CME Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company with good work and life balance
Senior Quantitative Analyst (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 15, 2018
I have been working in the CME group for 4 years. And CME group is a company that has good work and life balance.
I did coding and review in my daily work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limit opportunity to move to other areas
Senior Technical Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 27, 2017
Great benefits but not good if you are looking for upward mobility. If you are looking for talented people to learn from, there is plenty of diverse talent and you can take advantage of that.
Pros
Lots of talented thinkers
Cons
limited upward mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finished project measuring effectiveness of derivatives on stock performance.
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 27, 2017
Described as follow:
• Collected and standardized data from SEC, Fama French, Yahoo Finance, and WRDS.
• Conducted regression in different condition and developed materialized views for results.
• Interpreted data, wrote reports summarizing findings, and made presentation to staffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very prompt
Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 20, 2017
In working here I've experience kind and patient coworkers. I learned to adapt to the pace of the environment, as well as terms and a understanding of currency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Corporation
Financial Futures Broker/Trader/Associate Member (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 15, 2017
They Gave Me A Wonderful Opportunity To Become Very Successful As A Member Of Their Exchange!! Very Respected Futures Exchange That I'm Proud To Be A Part Of!!
Pros
Proffessional Establishment
Cons
Non That I Can Think Of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its good workplace to work
Sr. .NET Developer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 30, 2017
One day one of my collegue has completed his part of work and has taken leave then i need to combined his and mine work then i found one error in his code then i went through his code understood what he did then corrected that bug and then finally combined the code and pushed in to repository.
In this i have leaarned some new things while i am working in this project
Everyone in the team played good team work and very friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Action Packed, but can be fun
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2017
There is a lot of down time, but when you are busy, it gets very chaotic and fast paced. There is not much room to move in company unless you want to trade on the screen, because that is where it is all going.
Pros
Great hours, if like being busy action packed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits: Pension, 401K
Senior Foreign Currency Trader (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 2, 2017
Great place to work and especially if you can code.

If you are looking to move up make sure you are in the right department.

Currently the employees at CME are not very satisfied you might say.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Groveling to HFT No career advancement opportunities, neputism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced trading
Independent Clerk/Trader's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 29, 2017
Fast paced trading environment where no day is predictable. Expect the unexpected, decisions had to be made quickly and work is never taken home. You can not take anything personally in that environment or you would be dead in 3 days.
Pros
quick day
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Student Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 25, 2017
This is a very good company to work for. It is a very productive work environment that provides support for all employees. The work is consistently engaging and there is always something new to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about CME Group?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you just want to make money
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago ILOctober 19, 2017
its a great place if you just want a paycheck , very competitive , good old boy network, lacks diversity, no support , fires the good employees to keep the cliques in place.lots of turnover.
Pros
high salaries
Cons
lots of turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2017
Good company with work life balance. PTO was great. Good efficient coworkers. Company culture was also great. I didnt have any complaints. No problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 3, 2017
Fast paced environment. The company is healthy and also trying to improve their button number. They are very customer oriented. Customers/members are top priority.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great internship experience
Corporate Development Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 24, 2017
Awesome intern events with many great learning opportunities. Opportunities to give back to the community as well as work with senior leadership frequently
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Quantitative Analyst Intern (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 18, 2017
Work can be a little slow sometimes, people are fairly reserved! Salary is on the lower side and may need updating for several roles to retain good talent. Few people are very smart though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Senior Market Reporter/Trading Floor Operations (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 8, 2017
Like no other job I've ever had or heard about. Fast paced, hostile environment, loud like a sawmill factory. It was great to be a part of something that has the worlds attention. Greatest job I ever had.
Pros
Great people from all sorts of backgrounds
Cons
Automation and computerization of industry closed most of trading pits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 30, 2017
I enjoyed my time at CMI Group Dallas location. My time there I learned a lot dealing with customers and their accounts. My typical hours were M-F 10pm-7pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CME Group Environment
Lead Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2017
Very Challenging environment
Excellent teams both in IT and FP&A / SIA groups
Had an opportunity to make some really good friends
Most competitive pay compare to other companies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet a lot of characters
TRADER/BROKER (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 17, 2017
Face pace work place,high stress at times.Great location in loop.Near public transportation.Very male dominated place,lots of security.Great learning experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tremendous opportunities for success
MEMBER AND FLOOR TRADER (Former Employee) –  chicago,illinoisJuly 27, 2017
"The Merc" was a great place for me -- as primarily an independent floor trader, I was able to work when I wanted in a positively professional environment--it was very lucrative for me anyway
Pros
chaos turned to order
Cons
some people were not so nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CME Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 128 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8