City of Raleigh NC Management reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 160 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s Ok
Operational II driver (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 4, 2019
Working in the Soild Waste Department
For one thing your job never have to worry about getting laid off. But management needs improvement for sure and definitely the pay!! That you deal with throughout your day to day challenge. As far as the benefits 100.00% great!!!
Pros
Benefits Great!
Cons
Poor management is horrible, Not paid enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 21, 2019
was in charge of the front desk/cashier. very easy job for a high schooler or someone not looking to do heavy work at all. Cross training is quite easy as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Utility Technician (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 23, 2018
this job you have to be a self starter independent and responsible. need to be a fast learner and apy attention to detail. be one that doesnt mind working out doors and getting down in dirt, rain, holes, etc. basically dont mind getting dirty and nasty. have to over come fear of all creepy crawly things like snakes, spider, big roaches, dogs, cats, worms, grubs, and other things you have never seen before.
Pros
great benefits, race diversed, an older crowd
Cons
merit system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay Place to work
Recreation Program Analyst (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 20, 2018
Work was during the week, barely any weekends. Management and team could have been better. The hardest part was working with the customers and ensuring they have everything they needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work in Recreation
Assistant Program Director, Interim Director (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 27, 2018
I greet many people throughout every day, i enjoy the environment of play and learning, i get to teach kids and adults and feed the desire to play a sport. Management is flexible and encouraging, hardest part is the endless administrative duties and meetings. I enjoy coming to work everyday for a new adventure!
Pros
work indoor or outdoor for sport
Cons
no real break and admin is heavy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to get a paycheck
Part-time teacher's assistant for children (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 3, 2018
Management does not do what is necessary to train new employees to be successful in their new role. Turnover rate is extremely high due to poor management. Existing employees are cut-throat and back stabbers.
Pros
City of Raleigh job
Cons
City of Raleigh job and poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Supportive Place to work
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  DowntownMay 15, 2018
Wonderful Employer. A few more adjustments and it would be one of the best municipalities to work for in the country. Team Oriented atmosphere, management supportive of innovation.
Pros
Hours, flexibility, benefits
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 25, 2018
If you don't want to go at 100% most of the time then this is the life for you. Well, I guess certain departments are better than others but when you come from a fast paced private industry to this it feels like you are twiddling your thumbs. I just can't sleep in a truck and waste tax payer money like so many of the guys do. Plus the pay is pathetic unless you're in upper management. Benefits are fantastic and if you can manage to put up with slug pace for 20 years, enjoy your tax payer fed pension.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment
Raleigh (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 7, 2018
Fast Pace environment,which Scheduled Work,is executed in a high percentage with a high accurate. Further more, must display good discretely and Time Management Skills.
Pros
Benefits and pay vacation
Cons
Career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and enjoyable part-time job
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 19, 2018
Good place to work if need flexible hours or want to advance in aquatics management. Laid-back atmosphere but still organized. Wide variety of personalities among co-workers. Several available levels of management/part-time. Easy enough job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and colleagues.
Director, Youth Summer Program (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 14, 2018
The work environment at Raleigh Parks and Recreation was awesome. My colleagues where very engaged with all functions of the job. Management gave clear directives that were achievable.
Pros
Working with children
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging and also demanding
Remotes Mechanic public utilitys (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 4, 2018
I normally get to work 30 to 45 minutes early to prepare for the day.get in my work truck ,meet for early morning meeting .and get preps on what has happened over night and other active jobs being worked on . after meeting have print out of all remote sites pm jobs and write up to worked on for the day and contractors being delt with that day. I've learned how to jog monthly and daily jobs and pm,s that need to be done.at a massive amount of locations. culture is very Diverse and team work is very critical . Management allows workers to be accountable of running ,designing , and completing jobs.It is what I've been use to from my previous jobs in welding and fabrication, in the Lighting and Powerhouse back ground job . Learning the process of making water to be put out to distribution .the most enjoyable part of the job to me is the fact of delivering something to the public at a high quality and my service 365 days a year
Pros
always active
Cons
safety is a little behind compared to were I've come from . it's hard work to get them be on board
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the city of raleigh aquatics
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 17, 2018
Best place for a start off job. Fair pay and great hours especially during the summer. Management is fair but awesome. They provide uniforms (bathing suits).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Shift Supervisor/Water Safety Instructor (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 1, 2017
teaching swim lessons to various ages. You learn how to work with patrons & employees & management. Work place is comfortable & fun. Not to hard , but can be a challenge to work with large class. I still enjoy it though, because it challenges me to still be able to help all of the students.
Pros
seeing people learn what you taught them
Cons
Looking for full time position with benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 13, 2017
Management was cut throat and didn't give me the resources to succeed. Bad training, wasn't happy with my manager and co worker. They seem to get very annoyed with anyone asking questions on important topics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sr Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 10, 2017
I would recommend working here if you're straight out of High School, or if you don't have any real corporate experience and looking for a place to just collect a paycheck.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Political
Assistant Water and Sewer Supt (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 3, 2017
It's hard to achieve customers desires because of politics. There are many levels of management which delay important decisions that need to be made.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management- attentive to public needs- creates positive and encouraging environment, mindful of employee needs and supportive long term relation
Recreational Leader (Current Employee) –  Brier Creek CommunityAugust 28, 2017
Great management- attentive to employee needs and for promoting client suitable programs- creates positive and encouraging environment, mindful of employee needs and supportive long term relation
Pros
Timely pay, good amenities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment
Recreational Leader (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJuly 24, 2017
Excellent working environment, due to a new policy, part time employees could not work more than 20 hours a week, instead of the 36 prior to new policy.
Pros
Work hours and environment
Cons
Total working hours less than 20 a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Waste Services Driver/Supervisor
Crew Supervisor/Driver (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJune 28, 2017
It was a great place to work. Working with other people and for the public learning about the state capital of NC. You can gain a lot of knowledge with the company.
Pros
A great retirement plan and benefits. Yes I would recommand this company.
Cons
Better management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Raleigh NC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 160 reviews
576
452
327
23
12

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

City of Raleigh NC Reviews by Location