Columbus Specialty Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 45 reviews matching the search See all 46 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
RN, Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 30, 2018
management changes frequently nothing consistent. too many micromanaging without the actual skills qualified for the position at hand. co-workers do help one another.
Pros
teamwork
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New JerseySeptember 16, 2018
It was a good experience overall especially in the beginning when it first opened. But management became political and started becoming very strict and unfair to employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of compassion
CMA (AAMA) (Former Employee) –  Columbus Ltach was the nameAugust 15, 2018
Nursing staff only focus is notes in computer .What happened to compassion and treating the patient as well the illness. I will not recommend working for this hospital. Their bottom line is to make money keeping beds full of elderly people that see their Doctor for only five minutes.
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Full beds not enough compassion
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible job , get fired for anything .
CMA (AAMA) (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJAugust 2, 2018
Worse job to possibly work at , management is trash. Scheduling is unfair , they have favoritism over employees. If your new they’ll give you the worst assignment on the floor & the “ lead or your supervisor “ will NOT help you! night shift is way better if you decided to apply here .
Pros
Your break.
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
RN (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 15, 2018
Highly recommended. Competite pay, management very flexible, always willing to work with your schedule. Amazing team work, everyone always willing to help each other, job can be very stressful but rewarding because the staff truly cares about their patients.
Pros
Open door policy, Friendly and diverse working environment, competite pay
Cons
Can be stressful emotionally and physically
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive changes
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJMay 22, 2018
I have worked at Columbus in different positions for over 5 years now and I can confidently say that this place has improved tremendously.

The name has changed (from Columbus ltach to Columbus Speciality Hospital)and so has the culture, attitude, and people working here.

This place is under new management and they actually care about the staff and patients here.

A new committee was formed with only stafff members called Columbus Shared Governance to help improve patient care and satisfaction. Already in less than a month we are seeing improvements in staff morale and patients care.

If you are thinking of working here I would certainly recommend it. It is hard work but it is very rewarding and you will feel appreciated and valued.

If you are thinking about having a family member come here, I would say that I will feel comfortable having my own family here as a patient.
Pros
Resonable management, teamwork, patient centered care
Cons
Stressful, very fast paced, strict with time management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no review at this time
HIM Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Columbus, GAMay 3, 2018
Work is good, people are excellent to work with along with administration. Pay is excellent, and numerouys of benefits. Overtime is good,. Patient ration to staff s fair at time.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant, friendly place to work
Physical Therapist (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJApril 11, 2018
The Columbus Hospital LTACH provides the highest and best quality of care to patients and their families as well as presents the highest workplace culture, and management skills.
Pros
workplace culture, friendly environment
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream job in Columbus
Traveler Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAMarch 23, 2018
A great place to work and grow. If it was not for relocation, I would still be there. We have a staff with the spirit of teamwork. The benefits are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJDecember 7, 2017
5-6 patients on ventilators or 8-10 acute medical patients, not enough equipment, terrible charting system, great people to work with but not worth the stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive pay but awful culture and terrible management
Staff RN (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 27, 2017
This company cares nothing about its employees. The nurse to patient ratio is dangerous and the management disagrees. 5 to 6 patients on ventilators and that are critically ill is not safe. The company is staffed with mostly with travellers because they can not keep full time nurses. Your nursing license is in jeopardy almost everyday when you walk into work. Beware.
Pros
Competitive pay
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAOctober 9, 2017
The pay is above average for the city. The staff does not work effectively as a team. Frequent call-outs. Low morale. They utilize a lot of Agency Nurses due to shortage of full-time nurses (quitting)
Pros
Competetive pay
Cons
Management unqualified, low morale, can't keep qualified staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN WORK WITH good and cooperative team
EKG Technician (Current Employee) –  Newark, NJOctober 7, 2017
I learn more subject and skills .
the place very quit and peace , and all workers team are very nice and friendly .
the hardest workplace culture if the system delayed but not frequent happen.
Acutely it is a nice hospital.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentally and physically challenging job, but worthwhile.
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GASeptember 5, 2017
A typical day at work involved giving 3-4 bed baths, obtaining vital signs and weights on 5-6 patients per tech. the majority of the patients are on telemetry and /or oxygen and IV's.
Pros
Paid good for the amount of work you do.
Cons
hard to balance life while working 12 hour shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJune 26, 2017
Supervisors are very unprofessional. Highly discriminate. Always threatening to fire. Nurses and aides cuss on the floor constantly. Always complaining
Pros
Offer continuous education classes. Ok pay
Cons
No formal orientation on hire. No team spirit among aides. Always complaining. Lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJMay 16, 2017
very friendly, great staff , take very great care of all the patients. clean, neat and energetic work environment, i felt very comfortable and at home at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 14Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable workplace
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJFebruary 11, 2017
One thing I loved about Columbus was that the employees were very friendly and helpful toward each other. Regardless of your job title everyone was treated the same and had no problem helping each other. The main focus was the care of our patients even if we at times had to go outside of our job description.
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
could have had better management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 13Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, physicians and coworkers in a "family like" atomosphere.
Chief Nursing Officer/VP Clinical Operations (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GANovember 3, 2016
This was a great company to work for, or was; a new company has purchased Columbus Specialty Hospital so I can not speak for them.
The support from administration was solid.
I learned much about management from this company how to conduct board meetings was just one item.

The most difficult part of the job was not being able to have all of the latest up to date equipment available to are for our patients.

The most enjoyable was when we solved a problem or when I could go out on the floor with the staff and participate in real patient care.
I am still PICC line certified as well.
Pros
the collegiate atmosphere
Cons
No cafeteria in the building
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Workplace
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJSeptember 21, 2016
Horrible Place to work. Not upfront about job duties. You could be hurt when doing 1 to 1 observations. Management is a joke and will fire you at any given time.
Pros
None
Cons
Underpaid, Not enough Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 2Report
Official response from Columbus Specialty Hospital
November 11, 2016

Pay and job duties are explained during interview process and during hiring process. Employees sign an offer letter stating salary and they sign a job description. Pay and duties are never a surprise. It is not our policy to fire someone without cause.

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Liaison
Clinical Liaison (Former Employee) –  Newark, NJJuly 2, 2016
Be aware.

Poor management, poor communication, and poor leadership skills.

Job stability does not exist at this company.

Training does not as well. Nothing is never what anyone really says. Would say take notes but that does not matter either. This is not a company to build a career. It's a job.
Pros
People were nice to talk to.
Cons
Everything!
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Columbus Specialty Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 46 reviews
512
49
38
24
113

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture

Columbus Specialty Hospital Reviews by Location