Commonwealth Senior Living Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work!
Executive Director (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 9, 2018
Run as fast as you can to get away! They talk a really good game and make you think they actually care but it actually comes down to the money they make. They do not care about their employees or residents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  ABINDIONSeptember 7, 2018
I liked working at common wealth senior living. I learned that health care is harder the people really think it is especially with elderly people. I really miss the people that i took are of. Most hardest was when someone that your really attached to passes away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsecured and miserable
PCA Personal Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  No thanksSeptember 5, 2018
Commonwealth of senior living at Gloucester house is the worst place to ever work they have new management that doesn't have a clue about what they are doing staff is quitting left and right and people are getting fired and being replaced with family members
Pros
No pros
Cons
Resident are not being taken care of or being cleaned
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VASeptember 5, 2018
Gave me a good experience ! I had the opportunity to learn more and show off my skills. I enjoyed my residents and the time I spent there! A wonderful work experience !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
RCA (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VASeptember 3, 2018
I loved being there but they got their picks and who they want to be there as employees and not getting all sides to the story. If i was given another chance of employment there I would take it due to the love i have for the residence.
Pros
None
Cons
Coworkers and managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The culture only hangs on the wall
anonymous (Current Employee) –  VirginiaAugust 28, 2018
The culture only hangs on the wall. I've learned that if you belong to the click and play long without questions you will survive in the actual culture of the company. It's a paycheck though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall leadership is horrible
Executive Director/Administrator (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 12, 2018
They do not keep their word. No room for advancement. Sabotaging livelihoods. They do not care about you or your family, the core values are a joke. They use your skills and talent then pitch you to the curb once they are done. If you are not the type to engage in unethical behavior there is no future for you a CSL. To get to the top you have to lose character.
Pros
Work relationships with community
Cons
Corporate management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hampton, VAAugust 2, 2018
Commonwealth is a great place an they are caring loving an they really care about their employee's .the fun part about it making your residents happy an making sure they are well taking care of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
RMA (Former Employee) –  Abingdon, VAJuly 29, 2018
RCD likes to gossip about employees, never enough staff, always working over and on days off. Management could care less if you work 100+ hrs. Benefits suck. Do not work here!
Pros
None
Cons
The entire management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
CNA/Med Tech (Former Employee) –  Radford, VAJuly 24, 2018
Needs to either close down or get a new ed. The management is awful. They play favoritism. Never get a decent raise. Can’t keep a rcd. Ed treats staff awful with rude remarks.
Pros
Friends you work with
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has potential - Too many cliques
Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAJuly 14, 2018
Most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction with residents and their families. Some wonderful co-workers. Some very difficult inter-office culture. High amount of employee back-stabbing, gossip and unhealthy workplace culture. Great company core values, but company doesn't actually live out their values. High management turnover leads to unstable environment.
Pros
great residents, some great co-workers
Cons
short-sighted decision making, too many chiefs, poor leadership, high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Abingdon, VAJuly 3, 2018
This is an awful place to work for you ask them to hire more help and they won’t listen. They say you aren’t short staffed when in reality every aid is working 12 and 16 hours and then some. Every aid always has over time every pay check.
Pros
Free meals(sometimes)
Cons
Understaffed, can’t call in sick
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Resident Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Abingdon, VAJune 21, 2018
too much turn over and put a lot of stress on other workers having to pick up extra time and not enough time off. A lot of workers call in leaving the ones there having to stay over even if you worked a 12 hr shift.
Pros
free dinner
Cons
backstabbers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty place
Cook (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAJune 18, 2018
Horrible people; childish, "teacher's pet"-type treatment of staff by management. Cheapest food products available. I'm surprised that ANYONE that's paying attention would EVER leave a loved one in that awful environment!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residents wonderful - Administration Atrocious
Nursing Department (Former Employee) –  Hillsville, VAMay 20, 2018
Great environment in general for residents and staff. Administrator has favorites, which is normal. Except, this particular ED unprofessional enough to promote friends, cold shoulder other employees, good employees, CNAs and med techs included. Very sad and creates unneeded hostile environment for elderly residents. ED needs to mature and grow in the right direction for the benefit of the community.
Pros
Great Direct Care Staff (Med Techs/CNA's) great food for residents, strong marketing
Cons
ED unprofessional, played favorites and is immature
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Abingdon, VAMarch 18, 2018
Great work environment. Everyone is very supportive and encourage on your success. Management is very understanding and help out in anyway possible. A lot of over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy with this job
Concierge (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMarch 13, 2018
A typical day at work includes taking care of your residents. They are the most important part of the job after all. I learned a lot about how to work in an office environment. The management is really great, and you can tell that they all truly care about the employees. Even the corporate offices care. Truly, they do. I have witnessed this firsthand. The workplace is relaxed and quiet. The residents are amazing and funny, and they can make your day so much better. The hardest part of the job is connecting with some folks. There are so residents that just cant be connected with. The most enjoyable part of the job is again, the residents. The managers are great as well. Overall very caring environment.
Pros
Caring, helpful
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweet residents,lazy staff and weird managers
cna (Former Employee) –  hampton vaMarch 13, 2018
Very unprofessional, poor management and the employees that get employee of the month don't deserve it (favoritism). You never have enough supplies and have to buy your own and rats and mice and roaches live there and its sad nobody cares.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kilmarnock, VAMarch 6, 2018
I wouldn't recommend anyone to work for this company. Management has no clue what their doing and are rude, always trying to get someone in trouble. There is no team work at all and your not allowed to talk to fellow co workers. Corporate doesn't care and doesn't listen to any concerns weather they come from employees, residents or family members. Overall this company is horrible, stressful, cut throat place.
Cons
bad management, no teamwork, horrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Medication Aide (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAFebruary 23, 2018
i do i have to put this up just apply for the job and find out. Everybody like work diffrent work places. So if you need a job apply and make sure you call.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Commonwealth Senior Living. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.5
Based on 34 reviews
56
44
35
25
114

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.3Compensation/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.5Culture

Commonwealth Senior Living Reviews by Location