Claire's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty ok
Sales Person (Former Employee) –  Jamaica, NY 11432August 14, 2018
Holidays are the worst, but schedule is flexible. Able to pierce ears from three month old and up. Best part is the smile after a piercing. Late night inventories not as fun unless you have great coworkers
Pros
half off everything, schedule pretty flexible
Cons
midnight inventories, no sneakers and holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enviornment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Yorktown Heights, NYAugust 14, 2018
Everyday was a great and exciting work experience, specifically store 5356 Yorktown heights NY
Store Manager helps fully in training and answers any questions you may be confused about whilst learning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Paramus, NJAugust 13, 2018
We worked hard everyday to reach our goals. Come together as a team and create a plan on how we will accomplish our goals and tasks but at the same time customer service.
Pros
Great pay.
Cons
Rude Customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrendous
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Leominster, MAAugust 13, 2018
You couldn't trust your upper management they would find a way to get you fired or make whoever they didnt like quit and then blame you for a lack of staff. Had a particular situation where stores would be blamed for flagging when it was all because of the upper management who trained every single store to do things in a particular manner (in particularly with their ear piercing). One day training to be a store manager right before black friday and even being promised more training which never happened. This company is a joke. You dont get treated with respect, it seems like high school drama, improperly trained staff, and unrealistic expectations. A lot of shady business within the company. No wonder they are losing traffic.
Pros
Loved my coworkers
Cons
Improper training, lack of support from upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Assistant Manager/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Augusta, GAAugust 12, 2018
open and close store, balanced out registers and log sales, drop of bank deposits. assist in training associates, customer services, setup new displays, and put out new inventory. piercings and assisting in helping customers find what they searching for. the hardest part was working during holidays and tax free time. Working in the mall as a manager as little stressful at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun atmosphere
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, OHAugust 9, 2018
Wonderful company to work for! Felt very appreciated by the company! Loved the constant traffic from customers, as well as, piercing the little ones ears for the first time!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Claire's is a very active place bu great people to work with.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYAugust 6, 2018
Claire's is a great place to work at you gain great skills while working there. Its a very busy place so you have to stay focus. The management is not so great when it comes to giving the staffs their schedules but it the job could be challenging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped me grow as a person and an employee
LEAD ASSISTANT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Potomac Mills, VAAugust 6, 2018
My boss is the best boss I could have ever worked for. She made the job worth while. The customers can be really hard and there can be a lot of work to do; sometimes it's really overwhelming, but I learned to multitask, to get things done, to be a leader, to be a team player, to sell, to pierce. Claire's will always hold a special place in my work heart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything's so happy and colorful
3rd Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Somerset, KYAugust 4, 2018
Always wearing a smile on your face for your young peers. Rediscovering the kid on the inside of you with all the glitter, lip gloss, and phone cases.
Pros
good pay, easy job.
Cons
all the pink
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work for
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  ConnecticutAugust 3, 2018
Claire's has minimal training for ear piercing. They give full-time employees with benefits max 27 hours a week. They would make you work five or more hours no break. Sometimes you work open to close without someone covering you for a half. They hire unqualified managers who are inexperienced, young, and full of drama. They do not conduct s professional work environment at all. They overstuff their stores and send ten times the product to fill the minimal backroom space including the bathroom. It was very hazardous and not safe to use the restroom with all the signage and product in the way. I do not recommend even high school kids to work in that company.
Pros
Meeting customers and making children happy
Cons
No breaks, unprofessionalism, no career advancement, no hours, no training, no staff, drama, cut-throat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Intern (Former Employee) –  Hanford, CAAugust 3, 2018
A typical day at Claire's is fun. You meet a lot of people every day. Most people to walk in are kind. Some arent but you kind of just deal with it. Also the store isn't so big so people won't be there for a long time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and fashionable place to work.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Milledgeville, GAAugust 3, 2018
I enjoy it but am worried about the future of the company. It does require a strong ability to multitask and stronger customer service skills. Lots of paperwork.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun staff and theres never down time
3rd Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Sunrise, CAAugust 2, 2018
Sales are fun and i like everyone of my team members, ear piercings are our focal point right now and always want to get them to use there discounts after the piercing! Lots of paper work, more than most jobs but its nothing too hard to pick up.
Pros
50% discount
Cons
Fixing the earing trees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the store disliked the pay.
3rd Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Davenport, IAAugust 1, 2018
i loved the store were i worked and i enjoyed doing the ear piercings. my co- workers were awesome as well. the pay for the work you had to do was not very good. you do alot of work for not alot of pay.
Pros
discount
Cons
worked alone most days, pay could have been better.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCJuly 31, 2018
I worked here for six years and Claire's was my first SM role. I learned a ton through daily challenges. It is necessary to be very organized and have high attention to detail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
3rd Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Augusta, MEJuly 31, 2018
the store and the people that work in it are very rude and cut throat. They spread drama and talk about each other behind the others backs. It was one of the worst jobs i have ever held.
Pros
50 percent of discount
Cons
lying, stealing, cut throat
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
District Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILJuly 31, 2018
Great place to get your foot in the door and gain experience. Only downfall are the work/ life ratio. Hard to come home and turn things off. One pro is experiencing new and exciting things each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting workplace
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALJuly 30, 2018
Fair and unbiased employers. Pay was decent but incentives could have been better. Small in-store discount with bonuses in the form of gift cards back to the company. Outgoing environment. Great music and wonderful customer base of young girls who are learning their own styles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Third Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Glendale, AZJuly 29, 2018
Claire's is an easy going work environment. It was never really busy so there was always down time. The hours were not set, you could go from 32 hours one week to 10 the next. Claire's is a great starting job for people in high school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful environment
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 27, 2018
The company should value the employees more, The salaries are really low compare to other retail companies. Managers lack of training and support. There should be a more effective communication between corporate and stores. The way they manage shipment is horrible, they will send 20 boxes 3 times a week to a store who barely has a backroom and 3 employees.
Pros
employee discount
Cons
short breaks, low pay, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Claire's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,381 reviews
5680
4689
3590
2242
1180

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.3

1.8Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight