Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services

Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services Employee Reviews

Found 93 reviews matching the search See all 94 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is awful
Collections Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJanuary 9, 2019
Management definitely plays favoritism. They talk to you like you are stupid in front of the donors. Complaining does no good because they don't care. The turnover rate is ridiculous. Maybe people would stay if they were treated better.
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not care for it
OZARKS, PHLEBOTOMY TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Springdale, ARDecember 25, 2018
supervisor played favorites, not professional work place, tries to get people they dont like fired if you dont fit in you will know it. they are rude and fake,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management Equals to Poor Morale
Sterile Processing Technician (Current Employee) –  Kettering, OHNovember 24, 2018
Supervisors that threaten your job even when you show up and do your best, management who conveniently lose PTO slips, and HR who picks favorites and doesn’t allow advancement or shift changes unless you are a said favorite.
Pros
Good amount of PTO
Cons
Harassment, Hr, Poor Management, Lack of Proper Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Donor Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCNovember 17, 2018
I loved working here! I felt like I was making a difference. Everyone was very professional and great to work with. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is where good attitudes go to die
COMPONENT LAB (Former Employee) –  KCNovember 16, 2018
Management micro-manage every aspect. "executive leadership" has been in place for far too long and do not allow for growth of lower and mid-level leaders, forcing them to grow stagnant or leave to pursue growth. Highest turnover I have ever seen in a job and when the company was bought by NYBC the little bit of pride in serving a greater good shifted to making more dollars at all costs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is nice to know that you are performing a life saving job.
ASSISTANT MANAGER OF PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 3, 2018
Wonderful to work for a non-profit that performs life saving tasks. Unfortunately, the company is not willing to move into the future and accept new innovative ideas.
Pros
Life saving job
Cons
Not an innovative work enivorment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to expand and get to know the requirements of the job
SR.MEDICAL LAB TECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 22, 2018
It was great when i was beginning in my field. i am not considering returning there at the moment. however, would reccommend anyone to start there.thank you
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging, competitve, my co workers were excellent also fun
Processing Technician (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 20, 2018
it was fast paced, educational and I learned a lot, the work was very challenging. My supervisor was understanding and believed in me. My team leader was very informative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
QC Chart Review/DIS (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 8, 2018
The company appears top heavy with management but they are trying to set themselves up for the growth that is needed. This company has quadrupled their output in 5 years.
Pros
The company is growing and there is plenty of opportunity
Cons
Question if the company is too top heavy with management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calling and helping others
Donor Recruitment Associate (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MO 64111October 1, 2018
On a daily basis we called and worked with donors to promote giving blood. On days where there was little to no calling we would help anyone in the office that needed help. Some days we would go to sign up tables to promote upcoming blood drives. I learned formal communication skills and I learned a lot about helping people and the benefits of giving blood. This job taught me a lot about working with others for a common goal and to find solutions to problems.
Pros
Free events, free food, community atmosphere, traveling
Cons
short breaks, and unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Sterile tech (Former Employee) –  Kettering, OHAugust 14, 2018
Worked for community tissue services for 3 years was sexually harassed on a daily basis. Management is only worried about numbers and is constantly breathing down your neck. If you speak out against anyone over you you will be reprimanded. Constant gossip and bullying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Donor Records Representative (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 29, 2018
Love this company and everyone I work with. The management is extremely nice and understanding. They really appreciate and value the workers. They trust you to be independent so there's no "shadowing" or someone over your shoulder all the time
Pros
great staff
Cons
the pay is ok, but starting out, I think it could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is Great
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Iam a Lab TechIIJuly 19, 2018
CBC is a great place to work in . It is a great organization. People love to work at Community Blood Center to save life. It is all about life saving in our community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management unprofessional, low morale
Driver - Hospital Services (Former Employee) –  Montvale, NJJuly 7, 2018
Always being watched, unnecessary discipline, undervalued...as a driver you're being monitored on computer screen as you drive. They tally how many hospital deliveries you can make each shift. The vans are beat up, poor working air conditioners and smelly. As soon as you come back from a long distance delivery and you want to go to lunch they shove another delivery your way.
They charge the hospitals $213.00 per bag of donated blood and only pay you $12.50 an hour to drive to deliver those bags of blood.
You must be really desperate for a job to work there.
Pros
Commute
Cons
management, low wages, undervalued, high pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel was a plus
Certified Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 18, 2018
My time in CBC was really learning process specially with the Pele of Kansas very colorful towns and people are so warm so my coworkers, my supervisor very excellent person
Pros
2 weeks schedule
Cons
but schedule little bit inflexible specially with dr's appointments
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
apheresis RN (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 11, 2018
Not bad at all in terms of healthcare organizations. A lot of people working in close quarters and you have a lot of gossip. It could be better controlled by management. The people usually starting the trouble are immature.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is biased
Donor Technician, mobile driver (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMay 23, 2018
management changed and its very biased. The place is becoming more like bio life. very rigid manangement. No room for advancement if you are not a favorite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, inconsistent hours
Donor Technician (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIApril 9, 2018
The best part of the job was the co-workers. At first it's hard to get along being new but once you do, they feel like family. Some of the greatest people I've worked with. There is gossip all the time though. Hours are always changing. You're full time, but not always given 40 hours a week. Sometimes you'll fall into low 30's to 20's. Then there will be weeks you'll be scheduled 49 hr's. NOT ACCOMMODATING. If you don't have much to do outside of just work this is the job for you. If you have kids, don't take this job. If you're going to school, don't take this job. Management doesn't try to work around your schedule and doesn't understand your health or emergency's. You could be on your death bed and they'd tried to make you feel bad about calling in. Management tries to also force you to come in even though it could affect the rest of the employees and donors. NOT ALWAYS GIVEN BREAKS OR LUNCH. You can work 8 hours and sometimes only get a 15 minute break if you're lucky. Since there's always a shortage on employees, you're expected to work twice as hard. Good environment, but management and hours are bleh.
Pros
co-workers, pay, environment, making a difference, educational
Cons
little to no breaks, poor management, gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic
Blood Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 7, 2018
Lots of favoritism, very clicky, poor management, Team Leads are beyond reproach. It seems to be an every man for himself kind of atmosphere. No lunches unless you are scheduled in center .
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
hours, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome benefits
Blood Collection Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 7, 2018
People are cut throat. Management is a joke, and hours suck.
No lunches or breaks. Almost impossible for people with kids.
Will not work with people who are in school/college.
Pros
benefits, pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 94 reviews
529
423
322
211
19

See reviews about

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.5Culture