College of Lake County Employee Reviews

Showing all 110 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting learning environment
Adjunct Faculty Member (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJuly 26, 2018
Great working envirionment, flexible, interesting, challenging, instructing college students is exciting, fulfilling, fellow adjunct faculty are pleasant, always ready to help out, good leraning environnment.
Pros
Ability to teach clinical and or theory classes, day, evening, weekends schedules that fit into your schedule if you have another job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJuly 19, 2018
Great place to work, clear institutional culture. One of the best colleges in the region, in the suburb but close enough to the city with great airport
Pros
Winter breaks
Cons
Salary is lower compared to other community colleges in the region
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Program Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJune 20, 2018
I actually miss this job. I took it for granted because I was so young and it was only temporary but I wish I could work there again. My management was inspiration.
Pros
growing environment
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Automotive Lab Manager (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJune 14, 2018
The college of lake county was a great place to work except for the low salary of pay for the staff employees. The benefits are amazing and most of the people that you encounter are extremely friendly however it is a government institution and politics do play a heavy role.
Pros
benefits, time off, tuition reimbursement
Cons
Politics, unethical behavior, pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time instructor
Adjunct Economics Instructor (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJune 7, 2018
Descent place to work.
It's a community college, what else is there to say?
Meet some actual communists.
Used the benefits of working there to take classes for free
Pros
flexable
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and interesting place to work
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILMay 30, 2018
The College of Lake County is a great place to work. I recommend this community college for students of any age or background. Also, it's a great place to work as a teacher or staff position.
Pros
Working with great people
Cons
No benefits or real job security for adjuncts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive job experience
Senior Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILMay 22, 2018
excellent managers and co-workers,
always on time an willing to help and improve the daily job
never had a complain and always felt welcome and support
Pros
excellent manager
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and relaxing
Janitor (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILMay 14, 2018
I have worked there for 4 yrs. the 3rd shift gets in the way of my home life, sleeping all day and there's no family time.
If you are single, it's a good job for a younger generation.
Pros
Friendly co-workers, overtime
Cons
3rd shift life is difficult when you have a family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back and fun to work on projects
Computer Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILApril 26, 2018
I think its a great place to get into the academic career as a starter job. I got to learn a lot at the my department. You get to know a lot of personal from other departments as well. This includes: Students, professors, other staff, and board members.
Pros
Sometimes free lunches, discounts, and flexible work times
Cons
Pay was not so great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Recommend working at CLC
First Generation Retention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILMarch 18, 2018
I enjoyed my short tenure at College of Lake County. The staff was friendly, the culture was relaxed. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to work with students and knowing you made a difference.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching students chemistry
Chemistry Tutor (Part Time) (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILFebruary 1, 2018
I enjoy working with students helping them understand chemistry concepts, solving laboratory problems and preparing them for exam. I also like atmosphere in the college where students are studying various subjects and we as tutors are helping them. While working with other peer tutors we gain lot of knowledge and information about various topics and different methods of teaching.
Pros
Very friendly working atmosphere and manager.
Cons
Limited hours allowed per week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CLC is a great place to work
Welcome & One Stop Manager (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJanuary 27, 2018
They really care about the staff and faculty. Many benefits including work time training on lifestyle and safety. Team attitude in our department keeps the stress levels down!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back
Senior Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILJanuary 19, 2018
They college of lake county was a very nice job to have, I only left because I needed different hours. Everyone was very nice and willing to help when needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College of work for
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILJanuary 9, 2018
Probably the best College I've work for, great to work with always help you when it is needed. They have also been striving to make things better for contract employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job experience as a computer lab assistance
Computer Lab Assistant (Student Employment) (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILDecember 26, 2017
As a computer lab assistant in College of Lake Country, I assisted students and community members on how to do specific tasks on PC. I cleaned and ensure the lab looks neat and uncluttered. Lastly, I cleaned PC in different classrooms at the campus and updated them during semester breaks.
Pros
Layback, Interaction with students and community members
Cons
Pay for student workers, compentation, location of the campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was challenged to do my best. I was supported by my coworkers and wisely guided my my department chair.
Adult Literacy Tutor (Former Employee) –  Zion, ILDecember 23, 2017
I very much enjoyed my time at CLC. I was allowed to be creative in my instruction styles. I appreciated the motivation shown in my adult students. The pay was quite acceptable. Office support could not have been better. All in all a great experience.
Pros
Office support
Cons
Lack of time to earn Professional Development Credit Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clubs and Cliques
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waukegan, ILDecember 10, 2017
At CLC Lakeshore some of the Professors are not Professors, and lack advance Degrees. Some of them only have an Associates or Bachelors degree, with some or no experience.
they have a clique like culture. If your in your in and if your not your not. I would not recommend working there.
Pros
Little or no benefits
Cons
No room for growth or advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall is a good part time job for a student.
Computer Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vernon Hills, ILNovember 28, 2017
Good for part time while being a student. Typical day would include filling the printer with paper and making sure it has sufficient ink levels. Replace printer ink if needed. Assist students or faculty with computer related issues.
Pros
Works around your school schedule
Cons
Slow paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and an educational place to work
Peer Mentor/Tutor (Former Employee) –  Grayslake, ILNovember 21, 2017
When I was working as a Peer Mentor at the College of Lake County I was able to get up on my feet and begin to learn what it was like to work for the people and the state. I was able to gain experiences and learning tools that has helped me with my Pier 1 employment.
Pros
Great place to get started in the work force
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Part-Time accountant (Current Employee) –  Grayslake, ILNovember 21, 2017
Mentor and tutor college students. One of the most rewarding things is when a student gets an accounting concept and knowing that I helped get him there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at College of Lake County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 110 reviews
556
426
315
25
18

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture

College of Lake County Reviews by Location