CME Group Culture reviews

Found 42 reviews matching the search See all 192 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CME is an everchanging, dynamic workplace
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 13, 2018
It is rather difficult to get a promotion at CME especially from Manager to Director. It is a very bureaucratic place to spend a career and many people in the organization have literally spent their entire career knowing only this culture.
Pros
healthy compensation package, learning opportunities abound
Cons
Independent thought is stifled
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee at CME Group
Network Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 5, 2018
I was a hard-working employee who had done excellent work in all my years with CME Group. I constantly crushes my goals and was an ideal team player.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
Unstable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't mix
New York Mercantile Exchange (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 4, 2018
In the acquisition of our company, the CME and NY groups didn't mix well. CME has a strong Chicago culture and a strong group of folks running the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Senior Executive Administrator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2018
Great place to work. Great people. Opportunity to get involved with organization. Open lines of communication. Really care about employees. Pay is great.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 17, 2018
Enjoyed 15 years at the company and was instrumentally involved in the transition to electronic trading execution from open outcry.
Friendly and talented co-workers in all departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Internship (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 5, 2018
CME Group might be one of the best companies to work at. The corporate culture is phenomenal. Everybody there is approachable and willing to help. The knowledge I gained through the internship program was invaluable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Sr. Java Developer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 1, 2018
Good working atmosphere & focused to achieve expected goals.
everyone is Diligent & focused towards their work & expert management , Again
good place to work at
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun!
Risk Management Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 1, 2018
I had a great time working there the people are great, not management, they are the WORST. But colleagues are the best. Possibly the worst people I've ever meet are in leadership positions (and they are dating, like actually)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Quantitative Analyst in OTC Pricing and Valuation (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 4, 2018
I really enjoy working in CME Group. People here are so friendly and the job culture is so good. I can balance my work and life so good. I learned a lot here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive environment and great place to work
DevOps Developer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 27, 2018
Competitive environment and great place to work. Everyone at the company was extremely friendly and engaging. Good place to start and grow a career. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Corporation
Financial Futures Broker/Trader/Associate Member (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 15, 2017
They Gave Me A Wonderful Opportunity To Become Very Successful As A Member Of Their Exchange!! Very Respected Futures Exchange That I'm Proud To Be A Part Of!!
Pros
Proffessional Establishment
Cons
Non That I Can Think Of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you just want to make money
Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago ILOctober 19, 2017
its a great place if you just want a paycheck , very competitive , good old boy network, lacks diversity, no support , fires the good employees to keep the cliques in place.lots of turnover.
Pros
high salaries
Cons
lots of turnover
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 11, 2017
Good company with work life balance. PTO was great. Good efficient coworkers. Company culture was also great. I didnt have any complaints. No problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 3, 2017
Fast paced environment. The company is healthy and also trying to improve their button number. They are very customer oriented. Customers/members are top priority.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 30, 2017
I enjoyed my time at CMI Group Dallas location. My time there I learned a lot dealing with customers and their accounts. My typical hours were M-F 10pm-7pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CME Group Environment
Lead Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 28, 2017
Very Challenging environment
Excellent teams both in IT and FP&A / SIA groups
Had an opportunity to make some really good friends
Most competitive pay compare to other companies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked as a trader for myself
Futures Trader (Former Employee) –  Libertyville, ILJuly 27, 2017
Everyday it was up to me to find opportunities in the market. income was based on your success daily. you ate what you killed. it was a very competitive environment.
Pros
total work life balance
Cons
no health insurance no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, Dynamic Environment
Desktop Support (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 19, 2017
CME Group was perhaps the best workplace I have personally experienced although I would say it is not for the faint of heart if you wish to excel and move up the ranks demonstrating the capcity to lead amongst leaders is at minimum a prerequisite.
Pros
Great team members who support group growth, excellent compensation packages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Corporate Communications Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 9, 2017
Good place for stable job in your later years, not so much for fresh grad out of college. Co-workers were nice. Women's initiative at the firm is commendable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive place on the edge of innovation
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2015
Every corporate environment is expected to have red tape and politics, but the focus was always in making sure I executed my role in supporting staff and management in the best way possible. Without the liberty of the management team enabling my ideas and innovation to be implemented in my role, my development and growth could had been stunted but, I was able to operate out of the box and help to standardize effective process improvement administratively in several areas of the technology division. I have learned many things from my colleagues that promoted this growth professionally and personally. I would definitely say that CME Group takes care of the employees investing in their development. As people grow professionally and personally, the company grows. Change is not always easy but doable if open and flexible.The most enjoyable times were interacting and collaborating with, not just a department, but a team working towards the same goal for the company. Unfortunately, due to budget constraints, many were affected by the lay-off.
Pros
Inhouse training made available for employee development and continuous growth, work life balance, and great benefits
Cons
Budget cuts and massive lay-offs
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CME Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 192 reviews
582
472
330
25
13

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight