City of New York Employee Reviews

Found 153 reviews matching the search See all 155 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Community Assistant (Current Employee) –  BrooklynDecember 13, 2018
Stressful work environment with very little room for growth unless you brown nose the bosses. If you are need of benefits and perks this job is sufficient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Correction Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 2, 2018
Need improvement within the department
Fair treatment amgonst staff
Better work hours
Better work life balance
Great pay
Great benefits
Can move up in the ranks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great work experience.
Student Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 29, 2018
I loved working with all of the New York City public and all of the NYPD officers and administrative staff. It was such a joy to see some of NYC citizens obtain the information and services that there were in need of.
Pros
I enjoyed to help my fellow NYC citizens.
Cons
They did not have enough money in there budget to hire me for a permanent full time position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the city was great
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 17, 2018
It was great working for the city of New York they show me yearn work I didn’t kno anything about picking up garbage or removing snow and the front end loader
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Getting hurt on the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good coworkers bad culture
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 13, 2018
each day is busy. supporting field technicians who service biometric hand scanners at various city of new york agencies throughout the five boroughs is balanced against internal projects while handling different user issues that arise daily. this provides an important opportunity to learn and socialize with good people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Clerical Associate IV Department of Transportation (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYOctober 9, 2018
I learned traffic law and how to judge traffic violations. My coworkers were cooperative. The most enjoyable part was the social interactions with co-workers.
Pros
Independence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends on which job/career in the city of NY
Correctional Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 1, 2018
Depends on which job/career in the city of NY
40 plus hours
great benefits and vacation
security for the most part
(unlimited) sick leave
paid holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
public service is a wonderful career
COUNCIL MEMBER (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 25, 2018
I regard my time in public office as one of the highlights of my life. To help improve the quality of life for my fellow New Yorkers has been a blessing!
Pros
Make a difference
Cons
Lots of time away from the family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Place to Work
Social Services and Analysis (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 23, 2018
There are a variety of employment opportunities available with The City of New York. I've worked for the City for over 20 years and have had some of the best experiences in my life! There is job security, there are benefits, and if you want a change, ask or take a test!
Pros
Stability, steady pay, opportunities to learn, grow and expand.
Cons
Dependent upon you area and supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great job with great upward mobility.
Detective (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 10, 2018
Meet lifelong friends on the job.
Learn something new almost everyday with constant interactions with people from all walks of life.
Great benefits and job security.
Hardest part of the job is the work schedule and internal politics.
Paramilitary workplace culture and environment.
Pros
Learn about law and politics while enforcing the law.
Cons
Political bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Adaptable
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 4, 2018
It was a disciplined atmosphere. ALL calls were monitored as well as bathroom/lunch breaks. There was weekly coaching and the managers helped you in areas you were weak, but each call that was monitored had to be ranked in the 90 percentile.
Pros
Sick days off/Overtime
Cons
No vacation days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
customer service and reviewed contracts (Former Employee) –  125 worth st new york nyAugust 30, 2018
some people said I was crazy for leaving a city job but I left for 2 reasons I saw a once in a lifetime opportunity to make great money in the stock market. the second reason was there was no challenge and a lot of time no work.
Pros
stable set schedule
Cons
boring sat around alot and read my own personal material
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nyc
Management Auditor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 28, 2018
Very busy but challenging. Learned auditing as a Management Auditor, Stressful due to the Manager of unit at the time I was working there. The hardest part of the job was dealing with Manager due to no communication. Most enjoyable was visiting various places and meeting new people while auditing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The love and reward of working.
Fraud Investigator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 24, 2018
I have worked for the City of New York for 20 years which I have enjoyed very much. The City of New York fostered, encouraged, and enforced good work habits, principles, and etiquette. However, idleness nor lose conversation were not part of the Company protocol nor is it encouraged among employees, but The Dress Code was enforced.

Employees were instructed to have and take their 1-hour lunch period from which hour management decides.


Breaks nor free time did not encourage nor given except the Managing-body decides.
Pros
No free Lunches
Cons
No short breaks allowed except Management ok it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NYPD is the greates police department in the world
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  city of nbew yorkAugust 24, 2018
Working for the NYPD gave me a sense of belonging to something bigger than myself. It gave me the opportunity to serve my fellow citizens and provide the level of protection they need to go about their daily life. each day was a different adventure and I am proud to say that I served as a New York City Police Officer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
Intern, Office (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2018
I always knew that I wanted to make a difference in people's lives. the City of NY provided me with the basic understanding of advocacy work, while encouraging me to express my ideas, take risks, and learn about field work. I appreciated the multicultural workplace and respect and embracing of diversity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning opportunity!
Community Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 18, 2018
Learned an insane amount how the government works and how funds are allocated throughout the city. Also learned how to handle certain issues throughout the city and who is responsible for handling ot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hate this job
JR Front End Web Developer (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 10, 2018
Nothing much really to say here... I no room for growth, clear favoritism its not even a secret anymore. Top brass doesnt care about you and they make sure you know it. Its not worth it... if you can take a job elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back workplace
SENIOR OFFICE ADMINISTRATOR (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 26, 2018
1. Sort through my e-mails
3. Answer emails
3. Sort and distrubute mail
4. Check managers calendars
5. St up meetings
6. Update/prepare invoices, hiring info for managers signatures
7. Go to a meeting
8. Pick up pay stubs for distributuon
9. Check email for managers requests, staff requests for meetings and conference room requests/
10.Return phone calls, respond to emails, and maintain mangers calendars
Pros
laid back atmosphere
Cons
no growth potential
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fulfilling
Nyc fireman (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 13, 2018
Was enjoyable to work for the city that was then this is now,looking for
new opportunities to end my career.took advantage of all opportunities that where givin me got a degree in locksmith,got my degree in stationary engineering, meet some amazing people that I'm still friends with.
Pros
No
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of New York. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 155 reviews
574
445
328
22
16

See reviews about

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Women's ratings

2.8Fairygodboss Score

55%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

70%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss