Clarks Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a job
Gas Station Attendant (Former Employee) –  Mobile, ALApril 18, 2018
The Manager's always be the one stealing but quick to blame the employees and then when you try to go over your store manager head there boss dont want to hear it cant call corp they aint going to return your calls nir answer...
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Valparaiso, INApril 11, 2018
Very good people and a great place to work if your looking for good money and hard work. Their is a great leader there and great people that work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, But Corporate Calls the Shots
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZApril 8, 2018
I worked at Clarks for slightly over half a year, and what I could gather is that there are fantastic people who work there, although they do not often control what is produced by the company. There are not many bad things about this job though, as a day to day job, its fun.
Pros
Great People, Employee Discount
Cons
Short Breaks, On your feet a lot, Not much Commision (if any)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great product and people
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 5, 2018
Fun and innovative products. Good shoes make people happy. Company is stuck trying to go back 5 years to try and be successful instead of moving forward
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJ 07310March 20, 2018
Very nice environment to work in everyone is nice and keeps you motivated and going .. Manager is very understanding. You will love the associates working with you
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  atlantic cityMarch 8, 2018
I worked at an outlet store. Nasty employees, customers stealing,bad location.store outdated.the computer was so outdated and not user friendly. I understand the company has a new president. I hope he remodels stores and bring the computers to the 21st century.
Pros
okay hours
Cons
outdated computer, outdated store
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun if you like commission sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  ArizonaMarch 6, 2018
Was only there a year but did good with pay but you have to sell a lot of shoes to make good money as you are on commission.
Management is very strict on return policy.
Pros
Pay good if you play.
Cons
Management is stern on customer returns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Left because Manager was stealing sales
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAMarch 2, 2018
Felt like my checks were coming up light. Started paying closer attention to my managers. Our Asst. Managers would frequently offer to ring up our sales for us, so we could go back onto the floor and make more sales. When doing this, they were supposed to give us credit for the sale. One of my managers, I found out, was taking them for herself and when I confronted my Store Manager about it was told "Just make more sales"
Pros
Comfortable Shoes
Cons
Bad Pay, Unreliable Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTFebruary 24, 2018
Clark is a commission based pay environment, the employees were very kind and helpful, we worked very well as a team and we all take turns on chores through out the day and closing time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commission pushes you to sell
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CA 95050February 17, 2018
Clark's is in fact a great place to work if your are a student. Very flexible with hours and understanding of school/work balance. Management is the only thing that needs work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Burger Fast Food Family Restaurant
Frontline cashier (Former Employee) –  Meeker, CO 81641February 16, 2018
Greeted customers, took orders, presented food on trays, cleaned, gave correct change, fast paced and accuracy a must, necessary to jump in and assist at a moment's notice.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Relatives preferred despite their failures on the job
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced. But not very stressful.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAFebruary 9, 2018
Working at Clark's was an amazing experience for me. I was able to learn a lot from the company as well as grow with the company which is always something that I look for in the company I am interested in being employed by.
Pros
Benefits, face to face contact with customers, friendly work environment, growth within company.
Cons
Short meal breaks, small employee restrooms.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Owned Company
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 6, 2018
Clarks is a global company that is still family owned. I learned how to become a successful manager during my time with Clarks and will take everything I learned with me into my new career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 6, 2018
Company has been around for a very long time and everyone has one moto and that is meet the customer's need, build relationships and sell what the customer needs.
Pros
Really nice pay
Cons
As management very long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend
Clarks Shoes Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALFebruary 5, 2018
If you enjoy mundane, routine work with rehearsed sales techniques this is your job. Don't expect the company to take into consideration any of your thoughts and ideas, you simply work for a machine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work place
Part-time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WAFebruary 5, 2018
A typical day deals with a variety of situations like helping people find the perfect shoe and working with a fun group of people. I've learned to multi task and deal with multiple people at a time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Osage Beach, MOJanuary 29, 2018
Great hands on experience for a retail store. Customers were always very nice and often asked a lot of questions and needed more help then other store I have worked in. You must really know your product to work here.
Pros
Great customers, laid back management, rarely busy except during summer
Cons
Very little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start out in sales
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILJanuary 25, 2018
Clarks is a good company with plenty of opportunities, they tech good conversation skills and also have a great commission salary. The environment is very friendly and also offers a good way to learn skills you might have not have known before.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work in a competitive environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ponce, PRJanuary 24, 2018
we would make sales and register clients to send promotions.
I learned to be a good seller in a competitive environment with add-ons to the main product. Our supervisors would work along with us to level up sales and help employees. It was very exiting and fun place to work and the employees where incredible.
Pros
discounts
Cons
no health insurance, not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine as a part time job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Arlington, VAJanuary 20, 2018
Just a part time job, wasn’t bad, the only thing I hated was looking for shoes in the stock room. The manager was good, but as a part timer I got little hours.
Pros
Easy, decent pay, good hours
Cons
Working on weekends, didn’t get many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Clarks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 826 reviews
5283
4312
3163
243
125

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

2.5Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight