City of Glendale (CA) Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 32 reviews
Ratings breakdown
517
49
34
22
10
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 32 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work/minimal advancement opportunities
Integrated Waste Operator (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CAApril 30, 2018
Good place to work/minimal advancement opportunities. Decent pay. Supervisor and employees are not always on the same page. Great place to work while attending school.
Pros
Good place to work
Cons
Minimal Advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CAFebruary 21, 2018
City of Glendale provides lots of opportunities for its employees to grow and improve. I personally, love the work environment and the care I have received for all the years I’ve been working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Setting
Lead Facility Attendant Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CADecember 15, 2017
Overall, working at the City of Glendale is a great opportunity to work in a professional setting. Great experience for individuals seeking to work for the greater good of the community.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Not enough job advancement available
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job
Student Clerical Worker (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAOctober 1, 2017
Loved working there the people were very nice loved doing filing and answering phones. Also helping whoever needed help also doing lite typing and getting the files.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Works Place with lots of people
Summer Brush Program (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CASeptember 24, 2017
Summer job that paid well, it was only for 5 weeks. I was paid $12 an hour and I worked 20-30 hours a week. Was provided food, and had a paid day off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Budget Analyst
Budget Analyst (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAJuly 20, 2017
I highly enjoyed the work. The balance between management and staff was not equally distributed. The company never took time to ask employees how their management is treating them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Student Intern
Planning and Zoning Department Intern (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAJune 13, 2017
Obtain real work experience and guidance in the Planning and Zoning Depts. Benefits in knowledge of real work assignments, proper protocol, assisting the public with basic questions of property rights,
Pros
Great work experience to supplement academics
Cons
Only available while college student
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i dont have a review at this time
Laborer / Irrigation-Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CAJune 7, 2017
this is a good city to work for but I don't have much details at this time .I am learning a lot and working very hard for a low pay but I m not giving up just yet
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
family friendly atmosphere
Customer Service Representative/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAMay 12, 2017
Our group was consisted of eight employees that included a head supervisor, section supervisor and six employees. I had the pleasure to work with a great group of people in a very healthy atmosphere. My supervisor was very knowledgeable and taught us all the specifics of the job. Unfortunately, the department was liquidated due to 2008 economic recession.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
community service
Voulenteer (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAMarch 13, 2017
I worked at the city to gain experience with paper work and to also improve my skills with customer service through the phone. I had fun working there.
Pros
people were super nice
Cons
a lot of moving heavy objects (stacks of paper)
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
supervisor (Former Employee) –  city of glendaleOctober 19, 2016
it was a decent job .i didnt really like the mangment there and were very rude when it came to helping us with the papaer work in the office . Im glad that I left
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Tax Technician (Current Employee) –  Glendale, COMarch 31, 2016
great place for employment. The city has a Rugby field and employees can go to the games for free on the weekend. The benefits are awesome. I would recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learned many different skills
City Attorney=s Office (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CASeptember 18, 2015
Interesting and diverse work. Ability to exercise autonomy and make independent decisions. Enjoyed interactions with all levels of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy and exciting work environment
PC/Network Specialist (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAApril 26, 2015
daily ticket assignment, supporting PC and Network related issues for City departments, including Police and Fire departments ..team work, wireless and wired Network configuration and troubleshooting, switches and router config setup and install..
Pros
constant new technology
Cons
too many project magmt
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
OFFICE SERVICES SPECIALIST II (ADMINISTRATION) (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAFebruary 4, 2015
I worked in numerous departments and was exposed to all types of scenarios in which I mastered and optimized overall operational efficiency
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communications shop with a lot of activity
Wireless Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  120 N. IsabelOctober 18, 2014
I worked with some very intelligent people. I also learned a lot from all of the other techs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very slow pace
Facility Attendant (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CASeptember 2, 2014
Opening up the location. Waiting for senior to come in for lunch. Help the senior or local city tenants with any questions.
Pros
Good for a part time position
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  Glendale, MOAugust 30, 2014
A typical day working is steady and will very every day. The hardest part of the job is getting along with management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Facility Attendant (Current Employee) –  Glendale, CAJuly 27, 2014
Love it... Great pay great benefits, and awesome people. There is no part of the job that is hard.... I get paid good, work is very simple, and hours are great
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt proud!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glendale, CAJuly 21, 2014
The reason I worked here was because of GYA program and I was immediately put in charge of an awards ceremony with everything that comes with it. I had to list the kids names, accomplishments, order necessary materials, and most importantly design the booklet. All this funds had to come from donations and so I had to call in previous and new possible donors for financial help.
Pros
Good, helpful staff
Cons
Was a temporary job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report