City of Indianapolis & Marion County Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth it
Code Enforcement Officer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INAugust 3, 2018
There hasn't been a pay raise in over 4 plus years. We have just about 1 to 1 supervisors to deputies... way to brass heavy. It is very family orientated... If you are part of a family on the upper ladder... You get all kinds of special privileges. We are about the lowest paid law enforcement in the state... They want you to dress the part, but don't act the part. We are so short handed.... good luck getting a day off... sucks.
Pros
Not sure
Cons
Pay, pay, pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Stock Clerk (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 4, 2018
Incredible paid time off, forced to work doubles sometimes, force to work over in the wintertime sometimes though the night into the next day. Poor management, good supervisor. Great pay for the work. Great benefits
Pros
Paid time off, pay, paid sick time, usually easy work
Cons
Stressful, management, politics, job culture, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's more political than the last election
Legal (Former Employee) –  Marion Country, IndianaFebruary 24, 2018
Fast paced, trial-by-fire, work environment, which is not necessarily a bad thing, when wanting to gain work experience. Great benefits to compensate for below average salary. However, be aware of the office politics and pettiness of most people with tenure over 5 years. High turnover, with no chance for advancement. Change and new comers are not welcome. No oversight is given to the supervisors of each department, who run amuck and take advantage of their positions. Good luck.
Pros
Benefits, holidays off
Cons
Office politics, lack of oversight
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Service
Profesional (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 16, 2018
This is an organization where you must do more with less. Resources are limited and only those areas, deemed by politicians receive funding. That said, if you are willing to work for little pay and have a high level of motivation, you can positively impact the citizens of Indianapolis and Marion County
Pros
Flexible, work-life balance
Cons
Low pay, few resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Operations Manager Marion County Election Board (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 7, 2018
Was an amazing work environment to be apart of. The staff fostered an awesome atmosphere to work within. This was truly a great experience, in which I gleaned a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Library
Page (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 4, 2018
Working at the library has been my dream and I love being a page. The hours used to be more but I value the ones I still have. Great staff and wonderful management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor for a local government
GIS Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INSeptember 22, 2017
Worked with many agencies and enjoyed supporting customers.
Enjoyed access to the best software, tools, and data.
Enabled my participation in various organizations and state and local GIS innitiatives.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
No PTO
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Bailiff (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 3, 2017
I worked there met a lot of good people it was time for me to move on. It was a great experience helping people everyday. The hardest part was management and politics.
Pros
no comment
Cons
No comment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Sector
Records-HIRS Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INFebruary 28, 2013
Flexible schedule, no advancement, its not what you know its who you know.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Indianapolis & Marion County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 10 reviews
52
41
35
20
12

Ratings by category

2.7Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.1Job Security/Advancement
2.1Management
2.9Culture

City of Indianapolis & Marion County Reviews by Location