CME Group Employee Reviews

Found 185 reviews matching the search See all 197 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry leader - strong brand equity
Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 13, 2019
Vicious culture and not supporting if you're not aligned with the right groups/functions. When it's good - it's very good but conversely - bad is very bad. Tech makes it interesting - culture drains you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Word Processing Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60606February 1, 2019
My very first job so it was exciting. I quickly advanced to be a word processing operator which utilized at least 80 percent of my day. I typed for all departments within the Exchanged. I used preprinted forms and maintained legal documents. Worked with the accounting department and the legal department. Filled in for the receptionist
Pros
I learned about mailing from my experience in the mailroom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 25, 2019
I was a hard working employee and enjoyed my job, however, becoming onboard at CME was not an easy transition. I learned a lot at CME by working closely with the board members which included trading on E trade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Company to work for
Market Regulation (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL, USNovember 29, 2018
Interesting company dealing with complex systems and processes.
Enjoyed the laid back atmosphere and the overall management. CME Group does provide a lot of benefits and room for continuous improvement.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Difficult relations between services
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Configuration Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 26, 2018
Compensation was good. Benefits were good. Advancement opportunity was good. Technology was advanced. Company prestige was a good motivator to apply to (and stay with) the company.
Pros
Salary; learning opportunities
Cons
Outsourced a great percentage of the work-load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CME is an everchanging, dynamic workplace
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2018
It is rather difficult to get a promotion at CME especially from Manager to Director. It is a very bureaucratic place to spend a career and many people in the organization have literally spent their entire career knowing only this culture.
Pros
healthy compensation package, learning opportunities abound
Cons
Independent thought is stifled
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Executive Director-Finance (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 12, 2018
solid company and very profitable. Good people, very good business; Complex and interesting, but little room to grow. Company is not looking to hire / retain the best and brightest.
Pros
will stay in bsiness and be profitable
Cons
company not looking to hire / retain good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quant risk project
Intern As Quantitative Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 8, 2018
work as quant risk project in 3 months period. Meet once a week and work in a small group of 3-4 people. Learn a lot of derivative pricing skills and programing skils
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee at CME Group
Network Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 5, 2018
I was a hard-working employee who had done excellent work in all my years with CME Group. I constantly crushes my goals and was an ideal team player.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Unstable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't mix
New York Mercantile Exchange (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2018
In the acquisition of our company, the CME and NY groups didn't mix well. CME has a strong Chicago culture and a strong group of folks running the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and fun work environment
Data Center Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 23, 2018
Great company and great work environment. Managers were great and willing to teach and created a very professional culture. Overall it was an excellent place to work everyone was professional and polite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
key exchange
Independent Interest Rate Futures Trader (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 19, 2018
from the days of open outcry, the CME has always been a high volume operation, attracting sales and trading people as well as risk managers from around the world to its platform.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
no safety net
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multitasking is a must in this very diverse business
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 19, 2018
I learned many different systems throughout the years I spent at NYMEX/CME. I played a major role when the trading floor closed and all brokers/traders had to adjust to electronic trading. I trained clerks/members/traders/firms all new systems. Multitasking is a necessity is this extremely fast-paced business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Software Engineering Intern - Platform Engineering (Current Employee) –  ChicagoOctober 16, 2018
Technology provided is top notch. Constant improvements being made to tools. Collaboration across departments, work life balance is great and happy employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Senior Executive Administrator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2018
Great place to work. Great people. Opportunity to get involved with organization. Open lines of communication. Really care about employees. Pay is great.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Market Surveillance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 28, 2018
I worked at the CMA right out of college a long time ago...so i'm not sure my review should be relevant. It was a great first job and Chicago is a great city to live it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Lead PBX Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 27, 2018
this was a great place stayed 23 years took early retirement package wish I never left, but it was too good a package to pass up, wish I was ypoiunger to have stayed a lot longer in this job well worth it
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Clearing Operations Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 18, 2018
Great place to work, and everyone is very welcoming. It is a new learning experience everyday. Would recommenced this company to anyone that has a desire to move up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2018
Enjoyed 15 years at the company and was instrumentally involved in the transition to electronic trading execution from open outcry.
Friendly and talented co-workers in all departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Internship (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 5, 2018
CME Group might be one of the best companies to work at. The corporate culture is phenomenal. Everybody there is approachable and willing to help. The knowledge I gained through the internship program was invaluable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CME Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 197 reviews
584
474
330
26
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight