City of New York Employee Reviews

Found 160 reviews matching the search See all 162 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 25, 2019
Awesome team members. Lots of fun speaking and assisting the voters. It is a very fast pace environment around any Election and the overtime is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stable place to work
Fire Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 26, 2019
Working in New York City is very fast paced and can be stressful.
As a fire safety inspector, I was required to work n all kinds of weather to perform inspections.
Travel throughout the city was required 75 % of the time.
Pay and benefits were very good.
Management was poor because it was very political and managers were not always competent.
Pros
Security
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Analytics Developer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 14, 2019
Good Company
Good People
Good Culture
Good Technology
Good Opportunities
I love the company overall. Various good projects are offered. you can move around different teams if you like to learn other technologies of just in general other domains.
Cons
No flexibility from Union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at.
Community Associate (Current Employee) –  VariousDecember 29, 2018
I enjoyed working directly with applicants and interacting with them. I learned how to work with a diverse group of people and was able to help New York City residents get their first ID.
Pros
Fast pace environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting and constantly changing enviroment
Director - Criminal Prosecutions, (Former Employee) –  250 Church Street, NY NYDecember 20, 2018
I worked with the City of New York Bureau of Fraud Investigations for more than twenty years and found that at times it was a great place to work and at other times can be very stressful
Pros
Constantly changing environment
Cons
lack of promotional opportunities, glass ceiling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Grievance Representative (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, NYDecember 19, 2018
Its what is expected working in a jail facility. The inmates get treated unfairly for their wages. The alarms and lock downs are scary and it takes forever to get off the island.
Pros
not on your feet all day
Cons
Alarms, Lockdowns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly Working
COMMUNITY ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 14, 2018
On the move all the time very busy. Very diverse working in an environment like the city. Keeps you busy the entire day. Love helping and working with the city of New York.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Community Assistant (Current Employee) –  BrooklynDecember 13, 2018
Stressful work environment with very little room for growth unless you brown nose the bosses. If you are need of benefits and perks this job is sufficient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Correction Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 2, 2018
Need improvement within the department
Fair treatment amgonst staff
Better work hours
Better work life balance
Great pay
Great benefits
Can move up in the ranks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great work experience.
Student Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 29, 2018
I loved working with all of the New York City public and all of the NYPD officers and administrative staff. It was such a joy to see some of NYC citizens obtain the information and services that there were in need of.
Pros
I enjoyed to help my fellow NYC citizens.
Cons
They did not have enough money in there budget to hire me for a permanent full time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the city was great
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 17, 2018
It was great working for the city of New York they show me yearn work I didn’t kno anything about picking up garbage or removing snow and the front end loader
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Getting hurt on the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good coworkers bad culture
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 13, 2018
each day is busy. supporting field technicians who service biometric hand scanners at various city of new york agencies throughout the five boroughs is balanced against internal projects while handling different user issues that arise daily. this provides an important opportunity to learn and socialize with good people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Clerical Associate IV Department of Transportation (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYOctober 9, 2018
I learned traffic law and how to judge traffic violations. My coworkers were cooperative. The most enjoyable part was the social interactions with co-workers.
Pros
Independence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends on which job/career in the city of NY
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 1, 2018
Depends on which job/career in the city of NY
40 plus hours
great benefits and vacation
security for the most part
(unlimited) sick leave
paid holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
public service is a wonderful career
COUNCIL MEMBER (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 25, 2018
I regard my time in public office as one of the highlights of my life. To help improve the quality of life for my fellow New Yorkers has been a blessing!
Pros
Make a difference
Cons
Lots of time away from the family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to Work
Social Services and Analysis (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 23, 2018
There are a variety of employment opportunities available with The City of New York. I've worked for the City for over 20 years and have had some of the best experiences in my life! There is job security, there are benefits, and if you want a change, ask or take a test!
Pros
Stability, steady pay, opportunities to learn, grow and expand.
Cons
Dependent upon you area and supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great job with great upward mobility.
Detective (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 10, 2018
Meet lifelong friends on the job.
Learn something new almost everyday with constant interactions with people from all walks of life.
Great benefits and job security.
Hardest part of the job is the work schedule and internal politics.
Paramilitary workplace culture and environment.
Pros
Learn about law and politics while enforcing the law.
Cons
Political bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Adaptable
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 4, 2018
It was a disciplined atmosphere. ALL calls were monitored as well as bathroom/lunch breaks. There was weekly coaching and the managers helped you in areas you were weak, but each call that was monitored had to be ranked in the 90 percentile.
Pros
Sick days off/Overtime
Cons
No vacation days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
customer service and reviewed contracts (Former Employee) –  125 worth st new york nyAugust 30, 2018
some people said I was crazy for leaving a city job but I left for 2 reasons I saw a once in a lifetime opportunity to make great money in the stock market. the second reason was there was no challenge and a lot of time no work.
Pros
stable set schedule
Cons
boring sat around alot and read my own personal material
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nyc
Management Auditor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 28, 2018
Very busy but challenging. Learned auditing as a Management Auditor, Stressful due to the Manager of unit at the time I was working there. The hardest part of the job was dealing with Manager due to no communication. Most enjoyable was visiting various places and meeting new people while auditing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of New York. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 162 reviews
576
446
332
22
16

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Women's ratings

2.9Fairygodboss Score

62%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

73%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss