Commonwealth Senior Living Employee Reviews

2.7
Overall rating
Based on 23 reviews
Ratings breakdown
54
44
33
24
18
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 23 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Abingdon, VAJuly 3, 2018
This is an awful place to work for you ask them to hire more help and they won’t listen. They say you aren’t short staffed when in reality every aid is working 12 and 16 hours and then some. Every aid always has over time every pay check.
Pros
Free meals(sometimes)
Cons
Understaffed, can’t call in sick
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Resident Care Aide (Current Employee) –  Abingdon, VAJune 21, 2018
too much turn over and put a lot of stress on other workers having to pick up extra time and not enough time off. A lot of workers call in leaving the ones there having to stay over even if you worked a 12 hr shift.
Pros
free dinner
Cons
backstabbers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty place
Cook (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAJune 18, 2018
Horrible people; childish, "teacher's pet"-type treatment of staff by management. Cheapest food products available. I'm surprised that ANYONE that's paying attention would EVER leave a loved one in that awful environment!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residents wonderful - Administration Atrocious
Nursing Department (Former Employee) –  Hillsville, VAMay 20, 2018
Great environment in general for residents and staff. Administrator has favorites, which is normal. Except, this particular ED unprofessional enough to promote friends, cold shoulder other employees, good employees, CNAs and med techs included. Very sad and creates unneeded hostile environment for elderly residents. ED needs to mature and grow in the right direction for the benefit of the community.
Pros
Great Direct Care Staff (Med Techs/CNA's) great food for residents, strong marketing
Cons
ED unprofessional, played favorites and is immature
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Caregiver (Current Employee) –  Abingdon, VAMarch 18, 2018
Great work environment. Everyone is very supportive and encourage on your success. Management is very understanding and help out in anyway possible. A lot of over time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy with this job
Concierge (Current Employee) –  Chesterfield, VAMarch 13, 2018
A typical day at work includes taking care of your residents. They are the most important part of the job after all. I learned a lot about how to work in an office environment. The management is really great, and you can tell that they all truly care about the employees. Even the corporate offices care. Truly, they do. I have witnessed this firsthand. The workplace is relaxed and quiet. The residents are amazing and funny, and they can make your day so much better. The hardest part of the job is connecting with some folks. There are so residents that just cant be connected with. The most enjoyable part of the job is again, the residents. The managers are great as well. Overall very caring environment.
Pros
Caring, helpful
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweet residents,lazy staff and weird managers
cna (Former Employee) –  hampton vaMarch 13, 2018
Very unprofessional, poor management and the employees that get employee of the month don't deserve it (favoritism). You never have enough supplies and have to buy your own and rats and mice and roaches live there and its sad nobody cares.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kilmarnock, VAMarch 6, 2018
I wouldn't recommend anyone to work for this company. Management has no clue what their doing and are rude, always trying to get someone in trouble. There is no team work at all and your not allowed to talk to fellow co workers. Corporate doesn't care and doesn't listen to any concerns weather they come from employees, residents or family members. Overall this company is horrible, stressful, cut throat place.
Cons
bad management, no teamwork, horrible pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Medication Aide (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAFebruary 23, 2018
i do i have to put this up just apply for the job and find out. Everybody like work diffrent work places. So if you need a job apply and make sure you call.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work or live
Sales and Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAFebruary 20, 2018
If the company cannot value and protect its workers, how can it serve, honor and respect its residents? CSL has great core values but is shameful in caring out those values with staff and residents. Many residents would be better off arranging for care in their own home rather than over paying for poor care and food at CSL.
Cons
High cost of insurance, poor leadership, no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport

Want to know more about Commonwealth Senior Living?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Staff & Management
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 9, 2018
Working at Commonwealth Senior Living for the past year has allowed me to grow so much into doing what I would like for a career. It truly was an amazing opportunity to grow into a better field and new job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the residents, the company is a mess
Concierge/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, VAFebruary 1, 2018
I love the residents and their families. The job is rewarding in that but the company doesn't stand by their CORE Value system nor the things they said they stand for. Staff is under paid and much more is expected. The extra you do the more they give you.
Pros
Residents and families, coworker bonds
Cons
company Promises not honored
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Core Values
Concierge/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAJanuary 24, 2018
Any job within Commonwealth Senior Living, if approached with an open mind and generous heart, is rewarding. Interdepartmental team is the key to success!
Pros
Team work, technological advances
Cons
Employee and management turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Foundation
Resident Care Associate (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 22, 2018
CSL is a solid company that tries to be open and honest with the associates. The CEO and COO visit communities and ask our opinion. Other leaders are always walking the community and asking opinions. The pace of senior living is tough, but nothing that you don't see in healthcare.
Pros
Teamwork, transparency
Cons
Pay could be higher
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 8Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Management (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAJanuary 20, 2018
Terrible wages, hours, and supervisors. Company has no clue on how to treat line workers or managers in community. Terrible regional support. Regional Directors provide no support.
Pros
None
Cons
Hours, wages, lack of corporate support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shape up or closes down
Supervisor, Medtech,and Cna (Former Employee) –  Hampton, VAJanuary 17, 2018
Management worked me full time without benefits or a raise. They were unorganized and did not care for employee and very short staff. No one never had a kind word for the patient and verbally abusive to them in there finial days. This place is not friendly or a good place for anyone to live.
Pros
You have three jobs, Supervisor, Medtech, and Cna too many duties, and low wages.
Cons
Will working you minumum wages, without benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes 23NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love serving the residents and make sure they get a satisfying meal.
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VANovember 6, 2017
My day at work is satisfied when i know a resident appreciated everything they needed and wanted. I love communicating with the residents asking them how their day is and how they're feeling today. Everyday i work i can't wait to see all their smiling face they make my day at work so much easier.
Pros
Smiling Faces, Free Meals, wonderful conversations
Cons
Hard to take breaks with so much work to do, Don't get paid your worth
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented environment
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Henrico, VAOctober 22, 2017
I love Commonwealth as a company. It's values for our residents are always met. Now there has been some changes going on as far as management and scheduling it has, in the past, been a bit hectic but As a team we come together and brainstorm on a solution and every staff member has a say, no matter how long it takes. Our all staff meetings are once a month and it gives a heads up on what's going on, and that is the time everyone can hear everyone out. Commonwealth is my family, if you ever experienced a bad day here, I can guarantee if you come back you will change your mind. I have been here for a year now and I wouldn't want to go anywhere else. Sometimes we get disgruntled employees who needs weren't met but that doesn't show the company as a whole. We are a growing company, there will be bumps and bruises along the way, but greatness isn't made over night.
Pros
Family oriented
Cons
Wages could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unproffesional place to work.nast.stinkin.
Beautician (Former Employee) –  Charlotesville vaOctober 18, 2017
Very unprofessional.management suks.no pay.treat residents like dogs.nasty environment.dirty.rude boss's.the residents didn't get baths.they would have fecis.on them all day.not feed
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very stressful and cut throat place to work.
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gloucester County, VASeptember 20, 2017
A typical day there is a zoo. The administrative staff are cut throats. The employees are treated like dogs. The pay rate is low. The employees are treated so badly that alot of them have left. They do not even have a cook in the kitchen anymore because they cant find anyone to fill the position.
Pros
Helping the residents and seeing the smile on their faces.
Cons
Low wages. Employees are treated very poorly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 39NoReport