CME Group Employee Reviews

Found 179 reviews matching the search See all 190 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CME is an everchanging, dynamic workplace
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2018
It is rather difficult to get a promotion at CME especially from Manager to Director. It is a very bureaucratic place to spend a career and many people in the organization have literally spent their entire career knowing only this culture.
Pros
healthy compensation package, learning opportunities abound
Cons
Independent thought is stifled
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quant risk project
Intern As Quantitative Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 8, 2018
work as quant risk project in 3 months period. Meet once a week and work in a small group of 3-4 people. Learn a lot of derivative pricing skills and programing skils
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee at CME Group
Network Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 5, 2018
I was a hard-working employee who had done excellent work in all my years with CME Group. I constantly crushes my goals and was an ideal team player.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Unstable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't mix
New York Mercantile Exchange (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2018
In the acquisition of our company, the CME and NY groups didn't mix well. CME has a strong Chicago culture and a strong group of folks running the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and fun work environment
Data Center Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 23, 2018
Great company and great work environment. Managers were great and willing to teach and created a very professional culture. Overall it was an excellent place to work everyone was professional and polite.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
key exchange
Independent Interest Rate Futures Trader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 19, 2018
from the days of open outcry, the CME has always been a high volume operation, attracting sales and trading people as well as risk managers from around the world to its platform.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
no safety net
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multitasking is a must in this very diverse business
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 19, 2018
I learned many different systems throughout the years I spent at NYMEX/CME. I played a major role when the trading floor closed and all brokers/traders had to adjust to electronic trading. I trained clerks/members/traders/firms all new systems. Multitasking is a necessity is this extremely fast-paced business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Software Engineering Intern - Platform Engineering (Current Employee) –  ChicagoOctober 16, 2018
Technology provided is top notch. Constant improvements being made to tools. Collaboration across departments, work life balance is great and happy employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Senior Executive Administrator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2018
Great place to work. Great people. Opportunity to get involved with organization. Open lines of communication. Really care about employees. Pay is great.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Market Surveillance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2018
I worked at the CMA right out of college a long time ago...so i'm not sure my review should be relevant. It was a great first job and Chicago is a great city to live it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Lead PBX Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 27, 2018
this was a great place stayed 23 years took early retirement package wish I never left, but it was too good a package to pass up, wish I was ypoiunger to have stayed a lot longer in this job well worth it
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Clearing Operations Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 18, 2018
Great place to work, and everyone is very welcoming. It is a new learning experience everyday. Would recommenced this company to anyone that has a desire to move up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2018
Enjoyed 15 years at the company and was instrumentally involved in the transition to electronic trading execution from open outcry.
Friendly and talented co-workers in all departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Internship (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 5, 2018
CME Group might be one of the best companies to work at. The corporate culture is phenomenal. Everybody there is approachable and willing to help. The knowledge I gained through the internship program was invaluable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Build Career
Director (Current Employee) –  United StatesAugust 27, 2018
A lot of opportunity to create what you want from within. Many people have had numerous roles over many years meaning management is open to hiring from within and changing career paths.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Sr. Java Developer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2018
Good working atmosphere & focused to achieve expected goals.
everyone is Diligent & focused towards their work & expert management , Again
good place to work at
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for this company in the beginning prior to merger.
Experienced Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2018
To corporate and not really care about their employees in the long run. Really disappointed in how the company turned out at the end. To hard to get promotions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and productive environment.
Associate Director - Clearing Operations (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 25, 2018
The CME was certainly a good environment to work in as well as a constant learning experience. Co-workers where always willing to help with guidance and their experiences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Quantitative/IT Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 27, 2018
9 hours of working per day. The environment and team mates are pretty encouraging. Your learning curve increases as the development projects upgrades and use the latest industry technologies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and plenty of opportunities to grow
Infrastructure Engineer I (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 26, 2018
CME Group was a great opportunity. With the 3+ years I worked there I was able to grow from a student intern into an Infrastructure Engineer. I met many professional and helpful people throughout this time and learned so much with both Desktop and Data center. Now, I am able to overcome many obstacles the technology world may bring me.
Pros
Plenty of helpful and knowledgeable professionals.
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CME Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 190 reviews
582
471
329
25
13

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight