City of Fort Worth Employee Reviews

Found 169 reviews matching the search See all 172 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what you learned
Heavy Equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 4, 2019
I was able to learn heavy equipment
Fixing roads
Grading sports feilds and making mulch operating a tub grinder
Grading area and parks to improve city parks, parking lots and roads
Pros
experience
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing, fun, a learning experience.
Coordinator (Summer) (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXFebruary 14, 2019
Working for the City was never something I imagined myself doing. It was probably one of the best jobs I've ever had to-date. My coworkers made everyday different and more fun each time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 21, 2019
Loved this job. I learned so much as a young adult on how to
Improve in a lot of my skills. I would recommend this job to anyone for a first job. People where amazing and
Bosses are too
Pros
Amazing work
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Place to Work
Human Resources Coordinator (Current Employee) –  City of Fort WorthDecember 18, 2018
Overall good place to work! They have greatly improved over the past six year regarding training. The pension is in trouble but they are working on a solution.
Pros
Flex Schedule
Cons
Penision in trouble
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disappointed
Property and Evidence specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 17, 2018
The Supervisor is horrible. Hug turnover rate with employees, and the insurance is too high. Please do your on research before you apply. Don't work at the Police Evidence department.
Pros
Learn something new.
Cons
Not a good environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Years back I loved my job😍 Now it’s a struggle
Customer Service Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXDecember 4, 2018
Department managers are totally bias. You must fit in their circle to be acknowledged when opportunities are present. Raises are based upon how well liked you are. Job advancement is given to certain races of people. If you ever disagree with management your career is over.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Part Time Work
Golf Shop Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 23, 2018
Not much to say. It was a relaxed part time job I had in college. Pay was decent enough and culture was very relaxed. Learned a little golf and was never very stressed. The people were all very nice.
Pros
Relaxed, fun, nice people
Cons
No room for improvement, not really a career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management lacks some core compentencuies
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXNovember 14, 2018
- Totalitarian work environment
- Not for those who want to develop
- Trending towards emphasis to not code in house applications
- Lack of support for all by management
Pros
40 hour weeks
Cons
Trending away from development
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Code Enforcement Officer (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 28, 2018
Investigate complaints from citizen. Understanding the minimum building standards. Management is selective when it's time for a promotion (already picked their candidate before posting job openings). Fun to communicate with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pool Attendant (parks and rec)
Pool Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXOctober 18, 2018
Being a public servant and dealing with people can be a struggle.
I enjoyed my time with my co workers and customers but not immediate management because it was all a dynasty/nepotism.
You don't agree with a manager's decision and suddenly you make enemies with the whole chain of command.
I get that it was a seasonal job and an employee but to outright say my job is not guaranteed for next year is a big red flag.
When I took the job i signed on with the agreement that is was part time 20 hours at max, yet was always scheduled for 35 to 40 and they didn't even pay me for all hours worked.
They told me it was ok to go find another job if i wasn't happy. I did and was basically fired because my new job offered more and they said if I wasn't loyal I did not belong there.

I would rather have signed up for another department
Pros
paid lunch breaks
Cons
Management, hours, pay (and lack thereof)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better be a favorite
Water Systems Mechanic 1 (Former Employee) –  Holly Water Treatment PlantSeptember 27, 2018
Bosses play favorites, show that you have more knowledge towards something and they ignore you. Then they repeat everything you say word for word like they knew it. I wouldn't reccomend this place to anyone. At least not a water systems mechanic 1 position to anyone. Not much room for advancement, raises aren't likely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good place to work not great.
Identification Technician (Former Employee) –  350 w belknap stSeptember 26, 2018
this was a good place to work However,nothing stays the same. There are to many instances of politics going on. Now there is talk of budget down fall, not a place of the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently moral is awful
Police Officer/Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 17, 2018
The city of Fort Worth Police Department is currently experiencing the worst Chief of Police in history. The culture is one of political motivation and not one of supporting the employees. Rules are irrelevant as is following the laws on the books to uphold policy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily patrol
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 13, 2018
I was a police patrol officer with they typical patrol duties. The most enjoyable part was being solo, pretty much my own boss. The worst part was the scrutiny and political pressure.
Pros
Solo
Cons
No set hours for breaks or lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good old boy network
Service Writer (Former Employee) –  Fort WorthSeptember 9, 2018
Title says it all. If your male, an a mason your in. Common sense doesn't even play a part to decisions of most effective ways to get the jobs done. If you expect management support don't!
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management work conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a police officer I love my job
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  City of Fort WorthSeptember 6, 2018
Great guys I worked with and good pay. Too many in chain of command (too many chiefs and not enough Indians). We all pulled together and we looked out for each other. It felt good knowing the citizens of Fort Worth were behind us and supported the police department.
Pros
Helping others
Cons
Dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Work Environment
Senior Center Director (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXSeptember 3, 2018
Great relationships with community. The city has several resources that the city of Fort Worth community will find very helpful for their needs. The City provides activities that are geared for the family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive an fun place to work
Field Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 29, 2018
I enjoy being a city employee cause they have so much to offer an there’s several department in which you can move to. i’ve had a blast this far am i do not plan on leaving anytime soon
Pros
awesome place to work
Cons
when we lose co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
COMMUNITY CENTER AIDE (Current Employee) –  Community CenterAugust 27, 2018
City if fortworth is a very City friendly place to work. City of Fort Worth has a lot of jobs to offer throughout the city which are great jobs and good opportunities to grow.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of flexibility with growing family
Public Safety Communicator II (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 23, 2018
most management / supervisors do not know what they are doing and have 0 leadership skills . they are unwilling to give a shift to someone who needs an allowance or flexibility on hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Fort Worth. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 172 reviews
545
448
349
220
110

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

City of Fort Worth Reviews by Location