City of San Diego, CA Employee Reviews

Showing all 144 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Centrally located and job security
Senior Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 5, 2019
Centrally located and job security are highlights of the employer. The City of San Diego has many departments and there is an opportunity to learn about many aspect of government operations.
Pros
Centrally located in downtown
Cons
Aging facilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City of San Diego
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 18, 2019
Working the City of San Diego is okay. The benefits are pretty good. I like how the vacation and sick leave is combined because if you're not the type of person that get sick a lot you have plenty of vacation. There's a lot of nepotism. It's not a bad place to work if you can deal with the politics.
Pros
Benefits, vacation and some nice people.
Cons
Politics and some not so nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great career
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 16, 2019
The department was a great working environment. The people on the department were very understanding, however the city was not pro employee when it came to salary and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love the the circus this place is for you!
Water system technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 10, 2019
Dream job turned nightmare overnite! NO DOUBLE TIME AFTER 12 HOURS. Only paid time and a half at 14.00 an hour to start, when i was working on water "main breaks" over 20 plus hours on a constant basis , lack of sleep cause your on a permanent standby 1 week out of the month. No pension no social security no paid state disabilty if your injured, they got there own set up of disabilty benefits which are paid till after a month if your approved. When the public always mentions "CITY SLACKERS" instead of "City Workers " its true cause theres always that 1 good worker out the bunch and the rest standing aroung like morons.(jobs gotta be done some how) All i can say is this place is High School Drama and the principals office is always full of suck ups and snitches!lol and many are related and hired in by relatives.
Pros
Drive around all day on slow days
Cons
Under paid long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard and help citizens of San Diego
Director of Communications and Special Projects (Former Employee) –  City Administration CenterJanuary 14, 2019
City is a great place to work. However, there is a pension crisis that will limit the ability to hire and keep certain parts of the workforce as is with most municipal governments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an intern
Intern (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 28, 2018
Great place to work and great experience. But i was an intern it was a requirement to my degree in recreation therapy. I did not really work there as an employee
Pros
no idea
Cons
no idea
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok part time job
Pool Manager I (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 20, 2018
The rotating pool closure schedule made working for the City complicated. Most city pools would close for 2-3 months of the year and hours would have to be found at a different location.
Pros
Got to see lots of different pools
Cons
Not a stable working environment when your pool was closed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers make a nice working environment
Externship (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 2, 2018
It was really nice to work for the city of san diego. The job was simple and my boss always provided clear instructions. everybody respected each other and everybody was professional
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Claims Clerk (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 15, 2018
A lot of filing and tasks to fulfill. Workers compensation department requires a lot of time sensitive tasks to be fulfilled.

I'm on a team on 8 clerks that provide assistance for the claim adjusters.
Pros
I work downtown
Cons
pay for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy days
Lifeguard 1 (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 8, 2018
Fun place to work as a lifeguard. Great opportunities for overtime work during the peak season. Encourages employees to work out during their breaks if not too busy.
Pros
Paid workout breaks
Cons
no work in the winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overview of some of our duties.
Senior Community Representative (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 3, 2018
I'm very honored to have the ability to work with Mayor Kevin L. Faulconer. Our team is well oil machine internally and working with community on issues related to quality of life, public safety,development and job creation for both for-profit businesses and non-profit organizations.
Pros
Great benefits, an environment that is a collective as it relates to contributing ideas for solutions.
Cons
Long hours can be asked to work on the weekend, tough criticism from the media and community at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build a career
City Comptroller Dept (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 28, 2018
As with most government jobs, once you get your foot in the door, there are many opportunities for growth in your department and across other departments. The work balance is great - you earn a decent number of hours per pay period to take care of incidental absences (Dr appointments, child care, etc) as well as planned time off (Vacations). A great place to build a career.
Pros
Excellent and balanced work environment - room for movement/advancement
Cons
Public perceptions about government workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative work environment
Public Information Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 24, 2018
Overall The City of San Diego was a good place to work. I would recommend it however, the work hours didn't work for me and a person in management I didn't feel like they were fair at times. She chooses favorites and that kills my motivation.
Pros
Free events, food sometimes, Nice people, everyone helps eachother out.
Cons
Work hours are 8-5. Management has favorites.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great chance for career advancement
Community Liaison/Police Officer (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 25, 2018
SDPD is a professional and well run department. There is room for career advancement and ample opportunities to train while working. The most enjoyable part of the job is serving the community and camaraderie .
Pros
Camaraderie
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City either over works or under utilizes worker.
no answer for fear of retaliation (Current Employee) –  San DiegoJuly 10, 2018
Management is poor. There is no appreciation for work experience.
Work involved many layer of management all redoing work which was correct at the beginning.
Pros
There are no pros to working for the city.
Cons
Disrespected by co-worker, elected officals and citizen
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has gpne downhill considerably since managed competition
PUBLICITY LIAISON/ FLEET FUEL SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 3, 2018
It used to be a great place tp work, but no longer. Managed comp changed the dynamics comprehensively. The pay has not evolved to meet inflation expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quick pace
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 30, 2018
Working for the city is an excellent place for self growth consisting leadership and responsible traits. Customer service is a place to be a strong public speaker and getting out of your comfort zone to serve the public.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
City of San Diego (Current Employee) –  San DiegoMay 16, 2018
My workday begins with cleaning the facility. Safety is most important in my daily learning. My work environment is positive. Water leaks are difficult to detect. I enjoy working with others and completing my daily tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Office Assistant Aid (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 25, 2018
Accomplished daily requirements as needed. Meet with customer and provided any other of job search services. Social assistant as requested by customer
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  San DiegoApril 21, 2018
City used to be a great place to work at back in the 80's and 90's, now you can experience racist management at it's best. Do not work for City Treasurer....PERIOD
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of San Diego, CA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 144 reviews
563
439
330
23
19

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

City of San Diego, CA Reviews by Location