City of Norfolk, VA Employee Reviews

Showing all 120 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Bulk Refuse Inspector (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 16, 2018
2 15 minute breaks, 45 minutes for lunch, good place to work, conductive work environment. Over all, very good work place. Environmental Health Services located in the health department.
Pros
work at your own pace, as long as you are working!!!
Cons
Supervision sometimes was difficult because of lack of experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Lead Recreation Aide (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 24, 2018
A typical work day consist of supervising different age groups from ages 5-17. Also, planning and implementing different program plans. I also, schedule different special events and set up and break down tables for the special events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunities for advancement
Utility Maintenance Supervisor II (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJuly 8, 2018
Typical city enviroment
Can advance if have a working attitude
Fair benefits
Relaxed culture can be frustrate over-achievers
Self paced learning is encouraged
Pros
Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government bureaucracy
Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJune 28, 2018
Difficult to advance within the city. Jobs are restrictive due to city practiced.

Equipment was not as up to date as needed. Because of the required bidding process for purchases, selected vendors may not have been the most reasonable choice for products and services.

The City did try to compensate for lower than average salaries by providing employee perks such as picnics, skating events, etc.
Pros
Good benefits, not a great deal of stress
Cons
Due to nature of budget, limited salary increases. Poor advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place meeting new people Everyday
Parking Attendant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  820 city hall ave norfolk va 23510June 16, 2018
Making sure customer was happy with the assistance that I gave them. Making sure that the garage i was working in would make them want to park there car in with no worries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
HUMAN SERVICES AIDE (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAApril 24, 2018
There is little to no advancement with the City of Norfolk. If promoted the process takes up to 3 months or more.
Norfolk is the biggest among all cities and also the lowest salary.
Pros
working environment
Cons
benefits including salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
landstown recrational center (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAApril 17, 2018
Working at lands town recreational center was a great time . The manager was nice and respectful . The children that I was working with were very respectful .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work with an indoor gym
Recreational Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAApril 5, 2018
i had soo much fun with the city it gave me plenty of memories the kids were amazing as well as my fellow staff i would definitely recommend to anyone of my friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job if you love the kids
SignLanguage Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAApril 2, 2018
Pros : This job was great. Working with children is great and the paid time off is a plus.

Cons : Not many hours available so the hourly pay is good if youre a contract employee but with the number of days off... the pay isnt that great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time
Police Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 25, 2018
One of the best Public Safety organizations in the Hampton Roads area with ample opportunities for advancement. Constantly evolving strategies ensure consistent training opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downside is pay and weather
Parking Attendant (Former Employee) –  Norfolk VAMarch 10, 2018
Most often worked outside exposed to weather conditions. Fun and easy environment that would pick up the pace during the events. It was a good place to work a part time spot.
Pros
Mostly working solo without supervisors hovering
Cons
Heat, Cold, Low pay, Mostly part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place
Public Safety Telecommunicator (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 8, 2018
extremely busy
high call volume
poor management
very stressful
low interaction with front office personnel
lovable and friendly co-workers
unlimited overtime due to short staffing
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Utility Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VA 23509March 7, 2018
Its a start to work there. Salary a little low. Not much over time depending which depatment you are assigned. Some jobs are dirty or working outside in the weather.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Which department you're going to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has good days and bad days and you always have to be dressed for the weather
Parking/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 6, 2018
The city is interesting place to work every day is different and it takes a long time to advance IT works better for young people NO responseablits
Pros
They work with you on YOUR hours and your schedule
Cons
The weather and the pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all it was great
CITY MAINTENANCE (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAMarch 2, 2018
The hardest part of the job is the weather. They don't have enough trucks to fit all of the employees so we drive John Deer gator's all over the city, so you are exposed to all element's. Aside from that the job was a breeze and keeps you on your feet. The people are great and would always consider going back there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with kids
Recreation Specialist (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 22, 2018
Most enjoyable part of the job is actually being trusted nothing better than someone who can trust you. And also being able to go on field trips and do different things like that
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy being in charge of crossing children and directing traffic
School Crossing Guard (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 12, 2018
1. Typical day. Keeping children safe and directing traffic.
2. Learned how to stop the traffic and when to release it.
3. Management is basically on my own discretion.
4. Culture on job, all kinds of people who basically are law abiding to my directions.
5. Hardest part of the job keeping an eye on both child and cars at same time.
6. When children smile and say good morning have a nice day and when they periodically give me a morning hug.
Pros
Working outside/thank you lunch given to guard from elementary school and feeling appreciated.
Cons
Standing outside in below 30 degree weather and piling on the clothes just to stay warm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace with students
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 11, 2018
I enjoy my job because I love a clean place. I love to clean and make the building smell nice. When the building and nice and clean people don't mind coming in there.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
no healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ageism lives here
Manager (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 7, 2018
Leadership falls short on maintaining direction and purpose with little regard for staff, resulting in poor morale in certain areas and less than sensible budgetary decisions. Institutional knowledge has no value here so re-inventing the wheel is a full-time job for most. However, living in the city is great so far.
Pros
Public service
Cons
Exec / HR
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work with an awesome staff
Administrative Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 12, 2018
A typical day at work includes answering phones, greeting visitors, processing payroll for over 50 employees, processing invoices for payment, ordering supplies and other duties as needed. My management team is awesome and my workplace is very relaxed and professional. The hardest part of my job is working with two data bases for payroll processing. The most enjoyable part is greeting customers.
Pros
great staff
Cons
accounting system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Norfolk, VA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 120 reviews
542
436
331
28
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.1Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

City of Norfolk, VA Reviews by Location