City of New Haven Employee Reviews

Showing all 49 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going but demanding
Clerk Typist I (Comprehensive Arts Department) (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 14, 2013
I spend most days on the computer corresponding through email
I have obtained a wealth of knowledge from the various department I worked in
I work well with management
Most of my co-workers are great to work with
Working for multiple departments
I don't work weekends
Pros
I work in an office by myself, it's peaceful, I am able to listen to gospel music
Cons
No room for advancement or promotions, limited and low pay increases
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overwhelming Atmosphere
Records Clerk (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 11, 2013
It is a great place to meet people, but there is no growth in the department where I work. I adore my co-workers, but management needs help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very diverse and lucrative atmosphere.
Public Health Nurse (Current Employee) –  New HavenFebruary 26, 2013
Interactions from persons from all over the world, learning and appreciating each others cultural difference and similarities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once a great place to work!
Mgt & Prof Union Worker (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJanuary 13, 2013
Working for a municipality was exceptional in the beginning and thru the 1990s. However, budgetary restraints affected the workforce into the 21st century causing inadequate staffing, extremely heavy workloads and total disregard for staff morale. Departments were merged and long-term employees were forced into retirement, thereby creating an extremely unprofessional, unskilled working environment.
Pros
healthcare benefits
Cons
unavailability of supervisors, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depend on the office your in but productive
ASSESSMENT INFORMATION CLERK (Current Employee) –  NEW HAVENAugust 15, 2012
I have been on my job for 24 yrs and I have some problems with lack of communication among us. Other than that I am good with my co-workers.
Pros
time can be flexible
Cons
when there is lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun alot to do and entertaining
youth worker (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTAugust 6, 2012
typical day at work would be play with the kids teach them to read or write play sports and games then as they sleep clean up and make lunch.my co workers loved the job as much as i did and we all got along.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workable atmostphere
Paid Intern (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 8, 2012
A typical day is being glued to the compter. I've learned alot for this office. I learned the different terms and coding. The manager is very hard working. She is one of the best people you could work for. My co-workers are a blast to work with. They make the office fun to be in. The atmostphere is the best part of my job. Its a joy to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, very fast paced and relaxing environment.
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJanuary 12, 2012
The company was a very exciting place to work for. I never knew how the processed ever worked for processing a birth certificate until I started working at Vital Statistics.
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
no healthcare benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of New Haven. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 49 reviews
520
414
311
23
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.0Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

City of New Haven Reviews by Location