City of Worcester Employee Reviews

3.8
Overall rating
Based on 17 reviews
Ratings breakdown
56
47
31
21
12
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 17 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detached and archaic HR department
Prevention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJune 21, 2018
Paranoia and distrust abound. As a municipality the city is exempt from most state sanctioned employment law such as sick leave and OSHA compliance. HR does not care for the rights or well being of those employed.
Pros
Self paid benefits
Cons
12% salary deduction to retirement, low staff morale, lack of respect for those employed, no overtime (or any pay) for non-union employees that work over 40 hours/week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work.
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  9-11 Lincoln Square, Worcester, MAFebruary 7, 2018
I worked for the City for over 32 years and enjoyed every minute of it. I was always very busy, but I enjoyed that because the more work I had the faster the day seemed to go. I worked with some wonderful people and some not-so-wonderful people, but for the most part, everyone worked well together.
Cons
Worked week-ends and holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Pace
Clerical Intern (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJanuary 8, 2018
They respected me even though I was an intern and did not have there qualifications. My boss was understanding and clear about her expectations of me. We got along very well.
Pros
I got to know what was going on in the city
Cons
Interns did not get parking permits which made for an expensive bill
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great City
Firefighter (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAJanuary 8, 2018
Working for an established and continuously growing city is a great experience. The hardest part of the job is never knowing what a shift is going to consist of.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most enjoyable part
Clerk Typist (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAOctober 11, 2017
The culture was very good for learning the ins and outs of municipal dealings.

A nurturing environment that fostered team effort and recognized potential.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Assistant Site Director (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMay 12, 2017
The organizations that I worked were very productive and fun place to work. They have maintained the high level of professionalism where I found every team was so professional and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Oriented Environment
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAApril 29, 2017
A challenging but rewarding work environment provides a lifeguard the opportunity to interact with a wide variety of people from the City of Worcester.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun work place
Cafeteria Worker (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAMarch 15, 2017
I enjoyed working for the Worcester Public School. I enjoy working with children. I met new people everyday. I worked in different school so I had the opportunity to work with a lot different school age children. i love to cook so i enjoyed making and serving children there food. Its a great place to work at. The lunch lady's are very nice.
Pros
you learn a lot of things
Cons
great benefits great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sanitation Worker (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAOctober 5, 2016
You basically get paid to work out picking up the garbage around the city great benefit work from 730 to 1130 go home for the rest of the day that's right if you could get a part-time job I'll be great as you have the time
Pros
Very friendly place to work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no motivational process
Lawyer (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAAugust 24, 2016
Typical bureaucracy, there was no motivation or review process. There was no advancement. There was also no guidance or training. This was a place where careers go to die.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report

Want to know more about City of Worcester?

Ask a question
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible City
Marketing manager (Former Employee) –  Main libraryJuly 31, 2015
If you have integrity do not sell your soul. The City human resources will not be on your side if you need help. The library administration is terrible and will belittle you. Everyone is lazy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to give back to the community
Recreation and summer councilor (Former Employee) –  Worcester,MAJune 8, 2015
Spent the summer days working students in a summer program that included educational and recreational activities. Also a great opportunity to give back to the generations coming along.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Aerospace Science Instructor (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAFebruary 13, 2014
Typical day at work consist of teaching grades 9-12 leadership education and aerospace science. I have learned that as a teacher I get as much education as I give. The students educate a teacher in ways that are wonderful. The management is supportive, helpful and knowledgeable. My co-workers are the greatest and are there for you when you need them. The hardest part of the job is staying up with all the changes in the education system and the teacher evaluation system. The most enjoyable part of the job is the students.
Pros
The ability to stay young with the students
Cons
student confrontations and student discipline
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Cross Guard (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJanuary 17, 2013
Crossing kids and parents was nice. Was able to meet alot of people in this field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff and Supervisors
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAOctober 12, 2012
I worked at the a beach and with a group of men which was unusual to get that. Supervisors were relaxed and understanding. Training was paid for by the city which was awsome!
Pros
paid training
Cons
only a summer job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self motivated position, very busy and multi task position
Word Processor (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAJanuary 8, 2012
Great retirement benefits and excellent mother's hours. Friendly and Professional staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Worcester. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

1.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

City of Worcester Reviews by Location