College of DuPage Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Camp
Youth Aide (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILApril 15, 2018
Working at the summer camp is a great job for any college students with time in the summer. Got to plan activities for the children and spend the whole day with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
IT Support Helpdesk (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILApril 9, 2018
I liked working here a lot. Very nice and friendly environment with a doable amount of work and good break times. Great team and managers, really helped each other out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing stress free environment with good co workers
LIFEGUARD (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILApril 4, 2018
It's part-time work so you won't be getting a lot of cash for the work but the hours per week are extremely flexible. Especially if you are going to class on top of doing this job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aiga officer
AIGA OFFICER (Former Employee) –  glenn ellynMarch 6, 2018
Good environment to work at while getting your degree, everyone is friendly and up to the challenge to bring design to the mac building. Teachers and students are always ready to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Training Opportunity
Student Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILJanuary 26, 2018
Very professional environment for training new teachers. Opportunities given for growth and creativity. Collaborative working environment in the classroom.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and enjoyable
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILJanuary 12, 2018
Working at the college was a good experience understanding the school and meeting the needs of diverse students. Good management and good training. No challenging part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
COD is a good place for adjuncts
Adjunct Faculty Professor (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILJanuary 4, 2018
The facilities and environment are very good at College of DuPage. The school is dedicated to the students and education. The campus infrastructure is excellent.
Pros
Facilities
Cons
Course assignments may be limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It all depends on your manager
Benefits Manager (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILDecember 29, 2017
Like with any job, the manager can make it great or not so great. Faculty and Administrators are treated very well and of course faculty get tenure after 3 years. Tuition for your kids is a bonus as 2/3 of their tuition is paid for by the college when you are a full time employee. Depending on your department, you can actually get up to $1850 in professional development but it is not an easy process to get approval or reimbursed for your expenses.

New Hires get 10 days of vacation which is less than other community colleges and there is a 6 month probationary period -
for staff positions; which I found astonishing. Additionally, you may use your vacation until after your probationary period is over.

The culture used to be wonderful I have been told by multiple potential retirees as they were preparing to retire from the college. However, things changed dramatically with the previous president and it is terribly difficult to replicate the wonderful comradely of the past.

The hardest part of the job is having to do everything by committee. I guess that is a higher education thing but if you come from corporate where you are expected to be a self starter and get things done, you may have a hard time being successful.

The most enjoyable thing about the job is that you get to interact with students in the halls which is certainly a great experience
Pros
reduced tuition if you have college age children
Cons
very old fashion environment, no trust in employees and limited time off for new hires.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Event Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILDecember 29, 2017
simple job I was able to do at the junior college I was attending at the time. It was good for me because it allowed me to attend school while playing football to make money to pay rent. I just wish I could have gotten paid a little more or received more hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive relaxed
Community Service Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILDecember 29, 2017
great relaxed place to work clear objectives nice people i only volunteered there but was offered permanent work, they effectively plan jobs and chores around the school with open communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Useful
Library Computer Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILDecember 19, 2017
I learn so much about the services that are provided to students, and I learn more about Microsoft products and such. It's a great experience, and the hardest part of the job is probably waking up early in the morning, since i'm usually scheduled in the morning. Otherwise, the most enjoyable part of this job is learning how to do things, and helping others with stuff you know how to do. Otherwise, there is always someone higher up with more experience than you who can teach and help you with a customer or student.
The typical day is usually slow, and there are sometimes busy lines especially at the beginning on a semester.
Pros
discounts, it's at my college, breaks, short hours
Cons
Can only work up to 20 hours if a full time student in many cases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Reference Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILDecember 7, 2017
The person in this position, under the leadership and direction of the Reference Supervisor, assists in providing reference assistance to patrons and related duties as required. Essential Job Functions: cash register, fax machine, copier, Print Station in conjunction with regular job functions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, fast-paced environment
Adjunct Professor of Accounting (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILDecember 5, 2017
Enjoyed teaching advanced accounting concepts to motivated students,

Facilities were great, administrative support was outstanding.

Rewarding opportunity
Pros
Outstanding students
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful work environments with great co-workers.
Media Library Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILNovember 21, 2017
overall, college of Dupage is a great place to work. I have a wonderful suppervisor. Who support me with everything I need to be productive. College of Dupage is the best place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Administrative Assistant I (Current Employee) –  Counseling & AdvisingNovember 8, 2017
- Before the beginning of a semesters, work is very busy with seeing tons of students
- I learned about how the COD counseling is set up to help students succeed.
My experience was one of a kind. Lots of great people to work with. Once I got settled and comfortable, everything became a breeze.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and Exciting
Adjunct Professor of English (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILNovember 1, 2017
COD is a wonderful place to work. The college provides many opportunities to both students and faculty to participate in unique activities and advance their professional or personal goals. The administrators are always available to provide assistance and guidance without micromanaging, and the departments work together seamlessly.
Pros
Students, Support from Administration, Colleagues
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
would work part or full time not a student worker
Student worker warehouse assistant (Former Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILNovember 1, 2017
I enjoyed my time at College of Dupage working in the warehouse, the only issue was that it was a student job meaning i was given low work hours and just over minimum wage. If i was working there full or part time i would probably still be there, it was a lot of manual labor moving packages all across the campus but the company you came back to in the warehouse really made the time go by.
Pros
fun people to work with
Cons
low amount of hours, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cosmetology Instructor
Cosmetology Instructor (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILOctober 12, 2017
Classes are 8 weeks or 16 weeks. Students have a different teacher every day for a different subject. It is a face paced learning experience. They pay is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with great people
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILAugust 31, 2017
The College offers a great work environment with extremely helpful people throughout the College and department. The student body is exceptional and the college itself is stunning. The College offers a good pay scale and a balanced atmosphere.
Pros
Balanced work environment
Cons
Benefits could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Accounts Receivable Specialist (Current Employee) –  Glen Ellyn, ILAugust 19, 2017
Great place to work. People are friendly and willing to help you along the way. Plenty of fringe benefits. Hours are great to maintain a healthy and productive home life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at College of DuPage. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 105 reviews
563
435
35
22
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.2Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.4

3.6Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight