COEN OIL Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 17 reviews
Ratings breakdown
55
46
32
23
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 17 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, PANovember 22, 2017
Performed opening and closing procedures, prepared daily paperwork and reported to headquarters, made monetary deposits, and maintained inventory and stock control.
Pros
Continuous work
Cons
High Turn around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Washington, PANovember 10, 2017
Fun working environment. Close team with a good manager. Lots of time off after just working here for a few years. Benefits are also a plus. Discounts on Tires are nice too!
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
Stores needs new pumps
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
ruff creek market (Former Employee) –  Canonsburg, PAOctober 24, 2017
Other Co workers make you feel like you don't belong, minimal help with problems, not very friendly, liked one manager she was very cool helped when needed but no one else is truly good to other employees
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks, hour shortage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAAugust 1, 2017
very fast paced place to work at. however the management is lacking and the employees are very rude. the store is cluttered an unorganized. very small
Pros
free drinks
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate needed to be more involved. Liked co-workers.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAJune 8, 2017
Understaffed regularly. Really enjoyed job in the beginning as a clerk. To better myself took the assistant manager then manager position. Upper management more interested in opening new stores and not worrying about older stores.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
No concern from corporate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, PAApril 26, 2017
Often started at 4:30 a.m. Environment was as expected for a gas/store.

High turnover/theft was common at locations. Risk for violence was high, but security and wages were low.
Pros
No 24 hour locations
Cons
upper managment needed diversity training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great bosses
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Steubenville, OHFebruary 19, 2017
Its a good company to work for. Great customers. Friendly environment. Very patient with new comers. Will promote from with in the store or company. Promote within the business
Pros
good atmosphere
Cons
barely any breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat with no explanation
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Greensburg, PAFebruary 8, 2017
My typical work day involved 10 hr days with no breaks . Fast paced but love that part of a job .Mornings including emptying out safe and lottery for cash deposits , downloading close dailies for the registers to balance , balancing cash drawers for the day , PDI , Handheld scanner downloads , going over all paperwork for previous day , receiving from reps , making orders for store supplies including cigarettes .Etc... Loved it at first but quickly learned it wasn't the company for me . The corporate world did not like managers asking questions or wanting them to make better stores , Very disappointing . Hardest part of the job was keeping the employees on their tasks and not so nice customers . Most enjoyable part of the job for me was all my customers and reps , they were always putting a smile on my face .
Pros
Bonuses
Cons
Not given the bonuses that you know you deserved, No discounts given to employees, No breaks whatsoever
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, PAJanuary 18, 2017
Love the job. Especially the customers. Feel I was wrongly let go. They promoted me on a drivers permit. Was doing my assistant manager duties with no problem. A few weeks ago I didn't pass my drivers test so they let me go. MY co workers were awesome and the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and relaxed atmosphere
Human Resources Intern (Current Employee) –  Canonsburg, PAJanuary 8, 2017
Owners are very personable and care about their employees.
Managers take time to teach when a teaching moment is prevalent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  Canonsburg, PANovember 18, 2016
Coen has a great affordable benefit package. I think they have a great paid time off and holiday program. There have been a lot of positive changes in the past 2 years.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my position
IT Technician (Former Employee) –  Washington, PAAugust 29, 2016
This position was great. I gained a lot of experience working there both in the oil industry and IT field. My leadership was always willing to train and help me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace, very friendly co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brilliant, OhioJune 13, 2016
I learned how to work the lottery machine, waited on customers, restocked shelves, ran register, co-workers was awesome, overall loved the job. The downside was when the manager threatened my job the day I came back from vacation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level management job.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Herminie, PAJune 14, 2015
The store I worked at was small, only seven employees. It was close to home and provided me with a good work/life balance. I opened and closed the store, counted inventory, and handled orders for the store. I was also in charge of running the registers and counting the stores deposits.

The reason I am no longer there is they sold the store I worked at and didn't offer us a job at any other store. We were only given seven days notice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brilliant, OhioSeptember 1, 2014
I learned how to run the lottery machine.
My co-workers where great to work with.
I enjoyed being close to home and the people I waited on.
I like my boss until she threatened my job when I came back from vacation.
Pros
close to home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Staffing
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  New Martinsville, WVSeptember 8, 2012
Management does awesome! Works with you to ensure you're working the shifts that best suits you!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport