Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services

Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services Employee Reviews

Found 87 reviews matching the search See all 88 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to expand and get to know the requirements of the job
SR.MEDICAL LAB TECHNOLOGIST (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 22, 2018
It was great when i was beginning in my field. i am not considering returning there at the moment. however, would reccommend anyone to start there.thank you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging, competitve, my co workers were excellent also fun
Processing Technician (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 20, 2018
it was fast paced, educational and I learned a lot, the work was very challenging. My supervisor was understanding and believed in me. My team leader was very informative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company
QC Chart Review/DIS (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 8, 2018
The company appears top heavy with management but they are trying to set themselves up for the growth that is needed. This company has quadrupled their output in 5 years.
Pros
The company is growing and there is plenty of opportunity
Cons
Question if the company is too top heavy with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calling and helping others
Donor Recruitment Associate (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MO 64111October 1, 2018
On a daily basis we called and worked with donors to promote giving blood. On days where there was little to no calling we would help anyone in the office that needed help. Some days we would go to sign up tables to promote upcoming blood drives. I learned formal communication skills and I learned a lot about helping people and the benefits of giving blood. This job taught me a lot about working with others for a common goal and to find solutions to problems.
Pros
Free events, free food, community atmosphere, traveling
Cons
short breaks, and unorganized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Sterile tech (Former Employee) –  Kettering, OHAugust 14, 2018
Worked for community tissue services for 3 years was sexually harassed on a daily basis. Management is only worried about numbers and is constantly breathing down your neck. If you speak out against anyone over you you will be reprimanded. Constant gossip and bullying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Donor Records Representative (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 29, 2018
Love this company and everyone I work with. The management is extremely nice and understanding. They really appreciate and value the workers. They trust you to be independent so there's no "shadowing" or someone over your shoulder all the time
Pros
great staff
Cons
the pay is ok, but starting out, I think it could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is Great
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Iam a Lab TechIIJuly 19, 2018
CBC is a great place to work in . It is a great organization. People love to work at Community Blood Center to save life. It is all about life saving in our community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management unprofessional, low morale
Driver - Hospital Services (Former Employee) –  Montvale, NJJuly 7, 2018
Always being watched, unnecessary discipline, undervalued...as a driver you're being monitored on computer screen as you drive. They tally how many hospital deliveries you can make each shift. The vans are beat up, poor working air conditioners and smelly. As soon as you come back from a long distance delivery and you want to go to lunch they shove another delivery your way.
They charge the hospitals $213.00 per bag of donated blood and only pay you $12.50 an hour to drive to deliver those bags of blood.
You must be really desperate for a job to work there.
Pros
Commute
Cons
management, low wages, undervalued, high pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel was a plus
Certified Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 18, 2018
My time in CBC was really learning process specially with the Pele of Kansas very colorful towns and people are so warm so my coworkers, my supervisor very excellent person
Pros
2 weeks schedule
Cons
but schedule little bit inflexible specially with dr's appointments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
apheresis RN (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 11, 2018
Not bad at all in terms of healthcare organizations. A lot of people working in close quarters and you have a lot of gossip. It could be better controlled by management. The people usually starting the trouble are immature.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is biased
Donor Technician, mobile driver (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMay 23, 2018
management changed and its very biased. The place is becoming more like bio life. very rigid manangement. No room for advancement if you are not a favorite.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers, inconsistent hours
Donor Technician (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIApril 9, 2018
The best part of the job was the co-workers. At first it's hard to get along being new but once you do, they feel like family. Some of the greatest people I've worked with. There is gossip all the time though. Hours are always changing. You're full time, but not always given 40 hours a week. Sometimes you'll fall into low 30's to 20's. Then there will be weeks you'll be scheduled 49 hr's. NOT ACCOMMODATING. If you don't have much to do outside of just work this is the job for you. If you have kids, don't take this job. If you're going to school, don't take this job. Management doesn't try to work around your schedule and doesn't understand your health or emergency's. You could be on your death bed and they'd tried to make you feel bad about calling in. Management tries to also force you to come in even though it could affect the rest of the employees and donors. NOT ALWAYS GIVEN BREAKS OR LUNCH. You can work 8 hours and sometimes only get a 15 minute break if you're lucky. Since there's always a shortage on employees, you're expected to work twice as hard. Good environment, but management and hours are bleh.
Pros
co-workers, pay, environment, making a difference, educational
Cons
little to no breaks, poor management, gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic
Blood Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 7, 2018
Lots of favoritism, very clicky, poor management, Team Leads are beyond reproach. It seems to be an every man for himself kind of atmosphere. No lunches unless you are scheduled in center .
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
hours, Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome benefits
Blood Collection Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHApril 7, 2018
People are cut throat. Management is a joke, and hours suck.
No lunches or breaks. Almost impossible for people with kids.
Will not work with people who are in school/college.
Pros
benefits, pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a very rewarding job. You are saving lives.
Phlebotomist/interviewer (Former Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MOApril 4, 2018
This is a very rewarding job. You are saving lives with every pint of blood you draw. The job was intense, you had to pay attention, sop notes changed regularly.
Pros
didn't work 8 hrs daily sometimes
Cons
Hours were inconsistant.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some great people
Phlebotomist, Mobile Driver, Apheresis Technician (Former Employee) –  Appleton, WIMarch 12, 2018
Hours of work made it difficult to have a personal life. Because this is a service type job, hours varied week to week. Employer at that time did not take into account suitable time off between shifts. Also the schedules were not made out much in advance at times so it was very difficult to plan any personal time unless I used vacation time.
Pros
Woked with some great people
Cons
work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
inconsistant hours
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  wisconsinMarch 11, 2018
if you take the politics out of the cooperation lean in on your helping others it could be manageable, for a while. management is nowhere to be found when you need them and unsupported in career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Toxic
Senior Buyer / Buyer (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHMarch 6, 2018
Lots of paid time off, you will need it.
No longer allowed to cash in PTO must take if off. Watch out when you return from time off. I will take you weeks to get caught up. Don't go there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission, Awesome team environment
Team Lead, Tele recruiter, Data Entry (Current Employee) –  Appleton, WIFebruary 27, 2018
I have learned so much during my time here. The organizations mission alone is a great reason to work here. The hardest part of my job is trying to educate people on the need we have for their donations. The other side of that coin is seeing how many loyal donors there are in the local communities. The most enjoyable part of my position is coaching others and knowing that what we do saves lives.
Pros
Excellent benefits and work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best placed ive worked
Collections Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Blue Springs, MOJanuary 14, 2018
The best placed I have worked. The atmosphere was very calming and relaxed. They work as a team and always helping each other. I wish I could still work there but I learned a great lesson on professionalism and my work ethic
Pros
team environment
Cons
the commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Community Blood Center/Community Tissue Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 88 reviews
528
422
322
27
19

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture