Coast Guard Exchange Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAMay 15, 2018
Even without cashiering/retail experience, the staff made sure you felt comfortable. After learning everything, the job can give you a lot of experience for future jobs and plenty of customer service opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment varies.
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kodiak, AKMarch 12, 2018
Could be a fast paced environment but usually slow to moderate. Its a bit like typical retail environment but not too stressful. Good place to learn a lot about sales if you're into Sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAMarch 7, 2018
Great place to manage school and work. Great people that work there. Managers are great for the most part. Very slow paced working environment. Great for young people.
Pros
very flexible
Cons
very slow paced working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Aguadilla, PRFebruary 12, 2018
It was a great working enviotment! With good chain of command. Really flexible in schedules and it was a great opportunity to make a carrer. Ecxellent Job!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Teachers Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cape May, NJDecember 31, 2017
Productive
A lot of training to help fulfull job requirements
the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the children grow and develop in all criteria.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Astoria, ORNovember 17, 2017
Management was excellent. Store was very organized. Operations went very smooth. Staff was punctual, and very knowledgeable of products. Customer service was impeccable and staff was always happy to help.
Pros
Cheerful atmosphere
Cons
Short breaks, no room for growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast paced
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PROctober 28, 2017
A typical day at work, I would stock all the items. If the cash register was empty then I would multitask, I'd be on the cash register when customers were ready to pay, when I'd finish I'd go back to stocking if I had anything left or do teamwork with another employee. I learned how to manage to be in a fast paced workplace. The management was organized. The workplace culture was undeniably stressful but worth being in. The hardest part of the job was the fact it was my first experience. The most enjoyable part was that working there also meant supporting and servicing those in the Coast Guard.
Pros
Good pay, breaks, safe workplace
Cons
no overtime pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
CASHIER CHECKER (Current Employee) –  Aguadilla, PRAugust 21, 2017
Each day I personally learn something new, everything has to be done by the rules, and they are very strict with their policies. The management is very comprehensive when it comes to a situation that you've been through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CAJuly 20, 2017
good place to work
good manager
flexible
friendly coworkers and customers
not competitive pay and benefits
a good job for a student not engough pay to make a living
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kodiak, AKJune 14, 2017
This was honestly one of the best places I could work! The work environment was great and so were the managers and my coworkers. Everyone was treated well and they were very good about working with each individual person and their work needs.
Pros
great staff, long breaks, fair treatment, amazing work environment
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Alameda, CA 94501June 5, 2017
The job is pretty simple, most the time it is not stressful. My co workers and managers are friendly. Its a laid back job.The enviorment is relaxing and for the most part it is relaxing. Management can be strict but understanding.
Pros
no civillians
Cons
military personel with manners
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ketchikan, AKMay 5, 2017
* Learned a great deal of team work
* Had the opportunity to interact with customers on a daily basis creating strong interpersonal relationships
* Must work with military personnel to receive shipments
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace, too much drama
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAApril 26, 2017
Coast Guard Exchange is a great place to work for people looking for a first job because the environment is friendly and easy to work in. The only problem was the drama between a lot of the employees. Almost every employee had drama with someone, and it grew to be very obnoxious and immature. Management also likes to play favorites with people, and that is absolutely wrong. I had an okay time working there, but the drama drove me away. It's not worth the time or money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Atmosphere
Retail Clerk/ Receiver (Current Employee) –  Michoud, LAFebruary 13, 2017
The day has a ease of flow and procedures daily. The employees are very helpful and supportive through daily task. The manager is very interactive and hands on. Shipments vary in size but are always handled and processed. Clean store and awesome customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  San Juan, PRJanuary 16, 2017
Is a great place to work, with a great environment and good coworkers. I can practice my english with the soldier(clients) and you can know people from another places.
Pros
benefits
Cons
to far from where i live
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for miliatary
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CAJanuary 14, 2017
Lead Sales
set up and accounted for cash drawers
assist customers
stock shelves
run reports for end of shift
stock shelves
train new associates on cash register
Pros
working with military
Cons
turn arounds
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful to Work With
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCJune 26, 2016
This was a fantastic position. The overall environment was awesome. The people I worked for and worked with were generous, courteous, and wonderful to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales Clerk/Store Worker (Current Employee) –  Aguadilla, PRJune 12, 2016
A typical day at work. You will learn a lot of stuff within the place. Management is good. Co-workers are great and help you if u need anything. Hardest part is working with pressure in holidays. Most enjoyable part of the job is tat you get to know people and learn something new from other departments.
Pros
good experience, good teamwork
Cons
short breaks, not to much hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Workplace
Cashier/Checker (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAMarch 17, 2016
A typical day at work was moderately busy. The employees were helpful and nice. I learnd how to handle money and how to use an automated cash register.
Pros
Wage, the employees
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 12, 2015
Working at the Cost Guard exchange of Boston , MA I learned a lot. It was definitely a different experience. You meet people from around the world and cultures. An the work environment very enjoyable. This work experience help me learned a lot and I became a better leader.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coast Guard Exchange. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 30 reviews
59
414
35
22
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture