Columbia Association Employee Reviews

Showing all 60 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moderate day at work
Front Desk Attendant (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDMarch 22, 2019
On an average day I answer phone calls from members and guest to reserve tennis Court time. I replace water and maintain cleanliness of the court and office. I receive payment transitions over the phone or in person from members or guess.
Pros
Interactions with members.
Cons
Only a part time position with no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great!
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMarch 20, 2019
I do not have much work experience, but the environment and the children there was great. Sometimes, it was exhausting, but you will get used to it. Overall, your coworkers will be very friendly, and you will bond overtime.
Pros
Everyone there is friendly
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Town Center Lakefront Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMarch 3, 2019
I worked at this company for over 20 years in Open Space Management. The work was done outside of the facility daily. Employees work within a crew. If there were any residential issues we would have to address with the residents
Pros
Several locations
Cons
Working in extreme weather conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Writer/Editor/Proofreader (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJanuary 19, 2019
I had the opportunity to wear many hats and further my skills at CA. I worked in the marketing/communications department, which was full of amazing and talented people.
Pros
Good benefits and pay.
Cons
Traffic if you don't live in Columbia.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Collaborative
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDJanuary 3, 2019
nice place to start as ayoung person n the aquatics division. I came in a little late so i felt out of place but CA has hundreds of jobs that yu can be a part of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 28, 2018
Decent place to work but most positions are now seasonal without benefits. Great place to start out if you're young, in college, or live within the Howard County area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low culture
Cluster Leader (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDDecember 26, 2018
The company does not allow much upward growth. Overall those running the show are little interested in input from the workers themselves, and the potential is very minimal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide emergency care and treatment
Assistant Swim Team Coach (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDNovember 30, 2018
I Maintained constant surveillance of guests in the facility. I also communicated with patrons and other coworkers to maintain a safe environment. I also provided emergency care when necessary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Kendall RidgeOctober 16, 2018
As a lifeguard you will..
-Supervise and evaluate the staff to insure that safety standards and cleanliness of facility are maintained
-Enforce water safety rules and regulations
-Provid leadership and motivation to staff
-Routinely inventoried equipment and supplies
Certified Pool Operator
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work!
Party & Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MDSeptember 17, 2018
I enjoy working for Columbia Association! You can find almost any position that fits your interests and lots of opportunities for growth. The full time positions are hard to come by, but you can start or continue your career with them!
Pros
Excellent benefits. Job Advancement. Relaxed atmosphere.
Cons
Salary is not quite high enough for the location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an experience that helped me grow
LIFEGUARD (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDSeptember 11, 2018
Working at Columbia association was a fun and interesting experience that helped me grow as a person. I learned how to perform CPR and how to properly keep a crowd under control. The managers were always helpful and helped me every step of the way.
Pros
discount at snack bar and for guest passes
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work and good benefits
Construction & Facility Maintenance Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Columbia, MD 21046September 5, 2018
Great place to start out and if your looking for great benefits, Can be a career for the right person, Chance to meet a lot of nice people through years,
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Unknowledged staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Columbia Park, MDJuly 24, 2018
Efficient workers and mission of company
flexible hours and versatile jobs
easy to learn equipment
constant and available training
Friendly staff and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 14, 2018
Management was pretty terrible and you weren’t always properly trained. They don’t alwaus treat you with respect and sometimes you’re disregarded. Can be unreasonable.
Pros
free mebership
Cons
not the best work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok Job
Front Desk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, MDJune 8, 2018
The job at the front desk at a gym as grueling to say the least. Very boring but it pays the bills for a high school or college student. Would not recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Aquatics Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDJune 6, 2018
it provides good starting employment for high school and college students. Can advance career in Columbia Association but it would take time. I enjoyed my time working for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work.
Event Coordinator - Concert Producer, Director (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDMay 4, 2018
I worked as a contractor, so not technically employed. Management was easy and fun to work for. They provided everything I needed to perform my contracted work. They did not micromanage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There as always opportunity for advancement.
Lifeguard (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 17, 2018
Columbia Association is built on family and community; we all work together to get the task done and make sure everybody is ok. Customer service was also a big thing, no one person goes without being greeted.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and great summer job
LIFEGUARD (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 16, 2018
This is a fun job for the summer with flexible hours. Management and coworkers varied each summer and some summers were harder than others. Communication is not always the best, but overall it was a fun job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an alright place to start
Rink Attendant at Columbia Ice Rink (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDApril 9, 2018
I worked at the Ice Rink. For a starting job, it was actually very fun at first.

People were nice, customers were great to work with, etc. You really got to know your peers and they become like family.

However, as the year passed, employees began dropping like flies and management became poor. It was now based on favoritism and the environment became so hostile that working became dreadful. Your peers begin to look like strangers who want nothing more than to put each other down.

The job was unfair overall as you had to pick up shifts last minute. Those people that skipped their shifts were not reprimanded correctly.

I also feel like I wasn't compensated enough for the hard work and hours I put in.
Pros
Flexible hours, chance to work in all areas of the faclilty
Cons
low pay, bias/favoritism, childish managers and unnecessary drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Columbia Association. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 60 reviews
520
423
313
22
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.8Culture

Columbia Association Reviews by Location