CME Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and plenty of opportunities to grow
Infrastructure Engineer I (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 26, 2018
CME Group was a great opportunity. With the 3+ years I worked there I was able to grow from a student intern into an Infrastructure Engineer. I met many professional and helpful people throughout this time and learned so much with both Desktop and Data center. Now, I am able to overcome many obstacles the technology world may bring me.
Pros
Plenty of helpful and knowledgeable professionals.
Cons
Short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced
Desktop Support Technician (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 18, 2018
Worked for the world’s largest physical commodity futures exchange/ trading forum for energy and precious metals. Some of my responsibilities included software and hardware installation, routine systems maintenance, server administration, desktop support and client-facing troubleshooting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Risk Management Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 1, 2018
I had a great time working there the people are great, not management, they are the WORST. But colleagues are the best. Possibly the worst people I've ever meet are in leadership positions (and they are dating, like actually)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Sr. Linux / Unix System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 16, 2018
Very fast paced! Very stressful, but many opportunities to learn new technologies. Pay well, always encourage employees to go to training and conferences.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work culture and a place to really hone your skills
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 12, 2018
CME Group has a large company but does not have an overwhelmingly "big company" feel which is a good thing. Everyone I've worked with is really interested in achieving what is best and do their part to do so. They trust you in decision making and allow you to be a part of recommendation. They really work to keep a good work life balance which makes coming to work that much more pleasurable.
Pros
Great work/life balance, very considerate and pleasurable peers, challenging work and autonomy
Cons
Not very clear on career progression and obtaining additional skillsets
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting high paced environment
Commodities Trader, T.P.S. Trading (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 2, 2018
I loved working in the trading pit. It essentially doesn't exist any longer. Most trading activities are conducted electronically. It was a very high paced, high energy environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding place to work. Always room for advancement. Exciting
Chicago Mercantile Executive (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 12, 2018
I loved worked for the Chicago Mercantile Exchange. I wish I would have began my work career at the Exchange. Great experience, staff. I was very proud to work for the CME Group.
Pros
Outstanding benefits. Ability to learn and grow. Work close to Union Station. T
Cons
I had to retire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Quantitative Analyst in OTC Pricing and Valuation (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 4, 2018
I really enjoy working in CME Group. People here are so friendly and the job culture is so good. I can balance my work and life so good. I learned a lot here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My School of Hand Knocks!!!
Arb Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 21, 2018
Came here straight out of High School. Wouldn't change it for the world. Not many people get to experience their first years in the business world like this.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Market Regulation (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 14, 2018
Best parts of the job is the benefits.

Fast paced environment. Always exciting.

Not very easy to advance. Management is not in-tune with employees. There are definitely cliques.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Energy Business Line Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 5, 2018
1. Relaxed and welcoming environment
2. Always had tasks to complete (which I was surprised about as an intern)
3. Felt included in the team, and enjoyed working with different interns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment and great place to work
DevOps Developer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2018
Competitive environment and great place to work. Everyone at the company was extremely friendly and engaging. Good place to start and grow a career. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Risk Management - Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 27, 2018
Great coworkers, intelligent people, good management.

Positive work/life balance.

Overall a good place to start a career in the futures markets. Learned a great deal about the futures products & financial markets.
Pros
Good work life balance
Cons
Relatively low pay after the first few initial years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 21, 2018
The CME Group is a great place to learn and grow. It offers opportunities to grow and change within the company. They offer great benefits and other additional perks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great vision, but uneven execution
Lead Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 16, 2018
I think that the work that Uptake does is vital to making companies more productive and accountable, but I don't think that the current corporate structure lends itself to maximizing its power. Were it to become a leaner and more focused enterprise, I think it could have tremendous influence on a broad variety of industries.
Pros
subsidized lunches, flexible work schedule, high-quality employees
Cons
A lack of executive direction, little direction at the team lead level, few details about corporate direction
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company with good work and life balance
Senior Quantitative Analyst (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 15, 2018
I have been working in the CME group for 4 years. And CME group is a company that has good work and life balance.
I did coding and review in my daily work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of op
Trader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 3, 2018
There was no more opportunity here to work after the banks spent all the money on tech and were faster than everyone in the business so there was no way to longer compete
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limit opportunity to move to other areas
Senior Technical Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 27, 2017
Great benefits but not good if you are looking for upward mobility. If you are looking for talented people to learn from, there is plenty of diverse talent and you can take advantage of that.
Pros
Lots of talented thinkers
Cons
limited upward mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finished project measuring effectiveness of derivatives on stock performance.
Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 27, 2017
Described as follow:
• Collected and standardized data from SEC, Fama French, Yahoo Finance, and WRDS.
• Conducted regression in different condition and developed materialized views for results.
• Interpreted data, wrote reports summarizing findings, and made presentation to staffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very prompt
Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 20, 2017
In working here I've experience kind and patient coworkers. I learned to adapt to the pace of the environment, as well as terms and a understanding of currency.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CME Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 167 reviews
570
464
326
24
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

2.5Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight