Claire's Employee Reviews

Found 1,756 reviews matching the search See all 2,419 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burlington, MASeptember 22, 2018
Though it didn't offer many benefits or room for advancement, I did have a lot of fun working at Claire's and learned a lot about sales. It was the perfect first job for me.
Pros
Fun, upbeat
Cons
Little pay, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INSeptember 20, 2018
Good place to work for part time. Hours were all over the place. Didn’t get weekends off. Have to be able to pierce kids ears including babies. Working in a mall.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Littleton, COSeptember 19, 2018
Loved the culture at Claire's, but there is not much room for growth. It can be stressful at times. Hard to keep good employees for the pay they get. Great employee discount.
Cons
Low pay, No work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environement
First Key Manager (Former Employee) –  White Plains, NYSeptember 19, 2018
I loved being a third key manager at this location. Since it was inside of a mall, there was always entertainment and company. The responsibilities did not match the pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
3rd key Associate, Retail Store (Former Employee) –  Auburn Hills, MI 48326September 19, 2018
not enough hrs the work we were doing we didn't receive good enough paybut the staff was fun job was pretty lean on things we did but was overworked
Pros
discount
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool place to work
ASSISTANT SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 19, 2018
I enjoyed working for the company. I learned a lot about my leadership skills and being assistant manager. I like piercing ears and as long as you stayed busy the day went by fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Absolute Pleasure Working Here
Third Key Manager (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CASeptember 17, 2018
Claires was the first job I had where I was able to provide a one of a kind experience to customers and I absolutely loved it. From giving somebody their first ear piercing to helping somebody pick out the right accessories for their wedding, its wonderful feeling like you're a part of somebody's special moment. Theirs always something to do which is something I appreciate as well since I don't enjoy sitting around all day. My only gripe with the job is that I did not get paid anywhere near enough.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teen store
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSSeptember 17, 2018
If you don't mind working with kids as customers and coworkers then you will be just fine.

very low pay scale. Even assistant managers only got paid $9.50 an hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay isn't that great... the ear piercing is tedious
Third Key Holder (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 15, 2018
It's retail.. so it has it's pros and cons. Management was okay... however, I left because I was unhappy. And, they wouldn't send me home unless they felt like it. I stood from 9 am to 1:09 am within my second week, and I couldn't deal with getting out that late unless my pay was better.
Pros
50% off discount
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for first time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Monterey, CASeptember 13, 2018
Claire's was my first job in high school, and I really enjoyed it. My managers were great and I really liked the work environment and talking to the customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 13, 2018
claire's is a really great job to work at , really fun place to be at , you will meet alot of kids all the time and its really girly. I learned how to make sales and earn my earnings.
Pros
meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic
Key Holder/Sales Lead (Former Employee) –  Branson, MOSeptember 13, 2018
When I worked here it was nothing busy chaos. Managers didn’t know the rules, or they did and just didn’t fallow them. Completely understaffed. When closing you are there by yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 13, 2018
Minimal training for ear piercing, like really 0 training. DM was awful!! always stuff to do, but not paid enough for all they expect from you. Its not a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It could be better
Third Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VASeptember 11, 2018
Not a job that pays the bills. Only recommend for high school students looking to gain experience. Not the best work enviroments. Customers and co workers are stuck up
Cons
Limited opportunities, understaffed, under payed, short breaks for long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
3rd Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Panama City Beach, FLSeptember 10, 2018
Great place to work , great work environment, best Job I’ve ever had and loved the customers that came in . Easy to learn and piercing was new to me but became easy as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
3rd Key Manager (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARSeptember 5, 2018
Claires over all is a great company to work for. I started off at a better paying rate asbi would in other places. I enjoy working with everyone there at my job it is like a little family and that might be my favorite reason as to why i love working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, UKAugust 30, 2018
a typical saturday day at work is pretty hectic. because the shop isn't so big but we have ridiculous amount of people that come into the shop everything is pretty fast pace!
Pros
50% off
Cons
Short Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine
Third Key Manager (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMAugust 29, 2018
manager would change hours worked sometimes without notifying employees

poor management

drama

messy
lots of shoplifting
inventory is cheap and breaks easily
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Store Manager/Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILAugust 27, 2018
District managers and corporate we’re not always helpful when in need. Company is very understaffed which lead to many days without getting a break by law
Pros
Benifits
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced, stressful
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Newburgh, NYAugust 23, 2018
there are too many tasks to complete in one day as well as do good customer service.


barely enough hours given for two employees to take a break


the most enjoyable part of the job would be assisting customers with their purchases
Pros
employee discount
Cons
not enough hours to complete task work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Claire's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,420 reviews
5689
4695
3601
2247
1188

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight