CME Group Employee Reviews

Found 165 reviews matching the search See all 175 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2018
Enjoyed 15 years at the company and was instrumentally involved in the transition to electronic trading execution from open outcry.
Friendly and talented co-workers in all departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Internship (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 5, 2018
CME Group might be one of the best companies to work at. The corporate culture is phenomenal. Everybody there is approachable and willing to help. The knowledge I gained through the internship program was invaluable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Build Career
Director (Current Employee) –  United StatesAugust 27, 2018
A lot of opportunity to create what you want from within. Many people have had numerous roles over many years meaning management is open to hiring from within and changing career paths.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Sr. Java Developer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2018
Good working atmosphere & focused to achieve expected goals.
everyone is Diligent & focused towards their work & expert management , Again
good place to work at
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for this company in the beginning prior to merger.
Experienced Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2018
To corporate and not really care about their employees in the long run. Really disappointed in how the company turned out at the end. To hard to get promotions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and productive environment.
Associate Director - Clearing Operations (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 25, 2018
The CME was certainly a good environment to work in as well as a constant learning experience. Co-workers where always willing to help with guidance and their experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Quantitative/IT Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2018
9 hours of working per day. The environment and team mates are pretty encouraging. Your learning curve increases as the development projects upgrades and use the latest industry technologies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and plenty of opportunities to grow
Infrastructure Engineer I (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 26, 2018
CME Group was a great opportunity. With the 3+ years I worked there I was able to grow from a student intern into an Infrastructure Engineer. I met many professional and helpful people throughout this time and learned so much with both Desktop and Data center. Now, I am able to overcome many obstacles the technology world may bring me.
Pros
Plenty of helpful and knowledgeable professionals.
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 18, 2018
Worked for the world’s largest physical commodity futures exchange/ trading forum for energy and precious metals. Some of my responsibilities included software and hardware installation, routine systems maintenance, server administration, desktop support and client-facing troubleshooting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Risk Management Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 1, 2018
I had a great time working there the people are great, not management, they are the WORST. But colleagues are the best. Possibly the worst people I've ever meet are in leadership positions (and they are dating, like actually)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sr. Linux / Unix System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 16, 2018
Very fast paced! Very stressful, but many opportunities to learn new technologies. Pay well, always encourage employees to go to training and conferences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture and a place to really hone your skills
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 12, 2018
CME Group has a large company but does not have an overwhelmingly "big company" feel which is a good thing. Everyone I've worked with is really interested in achieving what is best and do their part to do so. They trust you in decision making and allow you to be a part of recommendation. They really work to keep a good work life balance which makes coming to work that much more pleasurable.
Pros
Great work/life balance, very considerate and pleasurable peers, challenging work and autonomy
Cons
Not very clear on career progression and obtaining additional skillsets
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting high paced environment
Commodities Trader, T.P.S. Trading (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 2, 2018
I loved working in the trading pit. It essentially doesn't exist any longer. Most trading activities are conducted electronically. It was a very high paced, high energy environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding place to work. Always room for advancement. Exciting
Chicago Mercantile Executive (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 12, 2018
I loved worked for the Chicago Mercantile Exchange. I wish I would have began my work career at the Exchange. Great experience, staff. I was very proud to work for the CME Group.
Pros
Outstanding benefits. Ability to learn and grow. Work close to Union Station. T
Cons
I had to retire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Quantitative Analyst in OTC Pricing and Valuation (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 4, 2018
I really enjoy working in CME Group. People here are so friendly and the job culture is so good. I can balance my work and life so good. I learned a lot here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My School of Hand Knocks!!!
Arb Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 21, 2018
Came here straight out of High School. Wouldn't change it for the world. Not many people get to experience their first years in the business world like this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Market Regulation (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 14, 2018
Best parts of the job is the benefits.

Fast paced environment. Always exciting.

Not very easy to advance. Management is not in-tune with employees. There are definitely cliques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Energy Business Line Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2018
1. Relaxed and welcoming environment
2. Always had tasks to complete (which I was surprised about as an intern)
3. Felt included in the team, and enjoyed working with different interns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment and great place to work
DevOps Developer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2018
Competitive environment and great place to work. Everyone at the company was extremely friendly and engaging. Good place to start and grow a career. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Risk Management - Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 27, 2018
Great coworkers, intelligent people, good management.

Positive work/life balance.

Overall a good place to start a career in the futures markets. Learned a great deal about the futures products & financial markets.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
Relatively low pay after the first few initial years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CME Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 175 reviews
574
468
326
24
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight