City of St. Paul Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 17 reviews
Ratings breakdown
58
45
33
20
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 17 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience
Street Maintenance Worker (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMarch 25, 2018
If you are new to the field this is a great place to gain experience. if you keep focused and stay out of the drama you can learn a lot and get to use a lot of different tools and machines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace fun work environment
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  St. PaulMarch 8, 2018
It’s a great place to meet awesome people and the time goes by fast due to the fast pace. You get to be certified in CPR, First response and you get to learn how to you’d the AED.
Pros
Free to get in and swim whenever
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Clerk Typist II, Public Works Department (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNFebruary 20, 2018
After being out of work raising my children, I was very lucky to be interviewed and hired for this job.

My supervisor was wonderful and very helpful as were my co-workers.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
The pay scale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Part Time Seasonal (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNNovember 9, 2017
Great job for a teenage. Good pay for a teen. Not so much sitting around but moving around. Majority teens like to move around from when I did the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They invest in your education
Library Customer Service Assistant IV (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMay 25, 2017
Once you get your foot in the door of the city there are so many opportunities to move around. They send to workshops for self improvement, including traveling out of state.
Pros
Paid holidays off
Cons
Rare job openings because of the job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Highland park aquatic center (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJanuary 5, 2017
I loved working for the city it was fun I got to meet a lot of people that helped me along the way I started out as a summer job but my co workers became my family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
near parks
Office Assistant III (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, MNJune 23, 2016
Loved to work at location. Helping customers with finding good location for various events. Co-workers very friendly. Manager with an open door policy for workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incompetent managers
Driver/Laborer (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMay 12, 2015
Lowest paid workers in the Metro area. Management has no direction and no vision to provide services to the public.You will be working with equipment that is anywhere from 20 to 30 years old. constantly breaking down and not well maintained.
Pros
None
Cons
Upper management has no idea what they are doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe working environment, with city and county employees collabrating.
Deputy Director of Procurement (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNApril 8, 2015
Great Governmental work place.
Move to e-commerce during my tenure.
Friendly infrastructure of management
enjoyed workng with supplier in the metro region.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great City to work for!
Street Services Worker (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNDecember 15, 2014
Great co-workers, management and city officials. Typical day varied greatly - provided me with the tools and equipment to do my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report

Want to know more about City of St. Paul?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"old school - good old boy" organization
Payroll Specialist (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMarch 24, 2014
The City of St. Paul lacks systems needed to be part of this century.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad at all
PLAN EXAMINER INTERN (Current Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNFebruary 14, 2014
Starts a bit slow, until customers come in for building permits. It gets a bit busy on sunny days, but not so bad. Fellow workers are really nice, we all work as a team. hardest part of the job is when customers try to get their permits early and we can't because we have so much to do. enjoyable part is I get to see many different structures and work with the codes around them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Job
Utility Aid (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNSeptember 17, 2013
On a typical day, my crew and I would pick up our equipment from the shop and load it onto our truck. we would then do our assigned job for the day. The job would vary, it could be anything from cutting grass to cutting down tree. I got along well with all my co-workers, the pay is very low but I decided to work there seasonally until I started school this fall.
Pros
good people
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite
Park Worker (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMay 26, 2013
Wish I could still go work there in the summer. Awesome pay for students and let me have the nights and weekends off. Doesn't get much better then that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience!
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Battle Creek Recreation CenterApril 17, 2013
service learning for a Juvenile Justice and Delinquency class at Century College.
Pros
good experience
Cons
short time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team eviroment
Project Manager I (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNMarch 19, 2013
I really enjoyed this position for the City of St. Paul Parks and Rec. My daily duties varied greatly from day to day. Some of my responsibilities included the following: Time scheduling and solving any issues or problems that would interfere with the daily operation and mantainance of Park and Rec buildings and property, I assisted in the planning and scheduling of graffiti removal, hazardous waste, disposal, and the security entry points and survaillance of the parks building and property. I really enjoyed working with the Parks and Rec management team. Everyone communicated quite well considering the volume of work.
Pros
close to home. i was born and raised in st. paul, so there was a satifaction of giving back to my community.
Cons
it was a cut in pay. also the position was eliminated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of St. Paul. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

City of St. Paul Reviews by Location