Cogent Communications Employee Reviews

3.0
Overall rating
Based on 122 reviews
Ratings breakdown
517
429
331
228
117
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 100 reviews matching the search See all 122 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cogent is simple, inexpensive large bandwidth connections
Global Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 24, 2018
Cogent is the perfect fit for the right client. If the client location is OnNet there really is no comparison in the market. this is the cheapest bandwidth you can get.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro management and tremendous focus on vanity metrics
National Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CASeptember 16, 2018
Cogent leadership has a plan. It works for them and for the stock holders. Unfortunately that comes at he expense of employee satisfaction and retention.
Pros
Simple plan and focus
Cons
Micro management with ridiculous focus on statistics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not deliver on interview promises
National Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAAugust 18, 2018
Was told I would be considered for management as soon as there was an opening. As soon as I was hired, they told me I had to wait one year to be considered. Also, was sold on being able to work remotely. Wound up having to go into the office 100% of the time even though I was above quota.
Pros
None at all
Cons
Salary, commission, meetings, o0ffice requirements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management practices
Migrations Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COAugust 14, 2018
Job was changed within 2 weeks with more responsibility and no increase in pay. Customers did not appear to be important to the company and inexperienced management
Pros
none
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
GLOBAL ACCOUNT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 10, 2018
Bad Leadership, Company need to change the culture the people would stick around a lot longer. Change the quota expectation since voice is not an option.
Pros
none
Cons
Bad Leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 8, 2018
Great Place to work and the management is good. I like that my supervisor teaches me and helps me gain valuable knowledge.
I have learned a great deal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Cogent
Director of Service Delivery (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 15, 2018
Long hours, but working on an advanced network is exciting and great for my career. Cogent is a trendsetter and has state of the art technology. Meeting customer requirement was fulfilling
Pros
learning new technologhy
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work-environment. Loved the work.
Customer Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 9, 2018
Great experience and great work environment. Loved every minute of my time spent at cogent. I learned so much in a very short period of time because of my management and co-workers.
Pros
Very exciting work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 1, 2018
Dictator approach versus a more approachable, coaching type of leadership. Boiler room atmosphere, micromanagement environment. It has been a very unpleasant tenure, not as expected.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people/services
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAMay 31, 2018
Great company with great people and services. Did what they said they would do! Excellent CEO - talks the talk and walks the walk. Very supportive atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational place to work
INSIDE SALES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAApril 15, 2018
A lot of training was provided, daily meetings, weekly goals, ability to advance and re-locate. Management was always available to offer guidance and advice.
Pros
Advancement
Cons
Office was located in a warehouse
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DCApril 9, 2018
management is stuck in the 90's of sales and us a terrible manager in the DC office. very condescending and not a very nice person. would laugh at you if you asked for help and made fun of other reps while they were working and always thinking he was right and never wrong and told employees he can talk to them however he wants since hes the manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Most Enjoyable Aspect of the Job
Consultant (Current Employee) –  NY/ San Francisco, CAApril 4, 2018
I am the CEO and chief writer (sole proprietor). I enjoy serving clients from a wide variety of industries.

I have worked with CEOs of several high-tech companies, including Hewlett-Packard, Agilent Technologies, Cisco, Intel. he wore has been challenging, but rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harassed and bullied constantly
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 3, 2018
Would never recommend working here. Most unethical company I have ever worked for. I was promised certain benefits when I accepted the position, then they took them away within 2 months. I was bullied, harassed and even stalked by my manager. Scary place.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything - no work life balance, respect or gratification
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment
Regional Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAMarch 26, 2018
I have nothing, but good things to say about COGENT. They offered ways to advance within the organization, as well as, offered continuous training for their account managers. Had highly qualified trainers to train the sales floor.
Pros
Offered ways to advance
Cons
High forecast
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAMarch 3, 2018
I was hired as an Inside Sales rep, months later they decided to change the entire role to Account Managers, giving us a higher quota and more work with no incentives or increase of salary. Management is VERY poor, they are the main problem of this company. Unsuccessful managers that have been with the company for more than 2 years and haven't been able to reach their quotas try to blame this on their reps when clearly THEY are the issue. The company really sucks and I would not recommend anyone to work here. If you want to work in a Telecommunications environment with a good pay and better incentives, I'd apply for the ones that are known instead of Cogent.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management, poor pay for what you do
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away From This Company
National Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 23, 2018
Lack of real management. Red Tape. Too many cooks.
too may contradicting directions because of certain peoples personal interests.
teams forced to compete against each other.
no real grasp of target market from marketing leaders.
no innovation...forced to do same tactics and more repetition hoping to get a better result (def of insanity)
an HR that fails at keeping a safe and …
Pros
Free coffee and and soda
Cons
Poor corporate culture, overworks employees and easy to burnout, lack of job training and support, higher than normal turn-over rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely high internal competition
National Account Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 22, 2018
- extremely high turnover rate among account managers, especially within the first year of employment
- extremely high internal competition among account managers
- good life/work balance
- great training for new hires
- great product/service that provides a lot of value to its clients
- expected to make a lot of cold calls
- biggest challenge: internally competing with other account managers for client accounts
- difficult to get/create new good accounts since most are already taken by other account managers
- company gives new hires up to 6 months to close their first account, however, a lot of reps don't meet that deadline, which creates very high turnover rate for new employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basically a high pressure and high turnover call center environment.
National Account Manager (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 13, 2018
40 calls and 40 outbound email's per day mostly cold, Prospecting own leads daily. Working with referral partners and other networking opportunities. Small network foot print. Micromanagement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Manager was great
Regional Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, CAJanuary 23, 2018
It really depends on your manager and the knowledge that you have to make the day go by quickly. Other than that the company doesn't invest into its workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cogent Communications. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

1.7InHerSight Score

1.6Personal Development

1.2Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight