Common Ground Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Ski Instructor (Former Employee) –  Logan, UTApril 4, 2018
The people here really just wanted what was best for the students. They made people that have some struggles feel like they have a family. 10/10 would reccomend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjustment and perserverance to the position
Maintenance Worker NYC NY (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 16, 2018
1. Fast pace. 2. how to adjust and work around so many people walking around. 3. Management comes and goes appointed mgt. was turned over 4 times in my 7 year stay. 4. work place culture is slothful co-workers. Hardest part lack of communication. Most enjoyable I work alone as Maintenance in the night less foot traffic.
Pros
job consistency
Cons
poor pay compared to other places
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Team that is Moving People From Crisis to Hope
Resource & Crisis Helpline Volunteer, Present (Current Employee) –  Pontiac, MIMarch 7, 2018
The staff is very dedicated to helping others by saving lives, extensive and comprehensive training for employees and volunteers. They supports all individuals.
Pros
Excellent wellness support for one another as a crisis team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food and Beverage Coordinator
Food & Beverage Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAFebruary 8, 2018
A wonderful place to work at. Everyone was friendly and very kind to the homeless men and women who came to get services. The Program Director was a very kind person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Unknown (Current Employee) –  Bloomfield Hills, MIFebruary 7, 2018
Undervalued as an employee. The company has poor leadership, does not value the opinion of employees, no innovation or desire to listen to the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Benton, ARJanuary 30, 2018
A typical work day at Common Ground was Family-Oriented
I learned everything I know
The management was awesome
Workplace was awesome
Nothing hard about the job
Most enjoyable part of job was working with family
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not applicable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a student
Camp Counselor (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJanuary 11, 2018
I was a student who got to participate with the schools after school kids program as a camp counselor and it was a good way for me to earn money and have a firsr job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Compliance Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 3, 2018
Great place to work, awesome management, easy to advance (promoted 3 times in less than a year). I would recommend working here to a friend. Only con is low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent services provided to individuals who need help
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Pontiac, MINovember 21, 2017
Typical day at work is rewarding but very stressful. Not enough staff.
Management had difficulty providing guidance to staff. Not a lot of structure. Doctors were excellent and very experienced. Screeners were knowledgeable and recovery coaches worked hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
golf course Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COSeptember 29, 2017
While the job was fun, the F&B manager was insane. He would schedule crazy hours, steal tips, berate you in front of customers, drink on the job and more!
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Insane manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Common Ground?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
DIRECTOR OF ADMINISTRATION (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 9, 2017
Common Ground has a great mission and all who work there are proud to be part of that mission. So it makes for a great work environment. Smart folks who are doing great work.
Pros
Great mission, history of high quality non profit work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced Restaurant
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Arlington, MAJuly 27, 2017
A typical day would last anywhere between 7-13 hours with only one break. Management never consistent in the managing styles which lead to problems. Schedules constantly changing with little notice as well as scheduling done at the last minute, leaving no room for work/life balance.
Cons
Long Hours; Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Tutor/Mentor (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJuly 11, 2017
The things that they are doing at Common Ground Montgomery is unbelievable. The impact they have in those kids life are just amazing. They're giving back to the community and I'm glad I was able to be a part of something like CGM.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work being done there
Case Manager Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 22, 2017
Although there was a great deal of working being done there and the culture of the work place was family like, it didn't seem like hard work was being acknowledged or compensated. In regards to advancement, it did not appear to be based off you ability, education or commitment but more so on who you knew or were friends with.
Pros
Bunch of great people work there
Cons
Upper management did not seem to be in touch with the work being done. Not supportive of all staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company who takes pride in there work
Lawn Care Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bozeman, MTMay 12, 2017
Common round rocks harder than a KISS reunion concert, but seriously they get it done. If you want your lawn to look awesome and still be charged a fair price than give Brian a call.
Pros
free sun tan and cardio conditioning
Cons
Phil is pretty grumpy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Mental Health Worker (Current Employee) –  Royal Oak, MIApril 22, 2017
Fast pace setting. Everyday is a different day. It takes a lot of patience to work with children and staff. Sometimes the hours get a little crazy working double shifts.
Pros
lunch breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Recovery Coach (Former Employee) –  Pontiac, MIApril 4, 2017
Ok place to work. Other employees are what make the job difficult. Job consists of registering consumers as they come into common ground. The company is good to work for as long as theres a distance kept from the other employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, good employees,
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 14, 2017
A typical day at work. I come in, clock in first. Look and see how much work i got and get to work. After i get done i ask my manager do he need any help, if so ill help or if not i just clean up.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding
House Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 9, 2017
Common Ground was very rewarding and i gained self gratification each and every time i helped any resident or made a difference
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Royal Oak, MIFebruary 4, 2017
I loved every minute of this job. I enjoyed going home every night knowing I made a difference. This isn't just a Job, it's a way of impacting and helping those in need.
Pros
Experience for those who are looking to help others
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Common Ground. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 73 reviews
528
423
317
22
13

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.8

2.4Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight