and the work was done as a team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCJune 15, 2018
It was a great experience to work in the city's budget dept. I learned about city government. I met so many wonderful people in other departments also
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work enviorment
Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCMay 9, 2018
What can I say, it is like any other job. you get want you out into it. the most positive is the Great environment - great balance of work and life. The pay might be lower but it about the long haul. Its not short a term job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and informative
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMay 4, 2018
Morning actives included but not limited to entering inspection reports into the computer system and generating notices of violations.Performing daily field inspections for code violations. Communicating with supervisor about any concerns. I have gained experience in learning how the inspection process is implemented in NC. Management and workplace culture are the same as inspection departments in that most individuals are looking to do quality work. There really is no hardest part to work with in this position for me. The most enjoyable part is the results of the process being fair to homeowners and compliance.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy Equipment Operator
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 20, 2018
I enjoyed work with Public Works. I was allowed to learn many new jobs. on any given day I might find myself cleaning out local streams and rivers, or working inside of a storm drain. It was exciting
Pros
many opportunities to advance
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
Facility Engineer / Senior Construction s Engineer (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 17, 2018
Management Meetings
Inspections
Plans Review
Design
Construction Operations
Facility Engineering Review
GSI Location
Multiple Inspections and changing from a variety of general construction projects
Pros
Good Health Care
Cons
Changing Managemnt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and informative, and innovative daily
Senior Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 7, 2018
Typical day starts with a 7AM meeting with all employees. This is were we would plan the days activities in the field. We would prioritize jobs everyday. I have learned a tremendous amount about how city government works and some of the endless amounts of bureaucracy that can accompany this type of job. As with any large company management seemed top heavy and sometimes appeared not to be very approachable. Workplace culture was at times full of camaraderie and at other times could be difficult and stressful. The hardest part of the job was the variable hours especially on the weekends. The most enjoyable part o f the job was the daily variety.
Pros
Good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
proactive at the city of durham
Storm water Inspector (Former Employee) –  City of duehamMarch 2, 2018
When you are proactive you work to create your own opportunities, and you work to anticipate the changes that may come in your career so that you can make them work to your advantage. Becoming proactive in the workplace requires developing disciplined habits
Pros
proactive
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Government environment
Sr. Contracts & Fiscal Administrator (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCMarch 1, 2018
Busy fast paced environment with every changing policies and procedures. Good educated leadership and opportunity to grow within your position. Flexible work schedules.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJanuary 16, 2018
nice place to work and curtious people work there easy to get there not long at all got to know a lot of people there I loved doiny my job and a great oppuntunity to advance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Recreation Service Aid (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCDecember 21, 2017
Everyday was typically laid back. The management is great and they are very helpful when it comes to making your shifts flexible. I am a part time employee so we did not receive benefits.
Pros
Friendly work environment
Cons
Hard to obtain individual promotion
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Housing Task Force Intern (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCDecember 9, 2017
Interning at Durham City Hall was not as exciting as expected. I often felt like I was intruding rather than appreciated. I wanted to learn more about government.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE management/training for the 911 Center
Communications Officer/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCNovember 7, 2017
Until a complete overhaul is completed at this agency, there is no way in heck anyone should go to work there. I have done 911 communications for over 18 years and this place actually killed any passion I had for the job. Do yourself a favor and go work ANYWHERE else than here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Durham, NC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 101 reviews
533
434
321
210
13

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

City of Durham, NC Reviews by Location