CLEARWATER PAPER CORPORATION Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
closed down
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Central Islip, NYApril 19, 2018
basicall just load boxes onto pallets management was good just didn't have any more business language was good a lot of non us citizens that didn't get paid fairly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has it ups and downs
Maintenance Technician level 8 (Lead Mechanic) (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 19, 2018
Very little advancement. Rotating shifts. Production environment without very good climate control in the summer months. Health benefits are expensive.
Pros
good pay
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement opportuinities, close community ties
Accounts Receivable Lead (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAJanuary 8, 2018
Clearwater Paper is an excellent employer in the Spokane area. Great advancement opportunities within, excellent benefits, and flexibility for home/work life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place Great People
Senior Environmental Engineer (Current Employee) –  McGehee, ARDecember 11, 2017
Awesome place to work, going through changes this year. However, would love to stay. Meetings, great people, great environment. Just need a little more job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Band Saw Operator (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, IDNovember 24, 2017
Wake up early or wake up late depending on the shift. The people are what always makes it a fun environment, its like working with one big family. Excellent pay and benefits!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall 4 out of 5
Administrative Assistant II (Current Employee) –  Spokane, WAOctober 5, 2017
Nice place to work, good staff, good benefits. Fast paced, a lot of time off, very flexible with scheduling and time off, extremely nice staff and supportive management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Swing shift sucks
8th Hand (Current Employee) –  McGehee, ARSeptember 30, 2017
Nights days nights days. Some of the guys are great, others are lazy. No one takes responsibility for their own mistakes at times. Really good money and benefits. HOT HOT HOT
Pros
Money
Cons
Shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Oklahoma City Plant was shut down on March 31, 2017
Rolled Line Wrapper Operator (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OK 73127September 8, 2017
I liked working there, but, the Oklahoma City, OK location shut down. I can't comment on any of the other locations, since I didn't work at any others.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Lot of turn over
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manufacturing
Machine Operator/Warehouse (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVSeptember 1, 2017
this company had two distinct cultures. the floor employees had good rapport and interacted well. management on the other hand is erratic not knowledgeable about operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Hire
Environrmental Summer Hire (Former Employee) –  Lewiston, IDJuly 7, 2017
Great job to have during the summer to help pay for college. They start you out at $12 an hour and you get a sold 40 hours a week. Great employees, Great Environment, and an all around great place to work
Pros
Pay, friendly people, great bosses, positive work environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love it
Traffic Coordinator, Dispatcher, Forklift Driver (Current Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 31, 2017
Very easy to progress if you're dedicated to your work. I love Clearwater and wish to continue my career with them but the Oklahoma City plant is shutting down. Everyone here is more than willing to help you in any way possible. The workplace is always kept very clean and everyone does there part, it is a well oiled machine.
Pros
Benefits, Overtime
Cons
Nothing I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is a joke
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 21, 2017
I have never seen anything like how badly mismanaged this company is from Corporate to upper management of the plant. The plant was ran into the ground by people I wouldn't trust to make my hamburger.
Pros
None
Cons
You name it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant shut down
Dispatcher / Data Entry (Current Employee) –  OKC, OKFebruary 16, 2017
Plant shut down because production could not keep machines running
High turnover rate from the top to the bottom
Cheaper to produce 1000 miles away and ship it here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current employee
Manufacturing and converting associate (Current Employee) –  Neenah, WIFebruary 7, 2017
Management and weak union running this into the ground. They force all the time lot of last minute do to call ins. Was a good place to work but new management every year trying to save the world
Pros
Pay
Cons
Bad management, union, you get forced all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Maintenance Mechanic/Electrician (Current Employee) –  North Las Vegas, NVDecember 11, 2016
Very rewarding I enjoy the people I work with, work can be tough but rewarding. Best part of the job is there is always something to do. Management listens well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and pay, balance personal life not so good
Mill Utility/ Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Neenah, WIDecember 6, 2016
The pay and benefits are very good. Like any paper mill in Wisconsin jobs seem to leave and you are stuck looking for a new job waiting to get called back. I have nothing to complain as far as my job duties and co-workers. I feel management let everyone down by failing to manage and communicate with employees. This in return resulted in mass layoffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work enviroment
Machine Operator Assistant (Current Employee) –  Elwood, ILMay 9, 2016
Myself and my coworkers always stay busy with many tasks at Clearwater paper Corporation. It has been a great company to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money isnt everything!!
Converting Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Shelby, NCDecember 10, 2015
Clearwater is an okay place to work if youre looking for a good bit of time off, good benefits, or decent pay. Sounds great right? NO! The job itself while it can be stressful is mostly easy, once you learn your machines. Here begins the problems. The turn over rate is very high, so the person training you may only have only been there a couple months, so youre only learning what this person knows. Its hard to get fired from Clearwater. Most do absolutely ridiclous things like bring weapons, or fail drug test, and another big thing is attendance. Youre allowed to miss 4 days, 5 youre fired, in a year. No sick/personal days. You do have days you can ask for in advance but if your sick or have an emergency it counts against you. In training youre told about your "qual cards" (a book that is marked in as you learn and how you get your raises.) Your told in training youre expected to get them completed by certain times and if you dont it shows them youre not learning as you should and they would ultimately let you go. They give you ample amount of time to learn. The first card takes 90 days, the second 6 months. I doesnt matter if you have been there 3 years, and your daily work shows that you dont know how to succesfully do your job and you dont have your qual started, they will not let you go. While this is great for those who arent learning, it brings the team down. You have to pick up there slack, and it causes issues with the team and the person. A lot of the upper managment came down when the Shelby plant opened, they are most all buddies and while they are approachable,  more... i wouldnt talk to any of them about another if youre having issues. They talk and drama is a big issue in Shelby, sadly its with uppermanagment causing this by talking about your co-workers, or what youve talked to them about, more than your other co-wokers. Just like high school, there is "pick of the litters" and they get special treatment while everyone else is treated like dirt. Most of the co-workers are great, and what keeps you going back. I could go on and on with negatives. All in all the headache and stress are not worth the benefits of working here. I always tell everyone if your in need of the money or benefits to apply, make them aware of the negative, and tell them to be sure they keep applying else where, because there not going to want to be stuck here long. If someone has a good job and beneifts i tell them to not even bother applying here.  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive good place to work
Complex Distribution Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lewiston, IDNovember 24, 2015
Supportive management, good work ethics with all my co-workers. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues and learning from them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work with opportunities to advance
Winder (Current Employee) –  Elwood, ILNovember 21, 2015
you work 4 days off 4 days plenty of family time most of the employees are good natured / friendly at times fast paced managers are helpful
Pros
4 days off
Cons
you work 2 days of day shift and 2 nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CLEARWATER PAPER CORPORATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 32 reviews
510
48
35
25
14

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

4.0Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.