City of New York Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 138 reviews
Ratings breakdown
566
438
327
21
16
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 136 reviews matching the search See all 138 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate this job
JR Front End Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 10, 2018
Nothing much really to say here... I no room for growth, clear favoritism its not even a secret anymore. Top brass doesnt care about you and they make sure you know it. Its not worth it... if you can take a job elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back workplace
SENIOR OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 26, 2018
1. Sort through my e-mails
3. Answer emails
3. Sort and distrubute mail
4. Check managers calendars
5. St up meetings
6. Update/prepare invoices, hiring info for managers signatures
7. Go to a meeting
8. Pick up pay stubs for distributuon
9. Check email for managers requests, staff requests for meetings and conference room requests/
10.Return phone calls, respond to emails, and maintain mangers calendars
Pros
laid back atmosphere
Cons
no growth potential
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling
Nyc fireman (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 13, 2018
Was enjoyable to work for the city that was then this is now,looking for
new opportunities to end my career.took advantage of all opportunities that where givin me got a degree in locksmith,got my degree in stationary engineering, meet some amazing people that I'm still friends with.
Pros
No
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly colleagues
Risk Management Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 22, 2018
Very good colleagues who are always willing to help.
Have substantial work to do every day to learn a lot.
Excellent colleagues with plentiful experience to learn from
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Senior Desktop Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 8, 2018
Working for the City is great. It has to do with your management. If you don’t have good management then you have a problem.
The City has great benefits. If your in IT INformation Tecjnology make sure you get what your promised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patrol, handle jobs,crime prevention officer,Beat Cop
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 8, 2018
I did 20 years and retired with half pay. Was a first responder for 9/11 worked 12 - 15 hours a day for 9 months before I received even one day off. My resume will list all the things I have done.
Pros
good health coverage
Cons
felt like a second class citizen
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a too bad a place to work
Multi - Subject Teacher (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 22, 2018
My last years working for the city of New York was not bad really. I had one whole period off for lunch. My lesson plans didn't need to be turned in every week. The union is amazing. Wish I could go back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Profile
Watches electronic repairman (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 29, 2018
Their management, the care and love of our employees. They can take the lead and serve as role models for us.Company employees like family members, care and love. Is a good companyWe are all grateful to the company for our constant concern and help.
Pros
Very good to staff!
Cons
Salary a little less
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great city to work for
Beach Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 23, 2018
Great city to work for, Great benifits, beautiful beaches, diverse employees, Great pay, Great retirement plans, Being able to spend time on the beach
Pros
great city
Cons
seasonal work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 Years Felt Like 10
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  New York City, NYJanuary 17, 2018
Serving as a NYC Sanitation Worker for nearly a quarter of a century was incredibly rewarding in terms of compensation, camaraderie, service, and just enjoying the experience.
Pros
Great co-workers, pay, vacation and benefits.
Cons
Inclement weather, that's all.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Law Department Consultant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2018
No issues working there.
Good environment.
Enjoyable.
Left because I retired
The hardest part about the job was denying claims which I believed had cause.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work with discriminatory managers
Special Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2018
You have to be a robot to move up in the ladder. Managers tend to pick and choose who they like and dislike, giving those they like the assignments and hours requested. Even if you are 100%, it doesn't matter if management doesn't like you because you speak up for yourself and try to be the best employee there is. They take your attempting at doing your job the best you can, they will take that as a sign you are trying to take their job.
Cons
Very short breaks even when you work double shifts 5 times a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Police Administrative Aide (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 29, 2017
Perform responsible and difficult clerical, typing, word processing and data entry tasks in a police precinct or other Department unit, command or office; perform administrative work of moderate difficulty involving the handling of confidential and other information and material; refer members of the public who ask for assistance to the appropriate City agency; utilize manual and automated office systems and perform related work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was one of challenge
Filter Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 20, 2017
This job was a bit challenging however I was up for the challenge find it to be a great job, liked it a lot and find fulfillment with the "Thank You`s" I received from the public that came to use the facility....
Pros
To see how happy you make others by doing your job!
Cons
Wish all employee would take pride in the job at hand, and not be there only for the pay at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I have ever worked.
Software Engineer/Sr. Tester (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 14, 2017
One of the best companies I have ever worked. Great people to work with. I also love the technology that we implemented. Very successful railroad company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Office of Administrative Trials & Hearings (OATH) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 18, 2017
I have been happy to have a job with the City, but it can be limiting and can be hard to advance if there are no political connections. This is not for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career advancement sucks but job security is good
Deputy Director, IT Budget, Procurement (Current Employee) –  East Elmhurst, NYNovember 17, 2017
Great benefits, and stability but job salary increases and opportunity for advancement isn't easy to come by - very much a who knows who and not so much internal advancement via promotions occurring that often.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favoritism
CLT (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 6, 2017
I enjoyed being in the classroom with consistent learning. I worked with lazy people who didn't care to pick up their weight. The money was good and people took advantage of that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish I could return
CALL CENTER AGENT (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 26, 2017
This was one of the best places that I've worked. I worked overnight so the night differential bonus was a plus. We would receive random raises and or increases due to the Union fighting on your behalf. It was a very laid back environment since there are a lot of students working through CUNY schools you were allowed to read books and study during your shift. The benefits were magnificent as the benefits for city and government jobs typically are. I'd recommend anyone to be employed here. I left due to relocation to another state and pursuing some of my dreams as a writer.
Pros
Pay, time off, and laid back environment
Cons
Work if your shift falls on holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Special Assistant Corporation Counsel (Former Employee) –  Downtown Manhattan, NYOctober 25, 2017
I enjoyed my time here. My supervisor was one of the best attorneys I've ever worked with and I learned a lot from her. The cases were very interesting and varied.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of New York. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

2.6Fairygodboss Score

55%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

55%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss